We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a snarl”
Review of Le Glacier

Le Glacier
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Food is acceptable and sort of up to standard for a plat du jour...but the service, oh my god. I've had more pleasant welcomes from police officers on dawn raids, and I'm sure the waitress has had charm lessons from the local prison guards.

Really, it's 2018. You just can't expect to be able to dish out this type of useless, slow, unpleasant, sneering service and stay in business too long. But as the only restaurant open in the whole town of Contamines when we visited, it's probably going to stay this bad for a while.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank tomw_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We visited as a party of 9 and I have to say the food was very good. However the waitress was not very friendly, was very brusque, dropped a huge wheel of cheese on our friend’s wrist, without even so much as a reduction on her bill or an apology.
Wouldn’t go back there in a hurry despite the food being lovely

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank Sarahbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Massively disappointing experience at Le Glacier. Waitress was rude, dropped a huge raclette cheese on my wrist without showing any concern for injury caused or even apologising, no eye contact, ignored us for most of the evening, told us we were unable to take remaining raclette away despite us having paid for the cheese. Huge shame as food was actually OK but evening was spoilt by the service or total lack of it.

Date of visit: February 2018
3  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Glacier bar and Restaurant is a really nice place to have a drink and have a wholesome meal.

Always a friendly welcome from Fabienne and the food is always well cooked and tasty.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickpowellscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

If your looking for posh nosh this is not the place for you. This place serves good hearty home cooked food! The meal was very reasonable, wine good value and home made patisserie desserts were delicious!
Nice service, not rushed and very friendly! We loved it! The smiling chef kept popping out of kitchen to check on things!
We will be back!

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Glacier also viewed

Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
Les Contamines-Montjoie, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing