We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nathalie B

Super!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2020
We loved everything: the excellent service, the food, the rooms, the game drives. It was all perfect. We were in the Waterberg house which was not too busy.
The activities at the main reception were well organized.
Friendly and helpful staff that assisted us with every minor thing.
Giraffes in our garden!
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jan 2020
We are glad to hear you loved your time with us and that everything was to your liking.

Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a main focus and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. The pride and dedication our hotel team takes in providing exceptional customer service to our valued guests speak strongly to our company’s core values, “good service at a fair price.”

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 5 146
R 4 288
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 324
  • Priceline
    R 4 288
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 324
8.2 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 3 607
R 3 439
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 439
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 607
  • Tripadvisor
    R 3 439
6.5 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 220
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 220
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 220
  • Vio.com
    R 1 215
36.0 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 250
  • Priceline
    R 1 250
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 250
  • Vio.com
    R 1 245
36.2 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 556
R 1 232
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 530
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 530
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 232
22.9 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 550
R 3 195
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 195
  • Trip.com
    R 3 212
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 244
17.8 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 652
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 1 652
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 652
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 652
39.1 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 720
  • Agoda.com
    R 720
32.0 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overview of Main lodge
R 3 450
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 3 450
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 450
39.7 km from Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Bela Bela
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
41
29
13
8
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
29
13
8
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

Zebula is a great place to visit, if you like golf it's an extra. The Hotel is well kept and the scenery is beautiful with animals roaming around, if you love nature and conservation this is the place to be. They have lots of activities in the vicinity, two decent sized pools, their own bird and snake park🐍, tennis, mountain bikes, game drive, quads, squash etc🐴.🐆. you name it its there. The restaurants offer delicious food, breakfast is a buffet with options, the rooms are surrounded by thich bushes which offers an escape ...Buyi and Khomotso handled our check in and check out, you immediately feel like royalty at this facility, your car is parked in one place and they take you away in their carts... Amazing, what's not to love about it🙄

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BonganiBaloyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed all the activities on offer.
The only question now is: " When will you visit us again?"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of our trip to the Kruger park. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the tranquil settings and the views of the grassing animals close to our house.

I got to play a round of golf and the golf course was very nice but the since animals are roaming freely the fairway had a lot of damages but that is something that you enjoy when you get to see wild animals at the same time as you play a round of golf.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockholmSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2019

So glad to hear that you enjoyed the tranquility at Zebula. You are right the animals especially in the winter months can do a lot of damage to the course but what a privilege to play a round of golf with them as your partners. We hope you will visit us in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

A beautiful location, travelled ther for breakfast one Sunday, in my brother in laws helicopter, Great food not to mention the animal park associated with it, well worth a vist. The park itself is about 129 miles from JHB.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Steve623
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. We hope that you will visit us in the future for a longer stay to enjoy all we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2019

All of these issues were submitted to Hotel "How was your stay" questionnaire - with no success - I even offered to supply photos to prove the Sub standard quality and facility -

Bush Lodge 19 Unit - junior suite - quite a distance from the main building with the worse building maintenance program ever...
1. Damaged front door does not close and seal properly,
2. Walls crack up and dirty,
3. View panels in bathroom for all to see inside your bathroom at hip height,
4. Poly filler holes and remaining screws where roman blinds once hung,
5. Air conditioner squeaked like a duck being murdered,
6. Skew bathroom mirrors,
7. Mold growing in various areas in shower,
8. Curtains derailing due to not having end stops, dirty and dusty
9. Bedding had markings and dusty,
10.Bad paint jobs, poor carpentry and joinery,
11.TV Cables untidy and laying allover the counter,
12.Exposed drill holes in tiles with no purpose

Main building is on up to standard for the star rating issued:
1. Bar stool arm was broken,
2. No foot rest on high chair,
3, Upholstery was badly stained and scuffed,
4. Drinks table had loose granite top - a disaster to happen,
5, Balustrade on upper deck was unsafe and wood rotten,
6. Glass doors to buffet area did not close (huge gap between frames),
7. Badly patched repair work to glass door,
8. Upper Deck planks are lifting (waiter/barman/guests tripped a few times) and some are giving to much for comfort.

These are but a few to mention.

Restaurant:
We had a 32nd anniversary to celebrate on our 2nd night of the stay. We booked months in advance - even the restaurant booking was done months in before. During our stay Zebula had 2 large conference groups. Access to general areas were limited during lunch to guests outside these groups.
Our anniversary dinner were booked and confirmed before we arrived by my husband, at the fine dining a la Carte restaurant. Chef was not available on the evening and they tried to make us eat the buffet, with the other guests (which was not the arrangement when we booked).

Bar: Well stocked with friendly service and staff.

Room tip: Bush Lodge units away from the golf course and main building are quieter
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RonelRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

HI, Apologies for your bad experience, I can assure you that every point you raised will be thoroughly investigated and fixed where needed. The hotel review system takes a while and that has not filtered through yet and as soon as it is received you will get a response and more feedback regarding the points you raised

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2019 via mobile

Value for money ? I don’t think so. Over priced, poor styling, poor maintenance. Bad service, shoddy food. Needs an upgrade. For R500/night more you can get 5 star boutique experience. Would not recommend Zebula.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarioJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MArthinus D, Public Relations Manager at Protea by Marriott Zebula Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

I am so sorry to hear that you stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Zebula Golf Estate and Spa has a variety of accommodation options - from private Lodges that gets rented out privately (people do get these confused with Zebula) to Our premium African Dream Lodges which has just undergone a major revamp and then, of course, our budget Junior Suites - without knowing in which accommodation option you stayed it is hard to respond to your review. Once again on behalf of the team do accept my apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews