We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mjejane River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$149
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$57
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate(Skukuza)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$330
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casterbridge Hollow(White River)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
98
87
24
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
87
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame driveskruger parkgame reservebush experiencebuffet styleprivate reservecrocodile bridgesouthern africagreat safaria lovely stayeasy accessafternoon driveexcellent rangerssense of humourafrican safariherd of elephantsbush buck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We had a wonderful stay with amazing game drives and 42 elephants spending time just on the other side of the river. Highly recommended. Mjejane Reserve by itself is already quite nice and you will be able to see the animals close up with few people around. Staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fennao2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear fennao2018 -
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Mjejane River Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and especially your game drive experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We booked this holiday with a well known travel company. The lodge is situated about an hours drive from Kruger Airport, so the transfer was part of the package. The room was situated at the end a path that ran parallel with the river, the path was well lit at night. The room had 2 fair sized single beds, a large wardrobe fitted with a safe, dressing table with an underbuilt fridge. No TV or phone, but as these rooms were a fairly new addition these facilities are being added in the future. We were spoilt for showers, 1 outside, 1 inside and one over the bath with plenty of hot water. There are large sliding doors that lead to a fenced off private patio deck, this overlooks the river and we were treated to a herd of Elephants munching there way past between us and the river, about 20 feet away. Simply marvellous. There is a central area which includes a generous bar and the restaurant . The food serving is of the buffet style and you help yourself, so the size of the serving is down to you. the style of cooking is mainly of the English style. The lodge is situated within a gated area and they have their own on site Wart Hogs and Bush Bucks. We had numerous morning and afternoon game drives and saw many Elephants, Lion, Giraffe, Zebra and numerous birds, too numerous to mention. Staff are very friendly and helpful and eventually call you by your name. An excellent place and environment.

Room Tip: Wouldn't like to say. I believe the suites are much the same, some are nearer to the central lodge than others.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Barry B -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Mjejane River Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate you sharing so much detail for the benefit of future travellers - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I only eat halal food. Staff here went above and beyond to ensure we had enough options to eat that were vegetarian or fish based. Always friendly. Game driver justice was fantastic. Only thing letting it down was afternoon tea was a bit sorry looking. Minus that would reccomend

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nadia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear nadia h -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you. Thank you also for your constructive comments on the areas where you feel we can still improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We travelled with SAGA and had a truly wonderful holiday, the lodges are very spacious and comfortable, clean with good bed linen, plenty of hot water and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The Saga rep Phindile Zitha was delightful, she could not have been more helpful and did all she could to make sure that we have a good time - she also has a smile that lights up the room. Food was all good with plenty or choice, on two evenings we enjoyed a braai (barbecue). There was some fantastic entertainment, with singing, drumming and dancing from a local group

Our lodge (number 11) had a patio area in front and from there you could look out across the Crocodile river and elephants and giraffes would come down to drink.

The highlight of the holiday was the game drives, December was our guide and he was a skilful and knowledgeable guide, patient and considerate with such a good sense of humour. December was able to find animals and we saw lions mating, baboons with babies, leopards, giraffe, rhino, hippos, elephants, impalas, kudu, zebra, cheetah and lots of amazing birds. At the end of the day we enjoyed the sundowner drinks by the side of the lake or river.

We have some amazing memories of a lovely holiday.

Thank you to all the lovely staff at Mjejane River Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 11 - good views across the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneSocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear JaneSocial -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stay like honey mooners, we had the suite, fantastic, very clean, spacious, elegant, and with fantastic view on river from window and balcony e during the day we can see a lot of wild animals go to drink on river. The staff is very kindly and professional, food is good and game drive are fantastic... We saw 5 on 5 of big five!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Federico M -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that you had such excellent game drives. We hope you will visit again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews