We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven!”
other travellers have booked this property
Birds-eye view of house and Collorus Point
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birds-eye view of house and Collorus Point
Hilltop Cottage, front Hilltop Cottage, Easter time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Birds-eye view of house and Collorus Point
Hilltop Cottage, front
Hilltop Cottage, Easter time
Kitchen
Dining/sitting room
Living room
Bedroom
Traditional window
The new bathroom
From the patio
Summer view from house
From the patio
Collorus Harbour with Hilltop Cottage
Collorus and Killmacilogue Harbours
Autumn view from Hilltop Cottage
Full moon, Collorus Harbour
Yard
Kitchen garden
Mimi
Hilltop garden
Bonnie Rose with chick
Hilltop Birds
April bloom at Derreen Garden
Allihies
Gleninchiquin Park
Cods Head
Sunset in March from Collorus
Cod's Head Allihies
Light House Bere Island
From the top of Knockatee, Lauragh.
Out on an excursion to Sherkin Island.
Our little rescued deer being released to the wild.
Colette, your host with Fifi, Foxy and Timmy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
FreyaWats...
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A haven!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I spent a wonderfully tranquil retreat here on my own, walking the amazing countryside during the day, even swimming in the sea, then cozying up with the log stove in the evening. The cottage had everything I needed to make my stay comfortable, with plenty of books and DVDs to look through too.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NWG55
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bliss”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My four nights at Hilltop Cottage comprised the crowning touch to my 60th Birthday solo Celebratory journey to Ireland. I arrived by bicycle, greeted by Collette and her sweet dogs. I received a bonus welcome of warm dinner and wonderful conversation. The cottage was a perfect embodiment of long cherished fantasies. I could revolve slowly 360° inside or out, upstairs or down, and encounter only views to engender delight. The setting is stunning. The cottage conveys charm, history, warmth, and carefully chosen individualized touches of creativity and artistry throughout...all creating a pervasive, welcoming and quite palpable perception of "home".The bed has a down-filled duvet, and coziness is enhanced by wood stove and wonderfully soft wool blankets . And then there is Colette...gifted, gracious, genuine,generous and wise. Her presence and abundant hospitality added an unanticipated and abiding gift to an already exceptional experience. I had the opportunity to purchase home-baked bread, jam produced from her organic garden, and beautiful fresh eggs. I was persistently captivated and enchanted by home, hostess, setting and surrounding possibilities for encounters and exploration. It was both pleasure and privilege and I have every intention of returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Colette, cottage itself, views and setting
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Mount...
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfy hideaway with views to die for”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was the perfect place to stay for our first visit to the Beara Peninsula. The cottage had everything we needed and more besides, the setting above the harbour with views across the Kenmare River across to MacGillycuddy's Reeks was enough to keep you wanting to stare at it all day long, there were lots of excellent walks of different levels nearby, Colette made us feel very welcome and was on hand when needed but left us to ourselves apart from that, and the weather was beautiful! What more could you want? Wish we were still there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views to the mountains across the water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bea P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful and welcoming!”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Hilltop Cottage is a gorgeous place to stay, cosy and tastefully renovated interior and stunning views across the bay, even from the bedroom window whilst lying in bed! There is plenty to see and do on the Beara Peninsula, stone circles, the fantastical Derreen Gardens and wonderful walks especially to see the waterfall at Gleninchaquin Park. We had our ideal honeymoon here but what made it extra special was the hospitality and warmth of Colette and her adorable little dogs. We hope to make it back one day. Bea and Magnus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary20021...
Winfield, Kansas
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for a more delightful experience of Ireland.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with our experience on our dream vacation to Ireland. One of our retirement goals was to experience Ireland but not while hopping from city to city, repacking every two days. Hilltop Cottage is situated on beautiful Beara Pennisula which is friendly to guests but not too "tourist-y." The cottage is traditional (which we loved) but up-to-date and comfortable. Colette, the owner, made us feel so welcome and did so many little extras to make sure we were well taken care of. We were able to balance a restful sojourn with fun day trips and short hikes. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful retreat in a beautiful part of the world, you could not do better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting.
Liked least: We liked it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing