We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fishing 🎣 Trip”

Genuine Fishing in Tenerife
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We offer a variety of ʻGenuineʻ fishing excursions from a half day 4 hour, or a full day 7 hour trip. On all trips we do a mixture of Game Fish Trolling & Bottom Fishing, approximately half time trolling and half time bottom fishing, depending on what is fishing the best at the time, we use a variety of artificial and dead bait lures on best quality PENN and SHIMANO tackle when trolling for Tunas, Marlin, Wahoo, Dorado, Amberjacks, Barracuda etc, depending on what is in season at the time. The bottom fishing we sometimes do 'Drift Fishingʻ but mostly at anchor, over a specific mark, either the edge of a shelf, or on a line of rock and sand or basically anywhere we see fish showing up on the fish finder screen directly under the boat, it is very precise and effective. We use a mixture of baits, whole fresh caught dead baits on the heavy tackle for Big bottom feeding Flatfish, Snappers, Morays, Amberjacks etc and any big sea bed scavenger species that often take a big bait. Also we use lighter tackle for small to medium fish, and catch the fresh baits for the big rods, like Mackerel,Boga, Herring etc and other good eating fish like Snapper, Sea Bream, Amberjacks, Sea Perch, Trigger fish etc using baited hooks, feathers, artificial baits, just off the sea bed bottom. We practice ‘Catch & Release’ on most fish and any protected species accidentally caught are returned back to the water alive, all Game Billfish like Blue Marlin, White Marlin & Spearfish are always released. We also offer 'Private Charters' and 'Specialist trips' at discounted prices where you can decide want you want to target, we will always advise you as to what is fishing best at the time, as we also want a productive trip. The British owners of the boat and their crew are all fishing enthusiasts with many years experience who know these waters like the back of their hand. We cater for the serious fishermen and are also very willing to teach the novice, set up all the tackle and bait and give any advice and help if needed. Run by Father & Son, Mick and Jack, the Crested Wave has a very well known and respected reputation as a Genuine Fishing excursion. If you are an experienced fisherman you will know nothing is guaranteed when it comes to fishing, but believe us, no boat crew tries harder than the Crested Wave team. We do guarantee you will be very well looked after by the 3 of us, and pride ourselves on our customer service, that is why we are in the top of the reviews and have many regular repeat customers, and is probably the most well known fishing charter boat in Tenerife. Everything is included in the price, no hidden charges! All equipment, tackle, 2 rods each, bait, cold soft drinks, water and beers (food on the 7 hour trip). Full toilet facilities and shade around the whole boat if required. Reservations are normally necessary a few days in advance, but you can always check with us at short notice in case of any cancellations.
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

My husband, son and father wanted to try something different and choose to try fishing . Not experienced fishermen they choose the best fishing experience they could ask for.

Booking the trip with Pauline was really easy and meeting Mick was another reassurance that this is a excellent and well run fishing trip.

The trip was a half day trip and throughly enjoyed by all....loads of advice, support and help was provided. My husband was lucky to have caught a ray and was expertly assisted by Mick to reel it in...a picture was taken and it was released back into the sea.

Drinks provided and all agreed they were well looked after throughout the trip.

My father, husband and son would highly recommend this trip...excellent value for money, well looked after, expert advice and attention provided, fabulous boat and all the fishing tackle you need....

Thank you Mick and Pauline for giving these guys a fabulous time -stories and pictures galore!!!!

Will be back again.....

Thank Kath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Really good day out. Everything was provided and the crew were very helpful. I will be re booking next time I'm in Tenerife.

Thank Connor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great day. The crew is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We did not have luck with trolling but the skipper found us a good spot for bottom finishing, where we caught some big stingrays and someone also got a well sized jack. Having sunshields on-board so you are not becoming a fried egg while bottom fishing is a really good detail. Highly recommended.

Thank pbode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your taking a moment to leave your rating and review of us on our TripAdvisor page, we really appreciate it.
Yep sometimes the trolling can be unproductive, but the bottom fishing generally tends to be a bit more consistent.
That being said, we are now coming into tuna season and often have some days where the trolling is 'full-on' and we do not get much of a chance to bottom fish, but that's just the nature of this sport, and whatever is fishing the best at the time we will obviously concentrate more on that style of fishing.
Nice of you to point out about the shade that we put up all around the boat, as when bottom fishing it can get a bit too hot, especially in the summer months, and also we do not want people to suffer from sunburn, and we always remind people to apply sun protection and wear hats.
Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully see you another time,
Kind Regards
Mick and the Crew, 'Crested Wave, Genuine Fishing, Tenerife'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

My husband and I booked a mornings fishing with crested wave we arrived at 8.45 and met by Mick who showed us where the boat was. When we got to the boat we were greeted by Jack and his crew. We were each allocated a fishing line Jack and his crew were very friendly and tried hard to get us to where the fish were it wasn't long before other people were catching tuna my husband and I caught some tuna we also saw whales which were swimming around the boat. The crew kept coming round with drinks. We all caught over 13 tuna between us. We didn't catch anything any bigger but that's fishing we then went and had a go at bottom fishing we were again given a rod each which had bait on them. Jack and the crew did everything they could to help us catch something but we didn't get anything. I would recommend crested wave and will definitely go with them again Thanks Mick, Jack and your team.

Thank vanessa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Vanessa,
Thank you for your detailed and kind comments, and of course your rating of 5, that's great!
Me and my son Jack, have things pretty much of to a 'T' with our setup and Jack is very good at getting everybody sorted straight away.
We always have the equipment set up and ready before people even board the boat, so no time is wasted and everybody gets the maximum time possible actually fishing.
The other sea life, like the Whales and Dolphins etc are an added bonus when we see them and always goes down well with the people on board so when we see them we get as close as is safely possible and treat everyone to a mini safari of these creatures in their natural habitat, and often in large numbers.
I will show Jack and the crew your comments as they really appreciate it when people recognize their service and efforts.
Kind Regards
Mick, Jack and the Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a half day fishing with family. A bit scared to be honest as we were unsure how the kids will react. The crew was helpful and engaged them straight away! Setting the hooks, asking about everything! They really enjoyed it! Unfortunately the fish decided not to take our baits but the captain didn't give up! He kept trying and trying even 1hour after the end of our normal time! And guess what! We managed to get some tunas! Exiting as we were the only boat around that actually had some luck! Thanks Captain for persisting and giving us a rewarding afternoon!

Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Chris,
Your review is very helpful as it addresses a common concern among people who are a 'Bit Scared' as you put it to join us on a fishing trip, especially those who have kids with them.
We never go out in bad seas, as it is not fair on customers, especially as we often take many tourists who are just trying fishing for the 1st time and are a bit nervous, but once out they more assured.
I pride our service on it's interaction with the clients and service, sometimes when the fishing is a bit hectic, even though there are 3 of us on the boat, we don't have a lot of time to chat, but we are very experienced and have everybody in our sights, even if it's out the corner of our eyes whilst attending to another person.
And also if the fishing is slow, we may busy ourselves on getting things going by trying other things, but generally we don't miss anything or ignore anybody.
The extra time we gave at the end just goes to prove that, as you said it was a bit slow so we stayed that hour longer to try our best to give people a positive result, which obviously worked with catching the tunas.
Thank you again for your kind comments,
Mick and the crew of Crested Wave, Fishing, Tenerife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Genuine Fishing in Tenerife also viewed

 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Been to Genuine Fishing in Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing