We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home with perks”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tina1141
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home from home with perks”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We arrived at the very end of the ski season and was pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a swiss style chalet in what looked the middle of no where in the French Countryside of thr Pyrenees.
Carolyn was a brilliant cook and Stefan and Carolyn were perfect hosts.
The ski resort itself is at the top of the road that the chalet is based. In july the same road stages the Tour de France.
The Chalet is very comfortable and clean, there is a hot tub but we didn't get to use it as we were too engrossed in the sociable atmosphere of Chalet Tourmalet.
For dining one needs go no further than the Chalet. The views from the Chalet are fantastic with sheep in the meadows and a mountain range backdrop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The food and wine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Thank you Tina for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bomberone
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous hosts, great food, brilliant views, hot tub & beer”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Our stay was in ski-season. When booking we were offered catered or self-catering and was I ever glad we chose the catered! Aside from generally being great hosts, Carolyn is an exceptional Cuisinier and Stefan a great waiter and bringer-of-beer. A nice touch after a long day on the slopes is the hot-tub on the balcony, with the views to the mountains and a nice cold beer... The menu changes daily but every day was as good as the last, with good wines to match - Carolyn even made flapjacks specially for me as I have wheat intolerence - I also had 'other guest' intolerence because some of them liked the flapjacks too! The bedrooms are all clean and tidy, nice comfy beds and pillows, plus bath-robes are supplied for going down to use the hot-tub. A nice log fire in the evenings added to the atmosphere before retiring, well fed, watered and generally wiped by a good day on the slopes... There is a bus that goes up to the ski area, but most days Stefan took us up and brought us back, recommending lunch-stops and watering holes, meeting points etc on the maps. In the ski-shop they suggest down the road - Stefan took us there to hire kit - the shop staff were very friendly and helpful too, a good sign for me. Dodge, their dog, is as friendly as the hosts and likes Carolyns cooking too - when there's any left...

All in all a great week was had by all & we're seriously thinking of going again next year - if you like to ski, do it, chalet hosts don't come better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Thank you John for your kind words. Hope we get to see you back next season!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee M
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“I felt like I was home”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were wrapping up a 3 week vacation where we started in Italy and worked our way through France. We chose this location due to the Tour de France riding right past their doors and the opportunity to go up the Col' du Tourmalet. This was our last stop and you can imagine we were pretty tired and a little stressed from all of the travel. We pulled in to the drive way and were greeted by Dodge, their lovely dog.The surroundings were stunning with mountains all around you. Then our hosts came out to greet us and we just immediately felt at home with their kindness.

We were shown our room which was much larger than I anticipated and the view from our windows was one that I wrote home about. It was breathtaking. Once we got settled, we went down and met with some of the other families staying there and it was a delight to meet people from all over the world who were gathering here due to a similar interest -- the Tour de France. It was a few days of wonderful conversation.

As for the things other travelers will care about: the food was amazing! The bread was homemade, along with the butter. Each meal was cooked and prepared for you and there wasn't one thing we didn't enjoy. The dessert was my husbands favorite each night. I think my favorite was sitting back and sipping on a glass of wine and just watching everyone at the table chat and enjoy the meal. It was all about the pure relaxation for me.

The property is beautiful and walking around was fun. We took a back road they told us about and it was a long road along a river. It was very pretty and a nice walk where we took a ton of pictures.

Basically our stay here was the highlight of our entire vacation. We had zero stress while we stayed here and always felt comfortable and at home. We would highly recommend this Chalet to any and all of our friends. I think we will be back in the future, maybe during ski season!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts and the food
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you - it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GourmandM...
Marminiac
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If there are better hosts running a Chambre d'Hotes out there, I've never met them.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Ten of us took over the Chalet Tourmalet for a week: three to take part in the 201km 'Etape du Tour', which took place over the same course as Stage 16 of the Tour du France; the rest of us to support, watch the Tour du France and get in some serious walking in the mountains.

Our hosts, Carolyn and Stephan, were incredibly helpful and supportive (above and beyond the call of duty), cooked some great food, and generally helped to create a fun atmosphere. If there are better hosts running a Chambre d'Hotes out there, I've never met them. If you're in this area and looking for accommodation, this is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfullness and support of the hosts.
Liked least: My room mate snoring.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you Martin. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully before the end of the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Merci bien! J'éspère a la prochaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing