We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly magical, the pictures don't do it justice!”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
worm2016
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly magical, the pictures don't do it justice!”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic surprise 50th birthday at Hagg Hill Hall.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner Lord Humphery who gave us a tour of the property and honestly the pictures don't do it justice. We were concerned that having the owner on site would inhibit our stay but we couldn't have been more wrong as we were encouraged to enjoy the property to its full. Mel would do his pool checks daily and stop and have a chat but never bothered us during our stay, he said we were too quite!

Everything you need is there, we took cleaning products etc but didn't need them as they were provided. there is an endless supply of towels in the pool room. Wine and water in every bedroom. You can do an on-line shop and have it delivered.

We enjoyed a meal at The New Inn and the carvery at The Blue Bell was exceptional. A great time was had by all and we all agreed we would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DansunN
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Magical place. Just had one of the best weekends ever at Hagg Hill Hall. It sleeps loads of people, is perfect for parties and would suit big family get togethers. We got back this morning and are booking for next year immediately. Fantastic rental house! Thanks Mel, you're a legend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magma58
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful property with a warm welcome”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked Hagg Hill Hall for a 'Big Birthday' for ourselves and family, partners and grandchild, and what a good choice. All bedrooms were wonderfully decorated, most with en suites, and showers which were a dream. There was sufficient space for us all to have privacy when needed, while the main rooms big enough for us all to sit and socialise. A huge fireplace in the living room, along with a large heap of logs meant we could all relax in front of a blazing fire in the evenings. The aga was a boon, as were the pool and hot tub. All in all a great place for a get away.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyCarr...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't rate this place highly enough!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at Hagg Hill for a long weekend to celebrate my hen party. The house is incredible - a surprise in every room; especially the dining room. We were made to feel so welcome for our whole stay and didn't feel under any pressure being in such a great house. Mel was a fantastic host, bringing us wine and a beautiful bunch of roses at the end of our stay. I would certainly recommend this place to any large group - friends or family. I hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining room!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jellycat3...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing property, friendly owner & fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I visited Hagg Hill Hall with a large group of friends, for a hen weekend. I had read previous reviews, but was still blown away by just how gorgeous this historic property was! The owner, Mel was extremely welcoming and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived (he kept us laughing too). On showing us around, we were amazed by the sheer volume of antiques and character oozing from every corner, nook & cranny of the property.... I have to say, I was a little concerned that we'd be restricted with our planned activities, but this couldn't be further from the truth, as Mel set minimal ground rules for our stay.
Although old and a few creaky floor boards, a leaky bath and a slight mishap with the door (oops), the house was perfect. The dining room is a 'must see' and the hot tub and pool must be tried out! Most rooms had four poster beds and some of the larger rooms had large free standing baths too. There were 11 of us and we had loads of space! We are looking for an excuse to return! Thank you Mel (and dogs) :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub & welcoming owner. Amazing house!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing