We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 907)
Filter reviews
1 907 results
Traveller rating
754
804
245
65
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
804
245
65
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool amazing holiday seafood blu reef morris kenya beachboys chef
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 907 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Clients mainly Italian and some from Czech republic.

Negative:
- AC is old and barely working.
- Toilet barely working, water just runs straight through it so when you really need it you might not have it.
After a couple of talk with reception we gave up and learned some tricks to keep these two working.
- Drink list in desperate need of update too, meanwhile other hotels give you imported stuff this have only African alcohol in all-included. And you have to get it by yourself from main bar since there is no waiting for all-inclusive guests.
- Beach bar is not a bar you only get KEG beer and water there. They also play Hip Hop for guests mainly above 45. Not even the younger seemed to enjoy of "Move b**ch, get out of way, get out of way"...
- Food in the only restaurant varies - some days quite edible some days not.
- Some kind of Sommelier in restaurant waiving his arms almost knocking down guests and plates while entertaining the main customers - thinking he's the father in a family restaurant?
- Poor logistics in restaurant - bigger holidays guests are gathered to aperitif before dinner so there's a bull run to the food and there's a lots of traffic and noise through dinner time when ever you come - chaos. Not like on regular nights which were bearable.
- Animation group noisy and seemed to be everywhere in the resort. On beach they "owned" the speaker while 5-10 people were participating in some of there games and the noise was awful.
- Beware of ordering bottle of wine for dinner - you might get it 40-50 degrees Celsius instead of the usual about 16°C for red wine.
- White people could fill their water bottles in water stations but was forbidden for African customers. Quite funny.

All this is clear and simple bad management and would be easily fixed - but needs a total change in management.

Positive:
- Staff gets both thumbs up, they do what they can and most of them do it smiling.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PK363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 12 nights it was fantastic all staff r fantastic and couldn't do enough for u my husband is a fussy eater and the chef Morris went out of his way to make sure if he didn't like any thing that was on the buffet he would ask him what he wanted and he would cook it for him there was a older man named salon who sold the trips on the beach he was brilliant and good price talk good English and we did all r trips with him even r airport return for half the price we paid when we arrived again thanks to all for a wonderful time

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jackied708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

The Place is superb but with very poor management. All inclusive package was not comparable to other hotels i have been. The drinks were flat ,you could not send a waiter to bring drinks on all inclusive you have to go to the bar and collect your drink by your self , very tidious, the drinks were Safari cane line, Local beer was keg for me this was unfair for the cost we paid we desrved better brands the wine was pathetic.
Food was perfectly presented however the variety was limited you go round the buffet and end up not getting something worthwhile.
All inclusive ,means kids are taken care of whole day there was no kiddies zone so parents were stuck baby sitting. Kids had to wait for meals at designated time ....why use all inclusive if you dont give kids snacks at Voyager kids pick pizza chips and sodas all day long

The rooms had no communication you could not communicate to the reception or even your neighbor,no TV no extension cables.

I believe i wasted my cash on this holiday. Thank God for the Crew i had we made it happen despite the above. I loved the beach i loved the swimming pool.

Room Tip: the beach is super and serene. The pools are the best
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillianne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanyT88, Direttore at Jacaranda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Lilliane
Thanks for the review that can give us the opportunity to clarify our position on matter.
All the complains you wrote are not attributable of a poor management, but straightforwardly from poor informations you had or was given you about the hotel.
Our Website, Social Media pages, Tour operator and travel agency information all is very clear. What our All Inclusive package includes, rooms facilities and animation activities.
Every hotels are different from each other, important is to know what was chosen.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Visiting Watamu at the end of the season is probably not smart. There are factors beyond the control of any establishment which accentuate the issues within their control.

We contacted the hotel direct and, as is now the perceived norm, the arrangements were handled very professionally. We required a number of changes, but David and Daniele were most accommodating. Paradise beckoned

We stayed over the Easter weekend, with the hotel closing for the off season on the day of check out on 17 April. It is only natural that the staff would not be at their best, given that a 3 month lay off was about to commence.

The food was not too bad, with good variety. My only real complaint being the absence of real bacon for breakfast. I am partial to bacon. No matter, possibly end of season problem.

One of the things that irked me most was the method of dealing with the various packages. We were on a 'soft all inclusive package'. Our yellow wristbands bore testament to that. Someone, possibly Maurice, would come and explain the ins and outs to us on the day of our arrival, but alas, this did not happen. This led to some frustration. In retrospect the resort should have highlighted the full package at 1000ksh per person per day as it is in fact a much better option. 3 beers per day and 3 cocktails for the better half, potentially cancelled that extra out quite nicely.

As it is, we dealt with the rations and plastic cups and stuck to a glass of flat beer during meal times. I realise that a balance needs to be sought, but I would rather feel less rationed and have reasonably priced beverages that i would pay for and not feel scrutinized each time i ordered a drink. The less said about the creative billing at the bar the better, but suffice to say that adding the lemonade to the vodka cancelled the free ration and added 200ksh to the price of the vodka...and I quote: "it is a cocktail". Lol!

Nice beach, spoilt by the prevailing current spewing dirt onto the pristine white sand. Each morning the staff could be found clearing the stretch in front of the hotel. Again, not the resort's fault...seasonal...i suppose.

All in all, ok. The feeling of being rationed detracting just a little bit from the ambiance, but we relaxed and enjoyed the lovely, cooling pool in the company of friends.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

This place is located on a very pretty part of the coast, so the beach is amazing. We stayed at the villas, and it was OK - not really luxury, but we had everything we needed that week, plus an extra swimming pool.
Jacaranda is full of Italians who are the main clients here (mostly via travel agencies). The chef is an Italian as well, but it is probably an advantage more than disadvantage - we enjoyed the variety of food. There were few 'local' options, but a lot of veggies, fruits, meat, seafood meals were there every day.
One irritating factor about this hotel are so-called 'beach boys' but that's common for all the coast, if not for all east Africa at all. On the day of your arrival they will buzz around you offering all kind of things, and that's annoying.
However, the good side is that they offer standard excursions with a bit of a dicount. At the end of the day we didn't regret that we organised all the trip from the hotel with one of them - Rondo. He was very polite and gave us a very good price, besides respected timings and was very precise about everything. I can recommend him.
I also recommend this hotel as a medium-range to high quality. Booking directly will save quite a lot - I guess - respect traveling via the agent, but that's probably valid for almost everything.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksana_Barkhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews