We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome in a cosy cottage in a beatiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Front door of cottage 4 poster bed in cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Old pub cottage.illegal pub dating back to 1860s
Front door of cottage
4 poster bed in cottage
Dining area in cottage
Local cafe with bike hire ..2 klms from cottage
Allihies copper mines and beach
The harbour from cashelkeelty stone circle walk
Garnish island. Day trip from cottage
Il nostro segno Fermati quando vedi questo segno
Sigilli sulle rocce sulla strada per guarnire l'isola
Stone circle at cashelkeelty. 2 km da casa
Cottage Molly gallivants e fattoria tradizionale
Il ristorante più vicino al cottage
Il pub più vicino che fa da mangiare
Il lago Glenmore da Healy passa in auto panoramica. 4 km da casa
Cucina completamente attrezzata nel cottage
Laghi Cloonee e baia kenmare. 7 km da casa
Knockatee montagna da sotto ponte della mensa. 4 km da casa
Glentrasna Valley. Nelle vicinanze facilmente raggiungibile a piedi dal cottage
Knockatee mountain dal ponte della mensa sulla strada per il lago di Glenmore
Isole nel lago Glenmore. 4 km da casa.
La baia fuori dal bar Helens. Kilmackilogue. 4 km di distanza
Parco delle cascate di Gleninchaquin. 12 km da casa
Cloonee lakes.on la strada per il parco cascata.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
andreaR34...
The Netherlands
1 review
“A warm welcome in a cosy cottage in a beatiful area!”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this cottage very much! After a warm welcome, we enjoyed the cosy living room with a fire place, books and ideas for things to do. We slept very well in this quite area. During our holidays we travelled by bike and car in different areas in Ireland. We were impressed by the nature of Beara. A lot of options for beautiful walks, bike tours and nice villages. Our stay was too short! We hope to return to the cottage in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kind hospitality and the cottage
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agnieszka...
Banagher, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice place, nice people, a great adventure...”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are family - travelling with young kids... and a dog. All of us, older and younger, humans and animals, we were very happy with the stay in the cottage. Everything is provided as promised, clean and welcoming. The cottage, its self, has a bit of history to tell - a good break from our 'plastic' world...Surroundings are special - wild and rich in walks, lakes, mountains, waterfalls... Ocean is not far away... The weather wasn't at its best, after a long walk a cup of tea and fire in the range was a nice treat - the owners provide as much fuel as you need to keep you warm. Nice place, nice people, a great adventure, what do you need more?...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historical futures
Liked least: -----
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage has real real authentic rustic charm, cosy and comfortable. Well equipped, everything we needed was available. Even in June it was lovely to curl up by the log burner after a day walking in the GLORIOUS Beara Peninsula.
The owners Eileen and Robert made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We appreciated the amount of time they spent with us sharing their knowledge of the area.. Genuinely lovely people.
The area is spectacular , the range of walks, the scenery, the pace of life, the lovely helpful people and very little traffic on the roads actually made driving an enjoyable experience.
We were also impressed with the availability of Gluten free options in the restaurants and supermarkets as one of us has Coeliacs.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and Thank You Eileen and Robert , we may well be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The authenticity of the property and igenerosity of the owners
Liked least: Maybe some nice big mugs for tea after a walk would be a welcome addition ?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisainwis...
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enchanting and welcoming”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We, two adults and an 11-year-old, made the Old Pub Cottage our home for a little more than a week. It is a lovely, authentic space that has retained its historic nature thanks to Robert's loving carpentry and his respect for traditional and artisanal craftsmanship. Architecturally and aesthetically, you get to step back in time in this beautiful and bona fide story-book cottage, yet be cozy and comfortable in doing so. We were there to hike and appreciated also the setting of the cottage a bit up a small road--not on the main road. There's much to explore on foot right outside the cottage door, right in the Caha hills. This was our second extended stay (one month each of the past two summers) on the sublime Beara Peninsula, and to really experience the best hiking, a car is needed (paradoxically). At the Old Pub, you are very close to some of the best bases for hikes, such as Knockowen via the Healy Pass, Hungry Hill, and others. We loved being close to Cashelkeelty and the Owenshag River and the lush forests on this side of the peninsula.
The Old Pub Cottage hosts, whose roots in this magical area go very deep, are truly wonderful people, exceptionally kind and generous. They live nearby and provide an enchanting welcome with fire in the hearth, tea and refreshments on the table, and so on, and they are more than willing to help with their native local knowledge and insight.
It's a very affordable and most charming accommodation, strongly recommended, especially for those who appreciate natural building materials, historical authenticity, and the surrounding wilderness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne S
Esse, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Charming 'Home from Home'”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent the most wonderful week in this charming cottage in a fantastic location. Our hosts, Eileen & Robert could not have been more helpful & the welcoming cup of tea, log fire & basket of goodies on our arrival was a lovely personal touch.
The cottage had everything we could have wished for for a comfortable & romantic stay, apart from a tea cosy, which we bought in Kenmare & left in the cottage for future 'tea addicts' to enjoy & make use of!
We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the gorgeous Beara Peninsula & we hope to return to Old Pub Cottage sometime - it is a gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm & character
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing