We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfy, homely yet luxurious”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Exterior
Outdoor seating bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Villa Exterior
Outdoor seating
bathroom
well appointed rooms
Bedroom
View from villa
Library
Villa View
Bedroom
Interiors
villa view
Villa Outdoor
Villa At Night
Villa At Night
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nainital, Nainital District, Uttarakhand

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
musafir36...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“comfy, homely yet luxurious”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

WE had a wonderful stay at crosswinds. The property is beautifully done , elegant yet not over the top, warm and homely. The staff is very hospitable . Execellent to unwind

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property is very well furnished, elegant ,spacy and warm
Liked least: non-availability of a coffee percolator
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankurniga...
Gurgaon, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you have a large group (upto 15), then this is where you want to be”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Situated 15 kms before Nainital (in Gethia), Manish has built a home away from home. If it's a resort you're looking for, then keep looking. If it's a plush home, complete with Onkyo sound system, Bose speakers (inside and outside), domestic help to cater to your whims, Jaguar / Kohler fittings in the bathrooms, awesome food, great library to pick books from and bask in the sun, 42" Television in the 1,000 square foot living area, and most of all, not wanting to worry about parking in Nainital and getting lost in the maze of people in season time, then this is exactly what you want.

It's a home away from home, and Manish and his crew have worked hard to make sure it remains just that. We were pleasantly surprised and extended our 3 day getaway to 5, simply because we loved it.

Takes about 30 minutes to get to Nainital and could be the anchor place even for Bhimtal, Naukuchiatal etc. which are all driveable (subah shaam type). Excellent food and the crew, led by Bhagat alongwith Bhardwaj and Manoj, are well trained and often will surprise you with their culinary skills (try and bhuna chicken and the south indian fare especially the saambhar).

We came back and the first thing I said to my wife was - let's go there again and take the larger family too. This is one place that we're definitely going back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The taste with which everything has been put in place
Liked least: No wifi connectivity. As an estate, it's small.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaazo
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome holiday”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at Crosswind for 5 nights and what a fantastic vacation we had. We were a group of friends - 8 adults and 4 kids. Crosswinds felt like a home away from home... As we reached the property, we were welcomed with warmth. The property is out of this world. It is built with a lot of love, care and attention to detail. We spent hours in the living room and the lawns.....endless chats, games amidst scenic views and endless cups of tea. Meals were delicious and freshly cooked and best part is that you actually get to decide the menu. The South Indian breakfast is to die for and so was the Chinese. We had barbecue one night which was awesome. The staff was efficient and was always willing to serve and make our stay comfortable. The library was a favourite with kids and adults alike. All rooms were lovely and comfortable with their own sit outs. The best part about the property is the fact that it becomes your own place and you are not time bound for meals, cleaning etc. it was one relaxing holiday....I can't wait to go back there with family and other friends. I certainly recommend crosswinds for a chilled out holiday.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalitMoha...
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Unforgettable and pleasurable stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at crosswinds with my family and 2 other family friends, it was truly a memorable experience for all of us to stay at this very beautiful villa. The name perfectly suits it location as in the evening time specially we could feel cool winds crossing the outside sitting area. The ambience is perfect and is very appealling. The hospitality of the staff was the best right from the time we checked in till check out.
The cook have made our day with mouth watering dishes right from the breakfast till dinner be it north Indian, South Indian or Italian they are perfect.
For 2-3 families it is worth staying together at this place....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stay and Food
Liked least: Electricity situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankur_j
Ludhiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best vacation we ever had till date....”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this property for two nights and three days from 30th May to 1st June 2014.
We were two couples travelling with young kids aged 3 years and 5 years.
We were planning to go to some hill station in summers.

By chance I had opportunity to have a look at this property here on TRIPADVISOR. Boy! I must say I was in awe when I saw this property. Was truly bowled over by sheer beauty of surroundings and the way it was so tastefully made and furnished.

I put up a phone call for booking enquiry to the Owner Mr. Manish Anand . I must say I was quite impressed the way he made me aware of all the details. I want to take this opportunity to compliment him for lovely villa he has built as well as thank him for courtesy shown by him and as well his staff during our stay. Hats off to you Manish ji.

I will like to add that I was so much in awe of this place that just to be here I changed my whole vacation program. And I can surely say it was worthy of change.

Booking process was very simple and easy. Manish ji followed up with emails regarding our booking and confirmations very promptlyb. We were again informed via email by Manish ji about the contact details of his colleague in hour of need and the staff who will be attending to us during our stay.

The villa is located very aptly away from the hustle and bustle of Nainital near Gethia. It is a perfect getaway for ppl looking to spend some quality time far away from maddening crowds. It is tastefully furnished. each and every nook and corner of this place is lovely. Be it the huge lobby with large windows giving magnificent views of the lush green mountains or the rooms or the lil library for the book worm in you and not to forget the deck outside by the garden to relax in cool breeze in the evening. Everything is just stupendofabolous.

We were contacted on our day of arrival at the place in the morning itself by Bhagat ji, the chef. He enquired our expected arrival time and our requirements regarding food if any. We conveyed our requirements to him. We were greeted very warmly and eagerly by the staff- bhagat ji and manoj his assistant. As the Villa houses six bedrooms, we were given option to choose the one we liked.
Just as we entered the villa, all of us had one question in mind - Is this place REALITY?
WOW was the word from us in unison.

The food prepared for us on arrival was beyond par. Never ever had such delightfully taste buds tickling mouth watering food in my trips. We feasted on the delicacies to the hilt. I must say the chef Mr. Bhagat is master crafter with the food. We ate variety of foods during our stay at CROSSWINDS. No matter what type of cuisine we asked for it left us wanting for more. Our kids enjoyed their meals to the maximum.

Manoj, the bell boy was at our beck and call all the time. He was like their to fulfill our needs as and when we wanted. The food was served as and when and where we desired.

Amenities wise this place was fully equipped. Be it recreational activities like bonfire, home theatre with great dvd collection , mini library with lots and lots of bookscarom boards, badminton racquets, playing cards, etc..

Each and every corner of the villa was sparkling clean.

This place is perfect getaway for large families or group of friends, even young kids will love this place for it has so much in store for them

We really were not at all eager to leave this place and head home. If booking would have been available then we would have definitely extended our stay.

It was more than worth for the price asked for.

To sum it up, this was by far the most memorable, remarkable, delightful, full of enjoyment and relaxing vacation I ever had.

I will definitely recommend to all fellow trip advisor travelers and my friends and family members to visit this place once.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the way the property has been built and upkept, the food-which was absolutely delicious, the calmness of surroundings, the service provided by the staff to name a few things we liked the best about being here.
Liked least: The one and only thing we least liked was few number of days we spent our time here. Wished we could have booked this place for ourselves a lil longer to completely enjoy what all this place had to offer.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2014
Dear Ankur,

The entire team joins me in thanking you for staying with us during your recent visit to Uttarakhand and also for sharing your feedback in detail on Trip Advisor .

Thank you for your encouraging words of praise for Bhagat & Manoj and am very glad you liked our villa, facilities, food and services. All of us are delighted to read your experience at Crosswinds, Gethia.

It is our continuous endeavour to deliver excellent service which meets high standards of hospitality and it is feedback such as yours which is our greatest award and motivates us to continue striving for excellence.

We sincerely appreciate your rating of our villa and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$492
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing