We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mjejane River Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
98
87
24
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
87
24
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame driveskruger parkgame reservebush experiencebuffet styleprivate reservecrocodile bridgesouthern africagreat safaria lovely stayeasy accessafternoon driveexcellent rangerssense of humourafrican safariherd of elephantsbush buck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I only eat halal food. Staff here went above and beyond to ensure we had enough options to eat that were vegetarian or fish based. Always friendly. Game driver justice was fantastic. Only thing letting it down was afternoon tea was a bit sorry looking. Minus that would reccomend

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nadia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear nadia h -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you. Thank you also for your constructive comments on the areas where you feel we can still improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We travelled with SAGA and had a truly wonderful holiday, the lodges are very spacious and comfortable, clean with good bed linen, plenty of hot water and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The Saga rep Phindile Zitha was delightful, she could not have been more helpful and did all she could to make sure that we have a good time - she also has a smile that lights up the room. Food was all good with plenty or choice, on two evenings we enjoyed a braai (barbecue). There was some fantastic entertainment, with singing, drumming and dancing from a local group

Our lodge (number 11) had a patio area in front and from there you could look out across the Crocodile river and elephants and giraffes would come down to drink.

The highlight of the holiday was the game drives, December was our guide and he was a skilful and knowledgeable guide, patient and considerate with such a good sense of humour. December was able to find animals and we saw lions mating, baboons with babies, leopards, giraffe, rhino, hippos, elephants, impalas, kudu, zebra, cheetah and lots of amazing birds. At the end of the day we enjoyed the sundowner drinks by the side of the lake or river.

We have some amazing memories of a lovely holiday.

Thank you to all the lovely staff at Mjejane River Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 11 - good views across the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaneSocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear JaneSocial -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stay like honey mooners, we had the suite, fantastic, very clean, spacious, elegant, and with fantastic view on river from window and balcony e during the day we can see a lot of wild animals go to drink on river. The staff is very kindly and professional, food is good and game drive are fantastic... We saw 5 on 5 of big five!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Federico M -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane River Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that you had such excellent game drives. We hope you will visit again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We recently had a week at the Mjejane River Lodge with Saga and it was more than we could have ever asked for.... The venue is delightful, the views spectacular, the staff friendly and efficient, the food delicious and plentiful and, well, the game drives, they were FANTASTIC. We were lucky enough to have the expertise, knowledge, sense of humour and the total commitment of the wonderful William who was superb. To make the most of this holiday you need to be prepared to be up at 5am for the morning game drives, but if you don't, trust me, you will be missing out! We saw nearly all the animals (Leopard and Cheetah stayed hidden) and much to my husband's delight over 100 species of birds. The evening drives and sun-downers were brilliant and the last night entertainment an entirely enjoyable surprise. Such fun, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms have views over the river but you don't spend much time in the rooms and the grounds are beautiful.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear squirrelcorner -
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Mjejane River Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Mjejane, and in particular the game drives. Most of all, we're very happy to know that you are already planning to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We had a really wonderful holiday at Mjejane the spectacular view which changed every time you looked at it with different animals appearing to drink. Highlight of the animals was the Elephant herd of about 20 which came down to drink and play in the river. The rooms where lovely and very in keeping with the setting. The staff couldn't do enough for you and where so caring and helpful at all times. The food was always freshly laid out just as the doors opened for any meal resulting in really freshly cooked tasty meals. The two evenings when the chefs cooked out on the Brie and we all ate outside were magical and the food amazing. The game drives were spectacular and we were able to book extra drives for not a lot of money. We had William as our Safari guide he was amazingly knowledgeable and knew all the animals and also where to find them. My husband is very keen on birds and William was able to tell him what the bird was either by sight or sound. Phindille our Saga rep was always available and very approachable with a smile on her face to help with any questions we may have had. The final nights entertainment was super I will say no more to keep the surprise but do not miss it! Thank you to all the staff at Mjejane for making this trip so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace facing the river
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mjejane River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear MargaretJane10 -
Thank you for sharing your Mjejane experience - we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and that the Mjejane team took such good care of you. We hope you will visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews