We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old world charm with new age comforts”
other travellers have booked this property
The villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa
Restored antique rosewood pillars Time to catch up on those books with some coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The villa
Restored antique rosewood pillars
Time to catch up on those books with some coffee
A lerge terrace, lay out the mattresses and stargaze
The central skylight and courtyard
Guest room 1
Guest room 2
Guest room 3
Guest room 4. The Big room.
The living room has a big LCD with satellite tv.
A time to bond over some yummy food.
A fully equipped kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Durgha M
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world charm with new age comforts”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This place was an absolute delight... Spacious, cool and comfortable conveniently located in the heart of Auroville. The house is the typical Indian homes out of the 1950s..with a central open courtyard, antique furniture and beams carved out of solid wood... modernised and upgraded with the today's conveniences (read free wifi, TV, geysers, and a fully equipped kitchen). For a group of over 10 ppl, the place still felt large and was really clean. Would definitely be coming back here..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Hi Durgha,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy you had a comfortable stay and do look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_fredric...
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calm Serene stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chose this place for a family get together after going through a lot of properties on Trip advisor.
When we entered the gate from the main road and drove through the green covered road we had an amazing feeling. Away from the noise and pollution, the place is perfect and fit for our purpose. We loved the garden, it felt good to take a stroll now and then inspite of the weather being too harsh. Morning walk through the garden inside the property and also through the road till the main entrance is something not to be missed.

House was built in traditional architecture, well ventilated and the rooms are really big. Kids loved the space to run around.

At night, we experienced load/voltage fluctuations and atleast one room air conditioner had to be shut down to ensure the other 3 were running. Except this one, we didn't have encounter any other issues during the stay,

Breakfast was very simple south indian fare, it is home made and the taste was good. Coffee and tea were served.

Coming to the flip side, it would have been better if the property is directly rented than through trip advisor. Trip advisor charged in USD (shell out more on Forex charges if paid using Indian cards). Settlement for a damage during the stay also takes a lot of time.

Overall, would highly recommend the property...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Dear Fredrick,
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy that you and your family had a relaxed and comfortable break. See you again soon.
Regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmuniran
Houston
2 reviews
“A beautiful place set in tranquility!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a total of 4 families (friends) with small kids. The house was just perfect! It is built with a traditional architecture with all modern amenities. Shiv (owner) was very responsive and the caretakers (Ishwar and a lady) were nice people and made our stay very comfortable. I wish this was closer to Bangalore so that I could visit often :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Thank you so much, I am happy you guys had a good trip and a comfortable stay at the villa.
I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Warm regards
Shiv
P.S. : we are just a 50 minute flight from Bangalore :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arjun b
1 review
“Very Calm & Comfy”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Your place at Pondy is very nice, well maintained and apt for an weekend break from hectic work schedule. The location is far from city & noise. Your caretakers were great and made good food. We were a big group and all of us had a great time. Thanks for your hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you For your kind words, I am happy you had a good holiday and look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varshameh...
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Calm and peaceful family home”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I truly enjoyed my stay at Sharanya, it felt like home away from home. The hosts are very warm and welcoming, it's a perfect destination for a relaxing holiday. The facilities provided are very convenient and hassle free. The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable. The porch is a great way to spend the mornings looking over the garden. I would recommend the place for a peaceful retreat and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefull beautiful place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Dear Mrs. Mehta,
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next stay with us soon.
warm regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing