We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
271
129
18
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
129
18
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamil quarter cooking demonstration cycle rickshaw cgh property heritage hotel charming property sister hotel small hotel cgh earth southern india open courtyard palais de mahe tamil house old world charm welcome drink would highly recommend this hotel central courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Awesome food and great service.
Its small but a must try for foodies.
Everything is good about this place.
Housed in a old style courtyard house, the decor is light & minimal. However effective ambience is great.
Good menu options for all good lovers.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank RahMeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Greetings From Maison Perumal - a cgh earth experience

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your valuble comments on Trip advisor. We appriciate, your comments on food, ambience,and more over our staff service,.

Looking forward to see you again for a Traditional Tamil gourmnet dining experience.

Warm Regards

Sam John/Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in September 2018. The good part about the hotel are the people managing it, the rickshaw ride they provide for a city tour and the old style charm of their decor and ambience. The breakfast however was pretty average and the room size a bit small. We were offered a bigger room but that had twin beds and hence not ideal for a couple. The positioning of the TV in our room was such that the screen was partially hidden from one side of the bed. Overall, it's a good value for money in a central location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kunal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Overall, we had a very nice stay (3 nights) at Mansion Perumal (11-14 Aug'18). The CGH is a very professionally managed group and the experience right from booking (through their Cochin office) to check-in until check out was very professional and friendly.

Special mention of Chinju in the sales team and Jayson in the hotel management at Mansion Perumal.

The hotel is very well done (restored tamil home 130 years old) in Tamil quarter. It has a very special character (including the beautiful courtyards, reception area and rooms). The hotel is professionally managed and services are perfect. The room is of decent size, very tastefully done and with good quality toiletries, etc.

I must mention that the welcome drink (ginger lemon) was very refreshing and the team cheerfully met the request of additional serving!! Mansion perumal team made special effort to celebrate my birthday with a surprise cake and a card with signature of all team members and the room was also beautifully decorated. These are small little special touches, which makes it so unique.

I had a chance to meet Sam (manager) during our check out and gave my feedback, which he promptly acknowledged and mentioned that he will look into it. The suggestion of orientation of door of bath cubical away from WC, as the bathroom size is a bit compact to adding few vegetarian dishes in the breakfast menu and having additional serving staff during breakfast time will enhance the staying experience.

The down side was taking the heritage walk by INTACH (offered through hotel), which is why I have given four instead of five star. Though it is not in the hotel's control, but it was really not up to the mark. My wife and myself both are from the related profession of buildings, but the talk was more about few conservation projects, challenges, what INTACH has done in restoration, etc. However, the resource person had to be questioned to get a feel of the history of the French quarter - settlement, overall urban planning and design aspects. We felt it was really not value for money. This experience deterred us to take any other walks and tours, may be they could have been better.

Nevertheless, I would recommend the hotel to someone interested in heritage experience with a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Room no. 9 was very good - where we stayed.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ruchini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Greetings From Maison Perumal -a cgh earth experience

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuble time to share your review on Trip advisor.we appreciate your comments on our property,and the staff . Thank you for your few suggestions and we will do the amendment as much as we can.

Looking forward to have a flawless and memorable stay with us again.

Warm Regards
Sam John /Manager
Maison Perumal
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Beautiful quaint hotel with very attentive and helpful staff. Within walking distance to most tourist locations. They organize their own tours and activities e.g. tour with a guide to Auroville and walking or cycle rickshaw tours.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Greetings From Maison Perumal - a cgh earth experience

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write about our Heritage property . your valuable feedback on our staff, and the engaging activites are highly appreciated.

Once again thanks for being with us and hoping you will return again for a flawless and relaxing stay .

Warm Regards,
Sam John/Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

A heritage property well renovated/refurbished and located in peaceful residential area but close to restaurants, cafes, shops and walking distance to Promenade Beach and most attractions, including White Town.
Exceptionally helpful staff willing to help & assist with anything& everything. Hotel very helpful to arrange cycle rickshaw tours, heritage walkabouts and visit to nearby Auroville.
Excellent healthy breakfast.
Comfortable & cosy rooms.
A clean property...highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Greetings From Maison Perumal- a cgh earth experience

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write to us and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience of being at our Heritage property. Your valuable feedback on our staff, food, &engaging activities are highly appreciated.

Once again thanks for being with us and hoping you will return again for a flawless and relaxing stay .


Best regards,
Sam John | Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews