We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other traveller has booked this property
Stone Villa Maria
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Villa Maria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Stone Villa Maria
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Gouvia, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stelios85...
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife, myself and our two grown daughters spent just about a week at the Stone Villa Maria. We loved the location as it was close to Gouvia and not far from Corfu Town. Of course a car is necessary to get around the island from the villa. A grocery store and restaurants are less than five minutes by car. Be aware that the drive up to the villas is a bit steep, but nothing worth worrying about.

The villa was well taken care of both inside and outside. Not only was the inside well maintained, the landscaping and flowers around the outside added to the beauty. As the balcony faced east, we woke up early to watch amazing sunrises; it was a beautiful way to start the day. The villa's pool and surrounding area was a perfect place for us to sit and relax after a day of bopping around the island. While the climate was very comfortable in May, unfortunately, that time of year does not really lend itself to spending a lot of time in the pool (a quick dip was ok).

The one issue we had with the villa was the wi fi was not very strong. Supposedly the wi fi connection had been upgraded prior to our visit but it was barely sporadic. From inside the villa is was near impossible for us to connect; we would have to stand outside in certain areas to be able to receive a strong enough signal. We called a few times but they were never able to resolve the issues. This is the only reason I could not give them a rating better than 4. While disappointing, we did not let this detract from our vacation. The Stone Villa Maria was overall a great experience for us and made our visit to the beautiful island of Corfu even more memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: VIllas are beautiful, the views are incredible.
Liked least: wi fi connection was disappointing to say the least
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic6T6
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This villa is as good as it looks in the photos. Although Gouvia is not the nicest resort on Corfu, it is actually a very good central base to get to the rest of the Island quite easily. The thing that strikes you most about the villa are the stunning views. It is located right on the top of a hill in a small group of four villas, one lived in by the owners. The 180 degree views to the front, from any of the three lovely balconies, are over the marina full of posh yachts and across the sea to Greece/Albania. To left and right are the mountains of North and South Corfu. The views to the rear are of lovely countryside and the sun sets can be watched from one of the smaller rear balconies. The pool and gardens are lovely, with many options of places to sit according to sun/shade and which view you like.
The owners are discreet and just come early or late to tend the garden. The maid was good too, changing sheets and tidying most days.
On the down side, not that there were any really serious bad points, the villa could be a bit more comfortable for evenings and nights. The furniture is provided with longevity in mind rather than comfort. The lounge furniture was pretty upright and of a really solid foam (eased by raided the beds for pillows) and the beds would survive nuclear war! They are really heavy iron frames with floorboards across, that combined with the same hard foam used in the sofas means that they are firm to say the least. All four guests awoke after little sleep with the same stiff backs. We managed to make it sort of OK by finding some winter quilted bed covers and folding them into about four layers to sleep on. On the plus side there is remote control air conditioning in the top two bedrooms that is really good.
The key question is always 'would I go back?' I think on the whole the answer would be yes, The views are outstanding and the pool area is lovely. With comfy beds it would be top notch.
(38 steps to front door!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Hard Beds
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond W
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing, bit secluded, steep hills”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014

First of all, had a little trouble finding this as the road was not on our sat nav and couldnt find easily on google maps either, however we did manage to find it after pinpointing it on sat nav using map given and directions, very steep hill up to property make sure to rent a strong car, car definitely necessary as the walk is difficult, along roads, and quite far from main area of gouvia, however 5-10 minute drive, and the property itself was amazing, great views, lovely rooms, we had trouble with the wi-fi however the owner who lived nearby, (1 of the set of propertys up the hill, basically next door) was very helpful didnt fully understand but tried his best and called out a technician who also didnt fully understand english, but with there help plus my limited i.t knowledge we sorted it out and got it working for rest of the trip, very friendly and helpful owners and a lovely property, just be warned strong car is a necessity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cheap, great views, friendly owners
Liked least: bad wifi, steep hills, long walks
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yordrib
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great base with commanding views”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Villa right on top of the hills overlooking Gouvia Bay, great position. Brilliant pool and gardens, really private too. Very spacious villa, well equipped and furnished. Two outdoor eating areas to choose from. Bit of a trek to nearest bar, but position worth it, and only a twenty minute trek. steep road to the villa though and on several levels with lots of steps, so not suited to anyone with mobility issues. Bedrooms very comfy, each with en suite and balcony over the countryside. Only point of issue was the showers, not up to standard of rest of the villa and look like they came from Poundland - owners need to sort out and will not take much to sort out. but a minor quibble given the overall standard of this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pool and gardens
Liked least: showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Reviewed 14 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fourth time we've been, fels like home from home
Liked least: Hire car hire breaking down, soon sorted by George, the villa owner
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing