We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 025)
Filter reviews
6 026 results
Traveller rating
4 925
720
258
79
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4 925
720
258
79
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach butler outdoor shower casitas section health bar personal concierge santa fe grill candlelight dinner on the beach our honeymoon gourmet inclusive room service beach bum vacations bellini bar wine pairing artificial reef casita suite pool bartender beach beds
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 6 026 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

First trip to Mexico and hotel El Dorado Casitas Royale. Beautiful location, well maintained and landscaped gardens and the most friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is huge and we stayed in the El Dorado Casitas Royale suite. Couldn’t have asked for a better location, right on the beachfront. Rooms well stocked and maintained daily. Beautiful pools, not too busy and so relaxing, exactly what we were looking for. May as the pool barman has been excellent and looked after us well the whole holiday.
Personal concierge, Gloria, excellent too. The only disappointment was the beach; quite rocky and lots of seaweed. Better stretch of sand further along the resort. Can’t hold the hotel responsible for this and were constantly trying to clean up the weed. Would definitely come back here - and ask for the same room and location!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank denisejeanharnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Hola!



Dear denisejeanharnett

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community. I’m sure your review will help many with future vacation choices.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your experience exceeded your expectations. Our number one priority is to make every guest experience exceptional and as special as it can be.

We hope that El Dorado Casitas Royale by Karisma, Gourmet All Inclusive will be your preferred resort for your next visit to the Riviera Maya and Mexico.

Sincerely,

Managment response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I recently stayed at the Casitas portion of the El Dorado resort. We upgraded when we arrived and the cost was not much more than what we had originally booked for a swim up suite at the Royale location. Both Royale and Casitas are right next to eachother, so everything was within walking distance. This resort is HUGE, so there is golf cart service for people who wish to use it. There are tons of food options (beware-most places have a strict dress code for men). The pools are extremely clean and the property is constantly being maintained by discreet and friendly employees. The Casitas room was gorgeous. I had an indoor shower, outdoor shower, hot tub, cathedral ceilings, and private balcony. Although the room was beautiful, the air conditioner was not sufficient for the room type and the lighting was horrible. I would like to see them upgrade the air conditioners and possibly add new lighting with dimmer switches for those who need a brighter room. Speaking of lighting- I was on the second floor and the stairs were an espresso color. It was almost impossible to see them at night, as the resort does not provide much lighting. I recommend having a sensor light for those staying on the second floor. The only other "con" I can think of is the mini-bar service. We were told that it restocked daily with water and beer. I did not receive a refill until my third full day there, after calling several times (I was out of water). Other than those specific things, the rest of my stay was enjoyable. The staff was pleasant, the food was amazing, and the drinks went down pretty easily. I would go back, but possibly stay in Royale, as the rooms were also beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hola!

Dear Jessica H,


We very much appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and most of all, our staff performance, we are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination and we have worked very hard in the minibar restock in order to avoid other guests get the same impression

We look forward to welcoming you back again, We will have the champagne chilled, awaiting your next arrival!


Warmest regards,


Managment response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Everything was wonderful and we can't wait to go back. We tried almost all of the restaurants and enjoyed the amazing food. The room we stayed in was clean, beautiful and romantic. Our personal concierge Alfonso and Edwin were so friendly, helpful and fun to work with. The rest of the staff members we worked with were very nice and always willing to help say hello or make sure we were enjoying our visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rygar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hola!

Dear rygar83
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma


Sincerely,

Managment response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We have been to this resort 3 times now but this is our first time in the Casitas section amd it was our best trip yet. The staff is amazing and took great care of us, it is one of the reasons we go back to this resort. Ana who was our personal concierge and helped us from the very beginning and checked on us throughout our stay. Ivan was our pool butler who continually made sure we had everything we needed while at the pool area as well as Juan who was our pool bartender. Both were very attentive and friendly to everyone who was at the pool. Cristian took care of our room and always made sure it was clean and orderly. One of our favorite place to go for breakfast is Cocotol to get an amazing omelette prepared to order and then JoJo's for lunch. Efrain works as a waiter at both so look him up for a great experience as he will take excellent care of you. We also love to visit another bartender Rueben who we met on a previous visit as well. I can't say enough about the staff, but the accommodations at the Casitas is top notch, especially in buildings 31 and 32!

Room Tip: We love swim outs so that's my suggestions and for a special treat get one of the honeymoon swimouts in section 31!
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Hola!

Dear Rob G,

Dear Rob G
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma , it was a pleasure to host your vacation and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Karisma experience.

There is nothing more rewarding than to receive the praise from our valued guests and we will certainly share your experiences with our employees. We are very happy to hear that the staff mentioned had such a positive effect on your visit and they will be rewarded for their efforts.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit to the El Dorado Casitas Royale Riviera Maya, a SPA Resort by Karisma


Sincerely,

Managment response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This property has incredible potential. It's service levels are mostly fantastic, but some times poor. I would suggest not going to Generations.

The small group pool concept at Casitas is genius, and was a great way to meet people, especially if you have a ground floor room. The large group pool was lots of fun and well managed as well, so you have a choice to hang with friends and drink, or be part of a larger group, and drink. The drinks are all first class. Bartender Christian in our 25 complex was fantastic. We watched the Mexico game in the Word Cup on his phone and I drank Ceasars. Overall, this resort is very nice. The one important thing to understand is that you really can not swim in the ocean. Despite the heroic efforts of the sea weed crew, it seems to be endless.The evening shows are just OK, but seemed like a lot of fire for a building built from straw. The show venue is not very comfortable for large groups. There is no club for after hours dancing. Don't try and book a table for 6 people at any restaurants. Their system seems to not allow it, even if the restaurant is empty. So some hiccups, but overall you can tell they are trying The Pizza restaurant is great.Gloria the concierge was great and really helpful. There seemed to be confusion over an early check-out at 7:00 am. We were supposed to check out at the lounge, but were then directed to the front desk, who said we had to check out at the lounge. I'm not sure what the answer is, but be sure to allow some time if you are checking out early - or check out the night before. The room service is Spectacular - and is reason enough to go to this resort. We frequently ordered lunch to our room and hung by the pool. We used the tour guys at the front desk who were very professional, and less expensive than our tour company. We did ATV's and Speedboats at Maroma and it was very professional and fun. Very well organized. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.
Thanks to all who took care of us !

Room Tip: Casitas Ground Floor - no view, but convenient access to the pool and beach.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dano123488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hola!

Dear Dano123488,


We very much appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and most of all, our staff performance.

We have worked very hard in the group reservations area in order to avoid other guests get the same impression and t feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.

We are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination and we hope you give us the opportunity of hosting you in the near future at, El Dorado Casitas Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Remain at your service,

Managment response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews