We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal cottage for visiting Dover.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fairlight

Welcome to Fairlight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Fairlight
Outside the front of Fairlight The walking area between us and the White Cliffs from the rear of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Welcome to Fairlight
Outside the front of Fairlight
The walking area between us and the White Cliffs from the rear of the property
Our cosy sitting room is ideal for an evening in by the fire
Seating to chat!!
Have a lovely meal and sit round the dining table
Have breakfast round the kitchen table
Prepare a meal in our newly refitted kitchen
Relax in a bath or shower
..or just enjoy the spacious bathroom...
Relax in a large double bedroom, with wash basin
..or make up at the dressing table...
The twin bedroom
Enjoy your dinner by the dining room fire...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MrsB009
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal cottage for visiting Dover.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I wanted a base for visiting Dover castle and surrounding area with our two children (11 and 13 ). Fairlight provided this for us and we were delighted to find a very well equipped, clean and well presented cottage. It was nice to be in a quiet village away from the busy town. There was even a fantastic pub within walking distance which had excellent food! Even had the all important wifi for the kids!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LazSzek
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
“three weeks stay at St Margaret's Bay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The house is great size and nicely decorated. The floor is wooden so you can hear every steps you take even on tiptoe. Unfortunately the bathroom and kitchen was not clean enough and a chip of glass stuck in my wife's foot at first time she walked into the kitchen. The spring of the double bed was sticking out so it was not very comfy. We have been told that the front garden was ours but actually it was shared so the owner kept collecting deliveries from our door. The WI-FI was on end off but mostly off when needed. When I told the owner she said theirs didn't work either. The biggest issue was that there was no reception in the house or even in the garden so as we stayed for 3 weeks we missed a few important calls. It would have been nice to know about signal issues beforehand.
On the other hand the area is very nice, short walk to the bay which is beautiful. The price is also very reasonable.It was nice that the owner allowed my dog to stay as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: no mobilephone signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review. We spoke with you on many occasions and you never mentioned any issues, intact you stated how happy you were and you wished to stay a further week. If there had been an issue, I would have happily solved it for you.
The front garden is exclusively for your use, but the pits,an does need to deliver.
I will check the mattress as you are the first to mention it. People who have stayed since you have not mentioned it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine (Brisbane)
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adel S
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely self catering apartment”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Fairlight and was really happy with the accommodation provided. The house is well equipped, clean and have everything you need for your stay. The owner made us feel very welcome and loved the little touches like the bottle of wine and biscuits she left for us. We found that is ideally situated to visit Dover and surrounding areas. The house is warm, cozy and a decent size too especially if you have young children that can run around. Excellent value for money! We will definitely be returning in the new year. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice size, clean and excellent value for money
Liked least: Parking on street as house down pathway (difficult with luggage and no street lightning)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: to go, next time we shall stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing