We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
144
102
37
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
102
37
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews children's pool hotel with great location breakfast and dinner beach bar main building kids club rooms were cleaned every day fruit tea perfect sea view gluten free food mini disco clean and modern hotel both bedrooms wardrobe space sun beds on beach half board large hotel
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We booked with Jet2 an economy room with sea view. Initially disappointed with our room as it was in the 'Pavilion' ie not part of the main big modern hotel. It was on Level 2 (ground level) and the sea view was obscured by trees. Management said they would try to change our room 2 days later when more rooms would be available. HOWEVER - we stayed put, as the room was just so close to the promenade, beach, pool, restaurants. Great room! Clean, well-serviced, loads of storage space.
We only booked for B&B, breakfasts were good. We only ate in the dining room once and were very disappointed with the quality of food and the ambience, plus it was very expensive. Happy Hour every night at the bar overlooking the beach, and some really great entertainment.
There are plenty of lovely restaurants only a 5 minute walk away, plus 2 more hotel eateries nearby. Our favourite was 2 Monkeys and another Croatian restaurant.
Lovely walks in both directions along the promenade and access to some other local beaches. Sun beds on beach and pool were plentiful, towels supplied for both and could change them every day. 2 swimming pools (one for children) spotlessly clean and occasional complimentary fruit on ice.Sea was beautiful, clear, calm and safe. Very clean pebble beach but that was good as no sand to wipe off.
Loads to do in the local area too, good bus service to Makarska, and took a boat trip to Hvar and Brac, plus booked an excursion from the hotel to Dubrovnik. Rented a car for one day to drive up the mountain Biokovo - well worth a trip, though scarey drive!
All round an excellent holiday, and particularly pleased with Podgora as a destination. Local people, hotel staff all very friendly and everyone speaks English. Would recommend highly! Thanks to all the friendly staff who made our holiday complete!

Room tip: Very happy with room (ground level. Weren't constantly having to go up and down in the lifts (except at breakfast).
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 844Dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Spent 10 days in the hotel and were very pleased with our choice, especially as we had the opportunity to upgrade to Half Board for £1 per night from Jet2 Holidays.
Quite a large hotel that was previously 2 separate ones before being upgraded, so 2 main large buildings with several other smaller ones. The reception is on floor 10, with lots of marble and never looks busy. Rooms on floors 10 and above are accused by one set of lifts that are not very busy, whilst floors 9 and lower use a different set that are always busy as these are the floors with access to the restaurant, bars, pools and to the beach.
We had an excellent room on floor 12 which was large, very clean, had wifi, TV (but no BBC) and air conditioning. We actually had 2 balconies but limited sea view.
The food was self service in the restaurants and there was plenty of choice, but could be busy with some queues at peak times, one minor issue was getting served drinks in the evening as they had to be brought from what seemed a long way away!
Main pool and children's pool that were never busy, no problem getting beds or umbrellas. Similarly the hotels beach section always had beds available.
The hotel is at the southern end of the small town at the end of a pedestrian boulevard, which has plenty of bars and restaurants most of them showing football when on.
Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, did one trip up to the national park in the mountains as we didn't fancy the longish coach trips to Split or Dubrovnik.
We dropped off and collected at other hotel from and to the airport and we think we stayed in one of the better ones.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank frankc858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Medora Auri for three nights while on a group tour of Croatia. We stayed in a clean, good sized room with balcony and a pleasant view to the sea through pine trees. The compact bathroom had an efficient good sized step in shower. A kettle with some tea and coffee was provided. We stayed in block, next to the esplanade which was a fair distance from the main hotel block. As the restaurant was on the eighth floor and the reception was on the tenth, some of our group stated that they would have preferred a room in the main building. We preferred the arrangement as we could easily walk into the village. Overall the food quality and service in the dining room was good but as in most large hotels this one suffered from the sheer number of guests trying to get food around the same time at dinner. As we couldn’t find a table in the main dining room downstairs on our last night we ended up eating in a dreary room upstairs. Breakfast on the whole was very good but for some unexplained reason on Sunday morning the waiting staff seemed to dis-appear making it very hard to get a cup of coffee. We used the main pool during our stay where there were plenty of beds and a decent little pool bar. This was September, so I can’t speak for July or August. There is a beach in front of the hotel with beds and beach brollies but this is not part of the resort. So as a rule we steer clear of resorts but this one seemed a good option. It was a pity about the dinner time experience though.

Room tip: You may have to choose whether you stay in the main hotel block or in one of the blocks within the hotel grounds.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 33JohnMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

A very nice hotel right on the beach of Podgora. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, way above average. The breakfast and dinner at the hotel is great! All you can ask for!

Podgora is a little pretty village, nice restaurants and bars, quiet and calm in september.

I would gladly book another holiday at the same hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ba4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Hotel is great, location right on the beach. Only had breakfasts which were plentiful everything you could want, including Brussels!!!!!! Lovely pool area. Beach is very nice, need beach shoes as it’s stones but once you’re in the water it is amazing, crystal clear water, no waves, you do pay for sun beds but it’s about £12 for 2. Resort is lovely very laid back lots of restaurants by the beach.If you’re looking for Sunday roast and sports bars it’s not for you. Croatia is beautiful and we will be back.

Room tip: Sea view just for the sunsets
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews