We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Humble abode in the serene White Town, Pondicherry”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SubhaS142
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Humble abode in the serene White Town, Pondicherry”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Firstly the location of this stay is great. Centrally located among market streets filled with various shops and lot of restaurants, everything around a radius of 1-2 km. The house had 3 different rooms & had a common kitchen and Veranda like area. The kitchen had all basic utensils, gas stove and tea bags, so that you can cook if necessary. I loved the range of furniture in the house, speaks about a lot of colonial history behind them. The place looks exactly as in the picture. Overall it was a great stay! Prithika, the host was a warm-hearted person and loved her hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lloydm229
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Painstakingly personalised and beautiful to the core”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I sit in the open courtyard as I type this review for the house of blue mangoes
A wonderful house having 3 rooms I've had the pleasure of staying for 3 nights in.
My pics will tell the story however a bit from my end, located close to the French colony and within 15 minutes from the promenade and most popular cafes like villa shanti, cafe des arts etc
The house workers are so so warm and don't mind sharing a laugh with you and are fantastic
Prithika as an owner is non intrusive and yet always there for you
Go ahead and book it if you hate staying in fake hotel rooms ambiences and love the vibe of a Franco Tamilian House which is crafted wonderfully by the owners
The kitchen has cereals and coffee maker for you and that should suffice you're breakfast until you reach the wonderful French cafes in white town and the French colony
Definitely coming back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biyas
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Traditional Tamil house, very cozy and cute”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 days at HoBM and had a lovely stay. The house is a traditional Tamil house, not too big, 2 bed rooms on the ground floor and one on the terrace. The central courtyard - a small cozy one. - is tastefully decorated. The kitchen has a freeze, a microwave oven, a coffee maker, some cereals for breakfast, tea coffee sugar, and enough crockery and cutlery. Our bedroom had an attached bathroom, and opened on the back to a very cute garden where one can sit and read. The passageway beside the room also had a private sitting arrangement. The house, despite hosting 2 or 3 guests unknown to each other - had enough privacy for each. It was located in a small bylane off St Theresa street, and was about a kilometer from the promenade (beach).
A couple of small suggestions - the room could do with some hooks to hang clothes and may be a low table to put the suitcase on. Also - the other room doesn't have an attached bath, and its bathroom was right beside our bedroom, with a window covered with glass opening to our bedroom, and whenever the other guest used it in the middle of the night - the light would lit up our room and the flush would wake us. May be the opening could be sealed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diyathean...
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charm of an old Tamil house but equipped with all modern amenities”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

House of Blue Mangoes has been restored from more than a century old house nestled among the by-lanes of Pondicherry.The house is really very well maintained-always spic and span with not an iota of dirt to be seen any where, an example of good housekeeping. The pillows and duvet used in the Isaoli room are of very good quality. However the matress was little hard, and that could be an issue with me. Others may find it to their liking though. Since the host Prithika is always available to help with her team, if you want you can request her to change the mattress or add another layer on top.
The AC worked perfectly. The hot water geyser was great and I loved the herbal shampoo and body wash that was provided in the bathroom. Room Kavya was comfortable as well but did not have an attached bathroom. However that was not an issue with us since my family had occupied the entire house for the duration of our stay. Breakfast consists of corn flakes and milk. Tea sachets and a coffee maker is also available in case one would want to make tea/coffee. Tiny milk cartons are provided and are kept in the refrigerator. I would suggest that you buy couple of bananas if you don't like plain cereal with milk. I would have loved some bread and butter though.
The only negative point of the House of Blue Mangoes is the approach to the property through an aisle. There is a drain right outside the main door which overflows and stinks all the time. However since we had to cross that stretch only twice a day-once while going out and once while coming in we didnt find that bothersome. But It would be good for the host to get that issue sorted with the local authorities.

The property is within walking distance of major landmarks such as the White Town, Aurobindo Ashram and the Promenade, all within a 2 km radius. Three wheelers are easily accessible, but we preferred to walk. There are plenty of eating joints nearby including bakeries, biryani joints and the traditional tiffin houses that sell veg thalis.
Overall, we had a memorable stay at the House of Blue Mangoes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urmi B
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect place in Pondicherry to relax with a good book and your favorite beverage”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I spent a couple of days at the House of Blue Mangoes during the long Independence Day weekend with my husband and teenage son. The house is a traditional ancestral property that has been very tastefully done up and converted into a lovely home stay. We stayed in the room named Isaioli which was quite cozy, clean, air conditioned and had a spotlessly clean attached bathroom. The house has a fully equipped kitchen and dining space where one can cook in case one is suitably inclined. The house is located in a small lane off the St Theresa Street that bisects the busy M G Road as you head towards Pothy's. The location is within walking distance of the sea shore Promenade and most good restaurants of the White Town. All important information as regards places to see, shop at and eat at nearby is very thoughtfully listed and kept in the room. As a host, Prithika was very friendly, helpful and made us feel like true Pondyites in the little time that we spent there. We would surely visit again and hopefully for a longer time at the House of Blue Mangoes !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything...the tastefully done up house and the room.....the little pebble garden at the back....the earthenware water bottle.....
Liked least: The fact that we could not stay for a few more days...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing