We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
21
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
21
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner my wife comfortable bed pizza excellent food hill dinner corridor friends space baviaanskloof chips portions sauce order screen steakhouse
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The look of the hotel is pretty cool - a lot of the décor is from the 1930s but the things you'd want to be new are new, such as the bedding and towels. It's fairly close to the Baviaans and the wifi is fast.
However there is some room for improvement with the hospitality skills. When we arrived no one was around and when we were shown our room but it felt quite rushed - the hosts didn't introduce themselves or seem very interested in talking to us. It would have been nice to have been shown where the restaurant, bar and car park were. We never once saw anyone on reception. The staff were friendly but could have been better trained, for example no one could tell us much about the Baviaans and the waitress got our food order wrong. The food was ok but maybe a little expensive for what you get.
It was also a bit weird when the host hunted us down and handed us the bill at around 10pm asking 'cash or card' rather than waiting until the morning. Maybe because it was a public holiday the next day she was trying to avoid coming into work!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2015

I stayed at Ripple Hill a few years ago and had lunch here with friends. The hotel has been wonderfully restored and the restaurant has really good food and always offers specials. For those driving or biking through the Baviaanskloof the Ripple Hill is always a good stop for a cold one! Groete van die Baviaanskloof John and family from the Baviaanskloof Hartland!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaviaansNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

After driving from Durban to Patensie we arrived after dark to a very welcome stay at Ripple Hill. Very comfortable accommodation, great atmosphere in the pub and a delicious meal in the dining room. Many thanks to all at Ripple Hill - we will certainly be back when next we are in the area.

Room Tip: A good start to a drive through Baviaanskloof
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaveBrendaOldacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for the review and 4-star rating!
Glad that you enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Wonderful stay, highly recommended. Old world charm accomodation and brilliant food and prices. The hotel has been refurbished while keeping the old style feel about it. Even the original yellowood floors are still there.We will be back.

Room Tip: ask for an en suite room
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 696barryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

We stayed here prior to driving through Baviaanskloof. We wanted a b/b that also served dinner. Having checked the tip about requesting a room with en suite, we found Ripple Hill Hotel good value for money. We recommend you arrive at the time you gave when you booked, otherwise it may be advisable to contact the hotel if your arrival time is likely to be earlier or later so that someone is available to check you in. The bedroom was old-fashioned but clean, the shower room was fine. We were able to park at the back of the hotel which, although not gated, felt secure. The dinner menu was varied and very reasonably priced; we chose spare ribs which came promptly and were tasty. We were asked to choose our breakfast menu that evening and say what time we wanted it. Arriving in the dining room at the time we had given, breakfast service was very prompt. We were asked to settle our bill that evening as apparently there wouldn't be anyone available in the morning to take payment. There was a mistake in the bill which didn't reflect the deposit paid, but this was rectified pleasantly. All in all, good value if unexciting but fine for a 1-night stay. Would recommend the restaurant to anyone staying at a venue where dinner is not available.

Room Tip: Room 12 has direct access to the rear garden and parking area; it has an en suite shower room.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

We appreciate your comments, Jill, thank you!
We now have more en-suite rooms available with brand new and modern shower rooms.
Still good value for money.
Kindest,
Ripple Hill Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews