We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home-from-home”
other travellers have booked this property
Side View of the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side View of the lodge
View from another angle View of front of lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Side View of the lodge
View from another angle
View of front of lodge
tree in front of lodge, In full bloom, May 2014
Ready for a meal
Sunshine on Ying Yang tables
Fireplace, log burner
All mod cons
Main bedroom
Chair on deck
View of forest and mountains from golf course
Lodge and trees from golf course
more views from golf course
Golf course
Still lake
River
Autumn rush
A Summers d
Peace
Sitting room
view of beautiful tree from inside, blossoms in May 2014
Same tree. May 2014
Road to Aughrim
Road to Aughrim
further delights towards Aughrim
Wicklow in Spring
Gorse bushes, Spring 2014
Country side nearby Lodge
View from lodge, summer 2014
Beautiful tree in front of lodge, blossoms in May
More beauty in Wicklow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
irlandais...
Le Sappey-en-Chartreuse, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home-from-home”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Only about 1 hour 15 minutes from Dublin airport. Ideally situated in Co. Wickow with stunning view over Glenmalure.
Short hop from Rathdrum for local shopping, pubs, take-aways plus Glenmalure Lodge about 10 minutes away but kitchen is completely fitted with EVERYTHING you could want if you like to self-cater all the time.
2 spacious ensuite bedrooms with comfy beds and great living/dining room area with a real turf fire - Angela arranged for it to be lit to await our late arrival (perfect welcome gift - plus a bottle of wine!) Loved the wood chalet atmosphere.
We were all adults but would be great for a family - games etc. plus TV and video player with choice of videos.
Wicklow Town (with amazing Bridge St. bookshop, Gaol etc.), National Botanic Gardens at Kilmacurragh, Brittas Bay (to mention just 3 options) all very close - and, of course, great walks along the Wicklow Way.
Angela bends over backwards to make sure you have all you might need - and checks up that all is well. Fantastic customer care!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review of your stay in my lodge over Christmas. Im delighted you had such a lovely time and that you felt really at home in the lodge as well as getting around to see so many interesting places in the vacinity and beyond. I hope you will come back again in the not too distant future. You would be more than welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin C
1 review
“A little gem in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Angela's lodge for 8 nights it was the most breathtaking place with stunning views... The lodge was a home from home with everything you could possibly need with a young family of a 2 year old and 7 month old.. We could not have asked for any better... Angela was most helping and caring from start to finish... Perfect base for exploring Wicklow .. First class we will definitely be back :))

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the lodge and its facilities and that it met the children's needs. I look forward to you returning again in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berniejob
1 review
“Aliitle bit of heaven!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were in five different holiday accomodations in August while waiting to move into our new house and this one was by far the nicest. A home away from home with every comfort you could possibly need in a wonderfully peaceful setting. The view of the mountains is breathtaking and we felt restored after our visit in this lovely calm house. A great base for exploring the wonderful Wicklow sights.
The owner is charming and helpful .We will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review and your positive comments. Delighted you enjoyed the lodge, the peace and the views. You are more than welcome to return at any time. Angela Walsh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackgalwa...
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a great 3 night stay in this beautiful lodge. Everything was as described, it was spotlessly clean and so cozy and warm. The bottle of wine was lovely to arrive to.
The kitchen had everything you need.
We have 3 young boys aged 1, 4 and 7 and the house was perfect for them with a very safe enclosed decking area. Amazing views even in the rain!
Lots to do in the area, Greenan Farm and Maze was a great day out and there are lovely forests close by.
Highly recommend and definitely would love to return in the summer. Ann was so nice to deal with, all in all no complaints! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review and I appreciate your comments. So pleased the children enjoyed it too. I do hope you will return again in the summer when hopefully we will have really nice weather.
Best wishes, Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinners7...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb location, very homey and welcoming!”
Reviewed 5 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had an excellent experience from first contacting Angela, arriving at the lodge and having our week stay. It is superbly located, close to some fantastic tourist spots, mountain biking and lots to do for the kids. The view from the lodge offers some of the best scenery in Ireland.
It is easy to feel at home in the lodge as soon as you walk through the door. It is very spacious, with the pine giving a very warm and cosy feel. We stayed with our 2 kids who loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your review. i am delighted that you got to do and see so much in Wicklow. I hope you will return again at some future point. You would be more than welcome to stay at my lodge. Best wishes, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing