We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highlight of our vacation, better to stay one...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Punakaiki, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
joelaing7
Miri, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation, better to stay one week here”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Wharepuni house was the highlight of our New Zealand vacation. If this house had been available for more time, we would certainly have stayed a week. If you like hiking and nature, this is paradise! This house is also the best rental in the area, since it has a good view. Well furnished, everything we need. Creative woodwork which inspired me to do a bit of the same, since I have lots of drfitwood down the hill from my house in Borneo.

Other reviewers, hey come on, You dont need window screens, they just spoil the view. Got sandflies? We had a few, but they are slow, stupid and when they do occasionally get in the house, they go hang out on the window panes and are easy to kill.

Like birds? Wharepuni is a bird meeting place, saw and heard many types of birds.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivqnq
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place on earth”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days in January 2013. Accidentally bumped on that place and decided to stay. The hosts were very nice and kind, they brought us groceries cause the store is far away. The house is amazing, we will never forget the sunsets on that terrace. We took the host's advice to order food from their neighbor - it was amazingly tasteful and beautifully served. It was unforgettable experience

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison A
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy base for exploring Punakaiki and surrounding West Coast area”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed next door at the second house of the owner (Paparoa Whare). Cottage was clean and cosy with great amenities for a young family. My 5-year old son loved the rocky beach and waterfall nearby and the cheeky weka bird that almost stole his shoes! Provided an excellent home base to explore the Punakaiki area and surrounding west coast. Thank you to Brendan and Eva for making booking so easy and welcoming us during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and private
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsterF
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nestled in the trees”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Really cute cottage. Suitable for us for one night. Walk to Truman Track and beach. Very quiet and relaxing. BBQ on top deck available. Kitchen ok.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyButt...
Karratha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great private location”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved how private and discreet this house is, it was lovely having our own little piece of Punakaiki for a few days. The house has good heating and the kitchen is really well equipped, though I agree with the last reviewer that the knives need sharpening :-) the bed is super comfy and the lounge area is a great spot to take in the view. We had lovely lamb curry & garden salad prepared for us on the first night by Marie and this was great and so nice to be able to eat a home cooked meal while on holidays. Would suggest that the cleanliness of the bedding be looked at as the doona cover seemed a little hairy and we had a sock at the end of our bed, no big deal, this place was still amazing. We highly recommend this house, it's a beautiful spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing