We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motutere Bay TOP 10 Holiday Park(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motuoapa Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Oreti Village(Turangi)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
117
85
15
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
85
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnice deckone night staythe ownerlovely ladygrocery storethe riveren routenice staycomfortable bedtongariro national parkbbq areathe main roadgreat place to stayfree wifinew zealanddonna
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Very well kept and clean motel just off the highway were one night turned to three because of how nice it was.

Close location to the center and the adventure-center we were using for crossing the alpine areas and white water rafting.

Only con is that the free internet is limited - and many might use more than allotted. Especially if watching videos online. But the character and service weighed in a lot more than that.

We loved it and will book it again if we are in the area!

Room Tip: Some cabins have the highway on the backside that you can hear faintly. The other row of cabins is facing a calmer area.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roquen_Toron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for your time to review us, your feedback is appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was lovey having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Good reasonably priced self contained motel accomodation--nice friendly staff--good parking area
Good place to stay if you are going to the Tongariro National Park, good trout fishing around this area ofTurangi

Stayed: September 2017
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for your time to review us, your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Clean and tidy, larger than some motels. Decoration of Motel was dated, but was not yet in need of re-decoration. Operator was welcoming, friendly and very helpful, recommending Turangi Tavern for dinner which was a very good place to go.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yvonnemY25KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your time to review Settlers Motel, Turangi, it is much appreciated. I am happy to recommend places to eat from other guest feedback, so am pleased you enjoyed. Thanks for your comment on decoration, I am in the process of re-painting the units in lighter colours and it was a pleasure to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We only stayed one night but this was a great choice. It’s a bit old but clean and can sleep six. The woman who checked us in was so nice! She spent about 15 minutes helping us plan our next day’s hike and showing us a place to get dinner. Then she walked us over to our villa and showed us around. I’d definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you for your time to review us, my apologies for not responding earlier. At Settlers we feel it is important to take time with our guests to make you feel at home and relaxed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

We stayed here for two nights in late Sept for our ski trip to the Whakapapa Ski Area. We arrived quite late and the owner, Donna was at the reception and asked us about our plan. She suggested that we rented our ski gear at the rental in Turangi rather than in Whakapapa itself, which is a great idea as there were no long queue there.

The room looks outdated but clean and comfortable and has all the amenities. It's within walking distance to stores, restaurant and although located by the main road, there was minimal noise. I really love the view and the grounds of the motel. All in all it was very cosy and Donna made me felt welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diraanuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaV_24, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews