We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa with amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of villa don ricardo

garrden day bed by pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garrden day bed by pool
main patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
garrden day bed by pool
main patio
main house first entry
walk way to  garden
main porch
main kitchen
sitting room main house
main sitting room
main dining room
book room
book room main house
main bedroom main house
master bedroom main house
2nd bedroom main house
3rd bedroom
path between houses
little house
little house bedroom with water bed
little house sitting room
little house balcony
little house kitchen 1
little house kitchen
entry to lower bedroom
stairway up to little house
parking
lower bedroom shower room
lower bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Torrox, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helen64E
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa with amazing views”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful family week at Villa Don Ricardo 7 of us ages 17-55. The pool was amazing, the teenage boys (& grown up boys) had loads of fun inventing games with the inflatables & a football whilst the girls relaxed on the loungers. The villa had everything we needed & more, the waterbeds were fantastic & really comfortable.
We had several days on the beach in Nerja which is a short drive down the hill & were impressed with the water sports which were reasonably priced.
We ate out most nights mainly in Competa which is not far away. We loved La Taberna de Oscar & Taberna Hierbabuena. We usually went for Ice cream after at La Gelateria which has the best ice cream outside of Italy!!
The waterpark in Torre del Mar was a good day out & not to tame for the teenagers!
We also walked up the river Chillar in Nerja which was amazing as most of the walk you are actually walking in the river, if you are doing this you need water shoes or old trainers.
2 of our party went riding at the stables just down the hill which they said was great.
There is an English run bar/restaurant within walking distance which served us a tasty lunch when we arrived tired from our flight.
Jane was very welcoming and helpful and allowed us to check in early & check out late which really made the most of our time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you for your rather pleasing comments! in particular thank you for noting the local businesses - this is always helpful for other peeps and of course appreciated by the owners of such companies - it was a treat to have your family here x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy141
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing villa in a spectacular location with the most amazing views over the valley. We'll definitely be back!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wow what a wonderful Villa in an incredibly peaceful and beautiful location. This villa provides the peace and tranquillity, whilst having the amazing pool and outdoor facilities for some great family fun.

We went as a family of 8 people covering 3 generations from age 5 years to 60 years and the layout of the villa with the separate smaller house separated by the fabulous pool was perfect. We were even joined for a few days by 3 more members of the family and with the lower annexe room, which we hadn't needed to use previously, there was plenty of space to accommodate the extra guests.

Every bedroom has it's own bathroom with baths and showers (the lower annexe bedroom has shower only). The Master bedroom in the main house has air conditioning and there were plenty of fans available for the other bedrooms. Even though temperatures hit 40 degrees, we were all able to sleep comfortably.

The views from the villa are truly magnificent and for any 'bird' lovers, the daily visit overhead from a family of 6 eagles was superb. The poolside day bed provided the most relaxing and comfortable space to lounge and watch family fun in the pool and also to enjoy the beautifully bright starlit skies at night.

The owner Jane, went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed for a great holiday. We were due to arrive on a Sunday and Jane contacted us in advance, to let us know that the main supermarkets would be closed. Consequently, Jane offered to do some shopping for us so that we had the essential provisions on arrival - that's what I call great service!

We were encouraged by Jane, to help ourselves to the numerous fresh herbs, lemons, tomatoes and strawberries etc. which were growing around the garden and Yum - they tasted delicious!

Competa is only a short drive from the Villa and has a couple of traditional Spanish supermarkets and some lovely views to enjoy along the route.. It takes about 20 mins to drive into the coastal town of Torrox and slightly further along the coast is Nerja. There are some great beaches along this coastline and lots of fabulous restaurants. However, we struggled to tear ourselves away from the great Villa and pool and limited our beach trips to just a couple in the 2 weeks we were there.

The 'younger' members of the family also took a trip to the water park which is only about 20 minutes away from the Villa and they were very impressed with the facilities and the way the waterpark was managed..

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Villa don ricardo and would love to return. I'm normally ready to go home after a 2 week holiday but could easily have stayed for at least another week in this beautiful villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Wendy thank you! You were an excellent family,the ideal guests, a pleasure to meet and be around - do so hope i will see you again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastric villa!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our two families had a fantastic time at this villa located 15mins into the mountains. The kids loved the pool and the villa and location are perfect for a relaxing holiday. Jane was brilliant with us, most helpful and a great knowledge source about all things and will help you have a most enjoyable holiday. We chose the villa (away from the coast) because of the two houses for our two families and we wanted plenty of space and tranquility and this is exactly what we got - seeing the sun rise over the mountains in the morning on the rear balcony is stunning. There is a great bar/restaurant 60secs away which we went spent a good few nights but also had great evenings barbequing by the pool. As the villa is 20mins from the beach this did restrict us slightly from going as much as we might have normally but everything else about the villa was just great. We would definitely recommend the villa. Thanks very much Jane for a great holiday!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
thank you x were such smashing guests, fun, funny and considerate too, loved having you here, do hope to see you again
j
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisandD...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great Villa”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We (two families - a group of 9) recently stayed at Villa Ricardo for two weeks and we all loved it. The layout of the two villas is either side of the fantastic pool and shared eating areas...we loved this and had many a great BBQ.

The location of the villa(s) is stunning with views of the mountains all round. Due to the remoteness you will need a car to get around and visit all the local sights. The local bar Pavo Real is only a 60 second walk and is a good night out, especially Wednesdays live music night...the owner Paul makes some of the best apple pies I have tasted.

Jane the owner was really helpful throughout our stay and even provided fresh local fruit and a taster of Gazpacho, the latter was a fantastically refreshing alternate lunch.

Only real downside is also the villas main strength....its remoteness. Torrox the nearest main town and resort in a 25 minute drive down some great mountain roads. Competa is lovely and a traditional Spanish mountain village.

Would we return.....yes.

Thank you Jane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and villa layout....and Ricardo the gardener, a true Spanish gent.
Liked least: Spanish drivers!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
aren't you a sweetie thank you so much.
i am really pleased you enjoyed yourselves and would love to welcome you all back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review.
I am delighted you had a good holiday,
It would be a pleasure to welcome such lovely guests again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing