We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of gite and your parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of gite and your parking
Entrance and parking at the front Main house with friendly Labrador to greet you.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Front of gite and your parking
Entrance and parking at the front
Main house with friendly Labrador to greet you.
Cosy lounge/diner
Quality furnishing
Modern kitchen appliances
As you come up the spiral staircase
King size bed with two separate mattresses and bed settee
Bedroom looking towards shower and toilet room
Your private undercover terrace where smoking is permitted
Sit outdoors and enjoy the grounds
Enjoy the private gardens with outdoor seating
Pond garden looking towards Cidre Barn
Bicycles for your use
Terrace and garden looking to pond
Autumn view
Our two horses that live on the property
Our local big birds taken by one of our guests
Views along the beautiful Valley of the Vire by horse back
Spectacular skies all around the property
Home from home
Property entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saint-Lo, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I recently stayed here for 4 nights and found the Cidre Barn to be a perfect place to relax and as a base to visit the various D-Day landing sites. The gite has been restored to a high standard. It has a well equiped kitchen, spacious and is in a lovely countryside setting. British TV and wi-fi is also included. The owners who live next door are very friendly and welcoming. We had a problem with the shower a couple of days after arriving but this was quickly fixed by the owners. The owners also kindly arranged for us to visit a local Chateau where we had an excellent meal and tour of the building. Also providing transport for us. There is a supermarket and boulangerie nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and relaxing atmosphere and the proximity to all the beaches in the south west and north east of Lower Normandy
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MattAndCa...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our visit was our first experience of visiting a gite, and what an eye opener it was!
The barn has everything you need - a fully functioning kitchen, a comfortable living space (awesome log burner!) with sky tv and dvd player, spacious bedroom, power shower and so on. It's traditional but with the mod cons, so best of both worlds. We literally turned up, unpacked and felt at home. The place was spotlessly clean on arrival. The English owners live next door and were both very helpful and chatty.
We chose this place primarily because of its location, which was the ease of access to the Normandy beach landing sites which are only half an hours drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy_Cras...
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Perfect Christmas - en France”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Cidre Barn in August/September in 2014. We were sufficiently impressed that, after a hectic year, we decided to see if it was available to spend a peaceful Christmas in France, celebrating in the laid-back Gallic style we love so much.
Not only was the Cidre Barn available, but the owners stocked it up with plenty of logs for the wood burning stove, turned up the central heating, and even provided an additional, large, Christmas table for us to better enjoy our Christmas dinner. The result was one of the cosiest, most relaxing Christmases we’ve had in more years than we care to remember.
The barn conversion, carried out to an extraordinarily high standard by Ken and Christine (the owners), has been thoroughly insulated so as to retain its heat. This meant that, with its thick stone walls, and despite there being a seasonally crisp frost several mornings, we remained warm and snug, with the wood-burning stove merrily blazing away in the evenings, lending festive atmosphere by the bucketload.
There’s been some very careful thought put into this Gite – it might only be a holiday rental, but there’s everything there you need to lead a normal life. From the well stocked cooking utensil drawers to the built-in washing machine and the multi-function oven, the Cidre Barn has pretty much everything you need to just move in and live. Brilliant! No camping out here. This is civilised living!
As before, the place was totally spotless on our arrival and Christine had even lit the fire as the ferry docked, in order to ensure the place was warm for us by the time we’d completed the short drive up from Cherbourg. Thank you!

The main thing that struck us about the Cidre Barn on both our visits (after its stunning layout) was its location. Tucked away down a well maintained track, and just a short distance from the main road to Pont Hébert, you’d think you were in the tranquil depths of the deep countryside. Yet the motorway from Saint-Lô to Cherbourg is just a few minutes in one direction, while the same distance in the other direction finds you in the village of Pont Hébert itself, with its well-stocked Carrefour mini supermarket, fuel pumps, a Boulangerie (excellent) and a useful selection of friendly shops. Saint-Lô is just a short jaunt further down the same road.
It’s rare to find somewhere you really can’t fault but, in the Cidre Barn, we’ve found one of them. I rather suspect we’ll be sampling it some more in the very near future too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood-burning stove (and the labrador, Lacey)
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm D
Rugeley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great property, in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two weeks and enjoyed every moment, a central location so you can easily travel to most attractions in the area then retreat to a lovely peaceful oasis. You can relax in the lovely private gardens or stroll into the surrounding countryside. The river walk is great,but if you stray off the beaten path you will find a world of green lanes hidden away. The onwers are very friendly and helpful. The lanes in the local are safe for cycling. There are lovely local shops (the bakery before the bridge is great) and a carrefour in the town

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;