We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Akrogiali(Kalo Nero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
bedfinder
View Deal
Dimitra's Villas(Kalo Nero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
61
44
35
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
44
35
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel managerswimming poolkalamatabed sheetshamtwo floorsscrambled eggswater fountainice creamfriday nightgreek hotelsnice architecturebeach frontancient olympiasaladstudiovillage
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We stayed at the Messina resort hotel kalo nero in August 2017 for 5 nights.
The hotel location was nice, just across from the beach, with very nice greek taverns across the street. The room was spacious with two bathrooms, we had a bilevel room, kids slept downstairs and we were upstairs.
There were many things that we didn't like about the hotel:
- breakfast: very limited, the only fruits were apples (looked old) and oranges, and only compote peach and pineapple. There were 8 trays of breakfast items, but they weren't warm at all, even though there was a warm tray under it. Also, we had to tell the personnel to refresh the fried eggs almost every day.
- room: there was a refrigerator and a microwave that didn't work, and even though there were cabinets, there was no plates, nor silverware.
- pool: there were only 34 sunbeds, certainly not enough for all guests, and almost all of them were reserved by breakfast time, and various tables around the windows, but not all of them were inthe shade. Also, the pool was very small compared to the guests, so it was difficult to swim.
- water: the water wasn't drinkable, however they served tap water with paid coffee.
- hotel rules: it was the first time i ever show a hotel saying that we will pay for stained towels or bed sheets
- outside restrooms: there were restrooms by the pool, you had to go down the stairs, but all days we were there they were locked
- as we were coming back from the beach, there was no water fountain to clean the sand out of our feet.

In general, nice rooms but definitely not at the service and facilities level of a resort

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank summertraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Overall our stay at the hotel was very good. It is nicely situated and very comfortable for daily excursions in the nearby area. The food was very nice and there was plenty of variety. However it lacked some features which would elevate its class had they existed. For example at the breakfast buffet I could not understand why there was not any fresh orange juice and why they did not serve frappe coffee. Moreover a shelter for the cars at the parking lot would have been a very nice feature so as the customers to protect their car from the direct sun light.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Vaggelis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We stayed one night, the outside of the hotel is very nice. But the rooms are dark, lighting dim, beds are comfortable. Old bathrooms need to be updated there is a problem with the pressure I almost burned myself. Carpet in the rooms which is not smart because it is right behind a sandy and rocky beach I got attack by sand mites as soon as I went into the room. There is a small stove top which was a mess, a kettle, a microwave which was on the bottom of the cabinet. No bottled water in small fridge. We had breakfast nothing special they should have cooked a Greek breakfast, with fresh bread, jelly, butter, homemade pitas. We had breakfast at 7 am which was just set up. On Wednesday nights they have a small band who are fantastic. We paid 85 euros for the room for one night. The pool at the hotel was ok but you have to keep your eyes on your children. The beach is pebbly and the mornings cold but worth it. The afternoon it gets murky. The staff is friendly. The gift shop in the hotel has cigarettes and not expensive very friendly girls working there. I will return to this hotel on if they fully renovate but with this crisis I doubt this will ever happen. wifi weak in rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed all inclusive at the Messina Resort hotel Kalo Nero in September 2016. When we booked the reviews on Tripadvisor were generally fairly good, however when we looked again just prior to our stay we were disappointed to see several negative reviews. We hoped that these were anomalies but when we arrived we realised that the hotel was just as poor as these later reviews indicated.
The management replies to these poor reviews bordered on insulting suggesting the reviewers either had not stayed there or were not accurate.
The hotel at first sight externally appears acceptable, but many of the tiles on walkways were cracked. Room furnishings were tired, dark and old fashioned and in some cases needed repairs. Rooms were also very dimly lit.
There was a kitchenette in our suite but it was not available for use, indeed the tap was unusable and the microwave was almost on the floor, there was no crockery or cutlery just a few glasses. This would not have been so bad had it not been for the fact that the food was very unappetising (more on this later)
Restaurant was again fairly dimly lit. The food was laid out in an 8 tray BainMairie which kept the food barely warm. Breakfast usually consisted of fried eggs, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, eggy bread, mini omellete slices, croissants, and small pancakes. Much of this of course hung around for some time and became leathery stale and unappetising. Fruit and cereals and toast were available but no butter for toast.
We did not stay in for lunch.
Dinners were again served in the same bainmarie and for our taste most days was highly unappetising and unimaginative. The trays were used to serve pasta, rice, 2 meat dishes and one fish dish, soup, sometimes a vegetarian option and a vegetable side ( however the vegetables were usually of the canned variety and pretty poor) the pasta and rice were fairly plain and unless you ate meat had little flavour. Potatos were only served one evening. Again the food was hanging about being kept barely warm and even managed to look unappetising. In addition there was a rather limited salad bar and limited and repetitive desserts.
Hot drinks were not available after 6pm and there were no kettles or drinks in rooms.
We have stayed at many hotels throughout the eastern mediterranean, many at a similar price level. Some excellent, some good and some reasonable. I have never before had to give such a poor review. None had food as unpalatable as this hotel. All the other hotels had staff cooking the eggs, pancakes etc to order, and superb cold buffet and salad bars. They also all had kettles and service trays in rooms so that guests could make hot drinks.

On the positive side bed linen and towels were changed regularly, the staff were polite but obviously under extreme time pressure. The air conditioning worked well and we had a balcony overlooking the pool (which many people were obviously enjoying).
Wifi whilst available was weak in rooms.

It appeared to us that the management were imposing very strict monetary control and this was reflected in the quality of the menu and adversely affecting the staff particularly the housemaids who had minimal time to do their jobs.
I would not stay at this hotel again but found the area pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I am surprised at the conflicting reviews of this hotel. Guests should not expect too much from a hotel situated in a small village, and staffed by slightly inexperienced employees.
The positives are that you get your money's worth. It is very close to a fantastic beach. You can also visit A+ beaches in the vicinity within 50 km. The room and bathroom are very acceptable, and the breakfast above average.
As for the food they serve, what do you expect. Full board is the same everywhere, lots of quantity but not quality. Within 100 yards there are 3 very good restaurants to serve you local mfare.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are the best.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikoskot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews