We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
203
9
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
9
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach seafood every meal get away eggs day trip nosy be local village whale watching pure relaxation owners and staff amazing food be aware bread philippe trips turtles
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Excuse the pun... but this place really is what you would call a little piece of heaven!

Our whole experience to Madagascar was so easy, from the short flight for Jhb OR Thambo airport into Nosy Be. Our transfer was pre arranged and everything was seamless where we where greeted by Philipe and Lora for our short boat trip transfer to Antoremba Lodge. And wow, what a gorgeous setting!

We travelled as a family of 4, our two boys aged 5 and 10, and stayed in two inter-leading rooms, with plenty of space! The lodge doesn't have the plush duck down feathers and fancy deco, but it certainly does not need it! The owners have kept it in keeping with the surroundings which has a tropical lush feel!

Every meal was delicious and prepared with care. Our youngest son fell i'll on our 8th night there, and a doctor whom travelled via boat came to the rescue and at the same fee as what we will pay back in SA for a pedestrian, so if you are worried about travelling with little ones fear not, because they have a brilliant doctor just a phone call away!

Our whole experience was absolutely amazing, the excursions are worth while and really fun. From feeding lemurs to snorkelling at the most gorgeous protected reef!

The only negative I would say is that, because the island is small and intimate, I would suggest a stay of 7 rather than 10 days and spend the other 3 days in "HellVille" which is the harbour town from Nosy Be- the place is just so gorgeous, bright buildings and French Cafe's serving delicious croissants and coffee! You cannot go wrong!

We are certainly going to go back, it just sets itself apart from everywhere else we have travelled in Africa. Madagascar and Antoremba Lodge is a gem!!!!!!

We booked via BarefootBreaks, which I would highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

This was the fourth stop on an extended Madagascan holiday. On arrival were met by owners and staff. The lodge is nestled between two rock outcrops, with lush mountain behind which gives an idilic private feel.

The room (think there are 8/9 units) and bathrooms are spacious, well maintained and the housekeeping is good. Ceiling fan which runs all evening is great, complementing the sea draft during the very hot and humid days (December).

The lodge claim to fame is undoubtedly the 3 course meals for lunch and dinner. The dishes are delightful, more so given the difficulty obtaining supplies.

WiFi is free, mostly good but slow as more guests log on. The lounge area is open, with amazing sea view. Service to the tables are good during meals. English is not spoken in general, but we could converse to a degree and make it work. Canoes are available, free of charge.

There are issues I think potential guest need to be aware of.

The small beach front, at first quient, soon becomes inhibiting. Long walks are not possible, and there is a real lack of things to do at the lodge itself.

The cost of drinks are really high, as is laundry prices (priced per garment). The excursions as well, true European prices.

On review, the lodge feels more like an overnight destination. It lacks character of a holiday place, offers nothing quient nor memorable. The drinks cost prohibits a splash of holiday indulgence.

I have only mentioned this once before.....the feel one gets is the owners are in it for the money. An example; serving at breakfast. No buffet setup, everyday you are asked if you want yogurt, fruit juice to accompany the breads and coffee offered. If you want fruit (plentiful and in season) be sure to ask for it, it is not offered. The same with milk. Having to ask for everything everyday, we were reluctant to stretch it to a boiled egg for example.

The seating in the lounge is not plush nor comfortable, same as the couches and chairs on our veranda. No board games were offered to alleviate the boredom.

The need to profit from the business override the desire to offer the guest a memorable holiday.

To end, the owners are friendly, the lodge units spacious and clean. Lunch and dinner very good and staff fine. Consider the negatives above so you know what to expect.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GregoryD1670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antoremba-lodge, Propriétaire at Antoremba - Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

I'm sorry I did not meet your expectations!
Thank you for those few remarks that will help me improve the next seasons.

But I have to specify a few details:
-By hygiene,each meal (breakfast included), all food and drinks(milk and fruit
juice) placed on table and not eaten is automatically thrown away.
-Out of respect for the people working at the lodge, it would be unacceptable
to throw away food!
For these two reasons, we propose everything possible, but do not serve it
in advance.
A cup of fruit is at your disposal from morning till night at the bar-restaurant
You simply have to serve yourself and if you wish, we serve you plates of fruit
prepared on demand.

I am sorry, but our excursions and activities are much cheaper than Europe.
With equivalent benefits.! see prices on internet!
We propose more than 20 excursions or activities! Some are offered, even with a
guide for walking in the forest (1 to 4 hours).
Also are offered (free) kayaks and stand up paddle, snorkeling equipment,
fitness.
Our excursions are made with few people, on our boats, with a guide who
accompanies you, a sailor, picnic or restaurant included.
Always with quality services and accompaniment.
To be cheaper, it's necessary to choose a provider with 20 peoples on the
boats and without a guide.

Cocktail with alcool served with chips, nuts or small toast:
our price 3 €. too expensive ??? No comment !

Laundry service (washing and ironing) paying! this is normal in all hotels.

to sum up :
Even in Madagascar, comfort, benefits, food, services, everything
with a European quality, All this has a price that, even much cheaper than in
many places in the world.

Antoremba is a hotel, not a villa rental.

Philippe manager of Antoremba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This gem of a retreat only accommodates small groups of people at a time, which is exactly what you'd be looking for if you would really like to get away from it all. The breaking ocean waters can be heard all day long as the chalets are right up next to the beach. Treat yourself to exploring the reef in the morning at low tide - it's less than 100m from your chalet. The reef is amazingly pristine and undamaged - unlike what you'll find if you visit popular destinations such as Mauritius. Other things to do include: taking walks to the local village through the banana and cacao plantations and forest, whale watching (whole day trip), scuba diving on Nosey Komba, seeing lemurs and turtles.

The lodge is run by French owners with a flair for serving 3 course meals.

Access to the lodge is generally via boat from Nosey Be island. Wifi is available in the main eating area.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Stolenoratory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The seaside experience at Antoremba Lodge is ‘par excellence’. The owners who are your hosts have ensured an idyllic stay with amazing seafood every day, a delightful collection of friendly staff and a location you cannot fault. Any seafood lover will be in heaven !

Room tip: All rooms are virtually on the beach, all have fans but no air con
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Unbelievably beautiful setting, relaxed, secluded, fantastic food and hospitality.
Accommodation is limited to a maximum of 14 people at any time, though often there are less people than that.
There is a pristine coral reef just 50m offshore with fish, turtles and rays in abundance.
In the afternoons, Lemurs make an appearance in the trees around the lodge.
Philippe will organise any trips to go snorkeling, whale watching or sight seeing for you.
If you want to get away from it all and relax there is no place better.
We will definitely return.

Room tip: Any room is good, all are on the beach.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurrayJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews