We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
246
67
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
67
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river tackle shop trout new zealand mature trees gardens are beautiful garden suite bedroom unit place to stay stayed longer we've stayed large bathroom self catering short drive full kitchen quiet location alpine crossing
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Absolutely perfect. Karen was extremely helpful with advice on the nearby river trail, as well as making arrangements for Tongariro Crossing transportation. We loved the variety of plants in the beautiful grounds, which we could appreciate from the front porch. The interior was extremely spacious, with a living room, kitchen, comfortable bedroom looking out on the shrubbery, and large bathroom. The adjoining cafe was friendly and perfect for breakfast. While we weren't fishing, we enjoyed the fisherman’s lodge feeling and friendliness of the guests and host. We wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tealquail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

we made our way to this quiet spot for an evening rest. wish we would have made it a little earlier in the day as it looked like a great area to unwind and just enjoy the outdoors . Maybe next time if we get back. Cottage was spacious, loved the heated towel rack in the bathroom . Bed was comfy and enough space for all of us. Reception lady was very helpful in the morning at checkout when we needed a phone . Thank You!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Creel Lodge was comfortable, clean and well laid out. it's perfect for an ovenight stay after a lot of driving or to stay for two weeks while you enjoy all Lake Taupo has to offer. It really is tremendous value for money and it's on my list for another visit.

Room Tip: They are all good from what we could see.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Modern, very clean cabins, beautiful peacefull gardens, good location. This was are number 1 accommodation for my wife and I during a 10-day trip to NZ. This isn't just a destination for trout anglers; it is fantastic for other travellers too.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peteward59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The Creel Lodge is by far the best value stay we had during our entire 3 week stay in NZ. As with all New Zealanders the host were very friendly and accommodating. What makes this place so special is that you have your own private cottage with living area and full kitchen. In addition, we had a very clean gas BBQ right outside our area that was being shared with our next door neighbor. Grocery store a mile away so steaks on the barbie was not a problem. Stayed here two nights but could have stayed longer without a problem. Highly recommend this place as the only place to stay while visiting the Turangi area. While staying here don't miss the Tongariro crossing.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vdeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews