We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great morning buffe breakfast”
Review of Il Barocco

Il Barocco
Ranked #19 of 78 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Casual dining that dares to be different within a contemporary and classical, elegant and informal setting. Il Barocco Restaurant presents an expose of fresh Australian produce and flavours boasting a full buffet breakfast and a lavish seafood buffet seven nights a week. An a la carte menu is available for lunch from Monday to Saturday and a seafood buffet offering on Sunday afternoon.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Enjoy the sunshine and the blue lagoon sandy pool as you sip coffee made by experts. Great selection of breakfast fare and not unreasonably priced.

Thank petermN8821ZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Il Barocco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for a glowing review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable breakfast experience with us.

Thank you again for visiting us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018

Went there last night for my birthday dinner.

The decor is very nice but compared to, say, the Sheraton Mirage or Marriott, the variety of food is just not there.

There was no carvery in operation so no freshly carved roast meats, the cheese platter was down to just one selection of cheese and stayed that way for over an hour and the desserts were somewhat lacking and a little tasteless. In fact, the highlight of the dessert selection were the lollies that are available in any Australian supermarket (snakes, fantails, party mix etc).

Not worth the price of $99 per person.

Will not be going back and would recommend you try one of the other large seafood buffets in the area before venturing here.

1  Thank Fromdownunder2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

I don't know what has happened here but this Buffet has fallen to great depths since I was here last.
The restaurant was nearly empty and as such the food wasn't turning over so was either cold or over cooked. The Blue Swimmer crab seemed frozen and the Oysters Kilpatrick microwaved.
To top it off the wait staff on the Sunday night we visited were almost comical and seemed very very untrained especially in wine and etiquette.
Do your self a favour and eat elsewhere.
Luckily the staff at the breakfast buffet made up for their colleagues at dinner!

Thank gamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Il Barocco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Our seafood buffet is popular and rarely disappoints a guest.

We have noted that the buffet failed to impress you, we appreciate your comments and have shared with the team to review further.

On a brighter note we are glad the breakfast team left a positive impression on you.

Thank you for again visiting us, we hope you would return and allow us the opportunity to rebuild your trust in the brand.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

The buffet breakfast is good, the seafood buffet is lovely, but the lunch was sensational. Beautiful fresh, tasty and original foods. Would HIGHLY recommend

Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Il Barocco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Lyn,

Thank you for recommending us to the online world.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dining experience at Il Barocco restaurant.

Thank you again for dining with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The staff and decor were the highlights at Il Barocco.

The buffet breakfast has something for everyone. One couldn't ask for more variety in the breakfast offerings, however the scrambled eggs were cold each of the three mornings I was there.

Dinner was disappointing in that they no longer offer an a la carte option. If you are a lover of seafood, the seafood buffet would be plentiful. If you are not so keen, then the standard buffet options are not great.

Thank Angelene253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hari_Varier, Guest Relations Manager at Il Barocco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Angelene,

Thank you for a wonderful review.

We are delighted to read you have enjoyed your dining experience at Il Barocco restaurant.

Thank you for a special mention of Donovan, he indeed is an asset to the team.

Thank you again for dining with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.

Regards
Hari Varier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Barocco also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Il Barocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing