We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa and excellent hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
High quality villa with stunning mountain views Enjoy a late evening dip?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Dusk, the villa and pool lit up beautifully
High quality villa with stunning mountain views
Enjoy a late evening dip?
Starlit skies and twinkly villages in the mountains
A pool with a view, fancy a dip?
Sunbathe watching the ever changing mountian view
BBQ big enough for a party
A little romance perhaps....
Wake up to that view from your bed
Traditional with a little touch of the exotic
Ensuite bathroom with scented candles and bath salts
Egyptian cotton linen ensuring a good nights sleep
Calming and relaxing double ensuite room
Both double rooms have balconies
Ensuite wetroom, towls, soap and even pool towels provided
Twin beds with mountain craft 100% pure wool throws for extra comfort
Spacious wetroom style bathroom, great for the children
Sleep well in these cool comfy beds
Triple bedroom with mountain craft 100% wool throws
Our little Romeo and Juliet balcony
Spacious hall and landings in the centre of the villa
Finished your book? Borrow one of ours
All the olives are long eaten from this jar
Spacious open plan living area
Picture windows make the room feel as though you are outside when you are inside
High quality furnishings for your comfort
Oh clever camera man
Finding it difficult to watch the film?
Winter brings sunny days, snow capped mountains and cosy evenings with a log fire
The log fire makes the whole house cosy for a winter stay
Exotic hardwood dining table and chairs so you can dine in style.
The kitchen is well appointed and stocked with herbs and spices.
A welcome basket of wine, local cheese and bread awaits you
Avô our local village, with it's award winning river beach.
Portugal's only ski resort is simply 50 minutes away
Sit in the sun and enjoy the winter snow capped mountians
Breathtaking
Sunbathing and snow - yes it is possible here
Winter scenary can be magical
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Oliveira do Hospital, Coimbra District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Julie C
1 review
“Beautiful villa and excellent hosts.”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The pool and villa were excellent. The views and time spent at the villa were both great. Elizabeth and Stephen were the perfect hosts and always available if you needed them, however they also respected our privacy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Dear Lee and Julie,
thank you so much for a lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we very much look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimi P
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous misty mountains and gloriously warm fire”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited the Quinta da Madruga during some of the worst storms that Portugal had had in 20 years and despite the poor weather it was one of the whole family's favourite breaks. The hosts made sure that we had a very warm and comfortable stay in their beautiful Quinta. The region is stunning and still very traditional/unspoilt by tourism. Beautiful river valleys with swimming beaches dotted around, mountains for walking, and pretty villages for lunch (or longer) stops. Our only disappointment was that it was already booked for most of the summer so we couldn't come back. Definitely next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Dear Aimi,
thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you all, your children are amazing! Looking forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
2 reviews
“Amazing views, beautiful accommodation and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had the most amazing week staying in this beautiful villa. Elizabeth and Stephen were the perfect hosts giving us advice about where to visit and when there were local events on but also respecting our privacy. The area is stunningly beautiful and it was cheap with very few tourists. Our 2 children loved the house and the pool and we are already planning a trip back next year! Thank you both and we'll see you again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words but you know, it is easy to be a good host when you have such brilliant guests like you and your family. Thank you so much for staying with us and we very much look forward to seeing you in May 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cch7
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing setting, amazing hosts.”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A million dollar view! An incredible location and amazing house. The view at sunrise and sunset is something we will never forget. Stephen and Elizabeth are great hosts. I've been fortunate to travel to many places, but Quinta da Madrugada will always have a special place in our hearts. We are counting the days until we return. I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Hi Chris,
thank you for such kind words, you and Alex were great guests and we vey much look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetradar
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb house, magnificent setting”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house is wonderful, Elizabeth and Stephen are the perfect hosts and the area in which the house is situated is fabulous .
We explored extensively both on foot with a few good walks and by car and I will share some pictures, however some of the best moments were spent having superb chilled out breakfasts and evenings sat outside the house.
In the mornings we looked out to the most spectacular views whilst having fresh bread and local cheese and in the evenings with a glass and a BBQ watching the lights starting to twinkle, both down in the valley and high up in the mountains with Elizabeth's personal chestnut grill in full use which I borrowed and didn't seem to return until we left .. sorry !
The one wet afternoon we had was spent curled up by the fire reading a childhood favourite ( found in Elizabeth's book collection) The Nancy Drew Mystery stories.
A truly wonderful 10 days and my grateful thanks go to Elizabeth and Stephen for their friendship, true hospitality and generosity of sharing this house and overall for being there when we had questions and respecting our wish for solitude and space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing