We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chalet la Vache offers a summer alpine holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet la Vache

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our winter view Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Our winter view
Dining table
Modern kitchen
Lounge area with wood burner
Open plan living
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Bunk room 1
Side of chalet
Wellness terrace in snow
View from bottom terrace
Chalet in the summer
Summer view
Winter sunset
Winter sunset
Wellness terrace at night
Sauna & hot tub
View from hot tub
Chalet from Wellness Terrace
Summer outdoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Nendaz, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morna J
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Chalet la Vache offers a summer alpine holiday that is great for the soul, benefits of which I'm still feeling weeks on”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I can't rate this chalet highly enough, it was perfect for our family purposes and made a welcome change to our usual beach summer holiday.

The chalet is beautifully situated with views that are absolutely breathtaking. It was really well equipped with everything to make the stay really comfortable. We particularly liked lounging in the hot tub in the evening and looking out at the fabulous mountains.

The resort of Haute Nendaz is a very pretty swiss village. It didn't feel overly built up, but had plenty of bars and restaurants. However we did not feel the need to eat out once, with such a view from the dinner table and ease of self catering we actively chose not to explore the culinary amenities.

We spent most of the week walking in the mountains, either by taking the lifts up to the top and walking down, or choosing one of the 'bisse' walks out of Nendaz. A highlight for us was going to the top of Mont Fort by cable car where the views were stunning, with both the Matterhorn and Mont Blanc seemingly so close.

We sadly didn't get to any of the other activities on offer, but we would have loved to have had a go at the mountain biking, climbing, swimming etc. We saw plenty of people taking their bikes up in the lifts then cycling down the mountain which looked like a lot of fun. There was so much to do that it deserves another holiday!

I would highly recommend this chalet and the surrounding area in the summer. We were two families, consisting of four children (12,12, 10 and 9). The children loved walking in the mountains and using the cable cars and lifts (apparently it's better than Chessington!!). In fact my son said it was the best holiday ever and cried when we left!

We would definitely love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Such a hardship of walking up the stairs post hot tub or sauna, I think they need to install a lift!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lien L
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, supurb comfort, location and facilities summer & winter.”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It's modern, it's comfortable yet it has all the style and atmosphere of traditional Swiss alpine chalet with plenty of room for everyone. I have stayed at Chalet La Vache four times in all with groups of friends and family. It has a great atmosphere, comfortable, convivial and very very well equipped. We always cook for ourselves and the open plan kitchen means everyone can participate and the cook is not shut out in another room. It's a great kitchen to work in loads of worktop, huge American fridge and freezer/icemaker, sophisticated coffee machine, large wine fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher and induction hob; all top quality and 'as new'. There is also a very efficient laundry room and a ski boot room with quick boot driers. The 'wellness terrace with sauna looking out over the valley and 8-person hot tub under the stars make for lots of fun as well as curing those walking or skiing aches and twists.

All this and I haven't mentioned the little old chalets and flowery hay meadows and the clonking cow bells.

You won't find a better place with excellent access to all of The Four Valleys ski runs, including Verbier, for the wintertime and charming, delightful summer walks on the high alps.

Enough? But we think it's great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view from the vast lounge windows.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita60195...
East Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Chalet La Vache is a lovely chalet in a stunning location, with views that take your breath away. It is possible to relax on any of the terraces or in the hot tub or sauna and just stare at the scenery for hours. This is not only a ski location but there are loads of things to do in the summer/autumn months. It is possible to walk up into the town which is well served with bars, coffee shops and restaurants as well as the start for the cable car, well worth a trip. Sion market on a Friday morning is a must and the golf course at Crans-sur-Sierre is stunning. The owner is usually on hand to advise and has provided lots of useful literature about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stavrosdu...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet in a great location”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hard to believe, but the views are even more spectacular in the flesh than in the pictures. The chalet has everything needed, including a well equipped kitchen, plus indoor and outdoor dining tables and chairs. The fixtures and fittings are all of a high standard, and the decor tasteful, with some nice cow themed twists. Huge windows in the living area, plus french windows in the downstairs bedrooms make the most of the stunning views. The Chalet was very clean and well maintained.

Outside the chalet, there are plenty of activities on offer year round. We did some lovely walks, took the chair lifts and cable cars up on to the tops, and did some cycling. The town is within walking distance, as are a number of lovely bisse walks. We also loved kicking back at the end of the day and relaxing in the hot tub, which is positioned to make the most of the views, and has outdoor speakers, so you can listen to a bit of music too - heaven.

We would love to come back again, either in the summer again, or perhaps in the winter, which I'm sure would be equally fantastic.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippersa...
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Chalet la Vache in summertime is brilliant!”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This property is equally brilliant as a summertime venue as a winter one. The sunny terraces and amazing views compliment the versatile public spaces in the chalet.. We used the hot-tub both early in the morning and late in the evening - this was great fun.
Facilities in the chalet are to a high standard; decoration is immaculate and the Vache theme is amusing.
Chalet la Vache is an ideal base for exploring Nendaz and the surrounding area. We undertook several "Bisse Walks" - ideal for medium level walkers - as well as using the open chairlifts when possible. The trip to the top of Mont Fort was sensational! We particularly liked Sion market and a stroll around the Old Town. The local Cow Culture is well worth investigating.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chalet la Vache and hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$349
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing