We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
5
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
8
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We did not stay in the hostel but booked one of the family rooms which is set back from the hotel in the bamboo forest. We felt very neutral towards our experience here and found it hard to determine why we did not find it so good.
We have been spoiled in our lives and have been to some wonderful places, so perhaps we are the wrong people to review this. However:
- the houses are made of wood and on our first night we had the misfortune to be sharing with a group of people that seemed to be on a company team building or something. They partied until 2 am.
- the rooms are clean and very nicely appointed. There was a pink bathtub in our room with paint peeling off the base. A notice indicated that it was out of order. We presume there is no intention to repair it because of the lovely framed notice over the bath.
- the shower was hot which is important to us.
- the beds are hard in true Chinese style
- our room was not serviced during our stay (I don't know if that is hotel policy)
- the breakfast was OK.
- the restaurant staff were very nice, all older Chinese Aunties. Although they spoke no English they were very friendly and accommodating.
- dinner menu is all Chinese food - tasty enough. There is also a western snack menu with milkshakes and great coffee.
- we took a walk into the forest with the map supplied by the hotel, and were lost within an hour. We pride ourselves in being good map readers, so were frustrated that we could not find where we went wrong.
- during this walk we were overrun by mosquitoes even though we were wearing repellent, and by this time the children just wanted to return to the room. (I know the hotel is not responsible for the mosquitoes!)

I just think we have western expectations and this is a truly Chinese hotel. What riles me the most though is the price. I do not believe that the price of RMB 1200 per night can be justified. It is purely a case of charging a fortune to city people that wish to escape the city. For the same price you can get a 3 star hotel in London, for half the price you can stay in a Crowne Plaza in the middle of Beijing. In South Africa you can enjoy a magnificent country escape at a first class hotel for the same price with spa, swimming pool and gym.

In summary we found our family room experience very mediocre, but I do think if you stay in the hostel accommodation for a much lower price, it will be acceptable.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodfan2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We made a great choice for the capstone of our holiday week road trip when we stayed at Howoo. The staff were really helpful and eager to please, the accommodations clean, and all for a fairly good price (especially with breakfast buffet included). You can hike the mountain right out the back door, or you can head over to Moganshan proper. There's a Wal-mart in Deqing right before you head into the mountains, which makes for a great stop to load up on hiking snacks, fresh fruit, wine, etc.

Just note that the kitchen for dinner closes a bit early (7pm), there's a long walk up from the parking lot (300m, up a steep incline), and dorm rooms are noisy, which is mostly from neighbors walking in the room above you and can't be helped.

Room tip: If booking a dorm, ask for top floor if you can, which will save you from the noise, but make it less convenient to use the rest rooms.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I was looking for budget lodgings in Moganshan that are both clean and friendly, and Howoo Life Hostel delivered.

The Moganshan area itself is quite a distance from the bus/train station, so we called the hostel to arrange a taxi pick-up. The pick-up came on time and, as we later found out, was also considerably cheaper than other taxis offering their services at the train station.

Very cozy hostel with pool table and an assortment of games (chess, checkers, etc..), with a quiet eating/resting area that looks out to a sea of bamboo. Great place to relax and have a coffee or to enjoy lunch or breakfast.

Mountain right behind the hostel that is empty and peaceful. Coudln't have asked for a better retreat. Hostel will help arrange transportation for you to go to Moganshan proper, and also offer entrance tickets at discount price (65 RMB).

Breakfast was great. Western and Chinese food freshly cooked, with a number of delicious dishes that would rival a luxury hotel. There's a little station to cook eggs as well, which I thought was a rather brilliant idea.

We stayed in the shared dorm, so for 90 RMB we had great hotel amenities and an amazing brekfast. The dorm was a bit loud and the showers a bit cramped, but the bed itself was clean and comfortable and--for the price--really a great deal. The private rooms are located in the far back near the mountain and, although more money, are definitely much cleaner and quieter.

Great deal for the money, perfect place to stay if you'r elooking for a Shanghai getaway without breaking the bank.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wow, what a hostel. Situated in bamboo forests of Moganshan, we stayed two nights at this wonderful hostel.

Tricky to get to, I'd suggest forgetting the multiple bus connection and ask hostel to organise a taxi pick up from the train station. Its a good 30-40min ride to the hostel.

We were in one of the deluxe rooms, mostly made out of bamboo and wood. 4-poster bamboo bed and a bamboo bath outside the room is a sort of out-house. Stunning.

A basic breakfast is served in the morning and there's a decent Chinese menu in the evening (plenty of bamboo dishes). However, (and you'll need to order 24 hours in advance), I'd highly recommend the hot pot feast for evening meal. We were served a large table of fresh meat and vegetables to cook in your own individual pot of broth. Most of the vegetables are growth locally in the village. Delicious.

There's a bamboo forest trail up the back of the hostel, you can hire bikes or ask the hostel to order you a taxi to take you further up the hill to the tourist area.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 675PaulM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews