We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally wonderful and unique”
other travellers have booked this property
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bedroom with kingsize bed. Views over looking the village green. Light and airy. The Kitchen - fully fitted with everything you need for cooking your own meals.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bedroom with kingsize bed. Views over looking the village green. Light and airy.
The Kitchen - fully fitted with everything you need for cooking your own meals.
Relax in front of the fire and enjoy a glass or two.
Dining - eat in comfort in the Forge surrounded by history.
Shower Room - with electric shower and plenty of thick towels.
Flempton Forge - Grade II listed 18c flint and brick forge
Tranquil Atmosphere - A lovely ambience for those romance evenings.
Original Stable Door - Share in the buildings history, original memorabilia around the walls.
Poppies in the garden - a theme carried on throughout the Forge.
Wisteria on front of Forge
Patio area. Teak steamers and parasol for the summer. BBQ for the summer evenings.
Secluded Patio and Garden
Flag Pole Cherry Tree in garden, beautiful in the spring.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Flempton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Wendy A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally wonderful and unique”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from three nights at The Forge, only wish we could have stayed longer! We found the property easily from the instructions given, and felt totally comfortable there. I cannot find any fault at all with The Forge and loved everything about our stay. We didn't use the kitchen to cook for ourselves, we ate out or got takeaway, but the kitchen was has adequate cooking facilities had we wanted to cook. Bury St Edmunds is only a ten minute car journey away so really easy to travel into for restaurants. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a break in the countryside somewhere cosy and with character and a little bit different. Will definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Hi Wendy, thank you so much for yr lovely review. I am so pleased you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay. You would be most welcome again. Kind regards Jules
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireneBC81
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and warm”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Although we experienced some problems with the boiler losing pressure (no hot water) and the extractor fan not switching of, we enjoyed our stay. It is a perfect place for a couple, warm and cosy and with a full equip kitchen, and the location is perfect to explore the beautiful colours of Autumn in Suffolk. We would love to come back some day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larraine...
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and quirky”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Interesting quirky accommodation. Very well equipped and handy to many different places of interest in East Anglia. Bed very comfortable. Shower box a wee bit small and it can be a bit dark in the lounge, but really liked the rustic feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: rustic feel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briyo
huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolute gem!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a two night weekend @ the Forge for my partners birthday, who I might add didn't stop smiling from the moment we arrived, safe to say, he loved the forge!

The Forge is an absolute gem, considerately converted & is a credit to it's owners. Everything you could need is available, even down to a hair dryer!

The Forge is perfect for a couples getaway, cosy, comfy & peaceful. Lovely patio/garden which was used to eat out, thankfully the good old british weather was kind to us.

We will most definitely return to the Forge but next time in winter so we can make full use of the fire which looks amazing in the center of the main room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely homely, cosyness of the Forge
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Hi, thank you so much for your great review. More importantly I am so pleased you had a lovely time. You are most welcome again anytime. Kind regards Jules
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markie08
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Week Stay at Flempton Forge”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My daughter and I stayed at The Forge and used it as a base to tour Suffolk. The Forge had all of the home comforts that one could want after a days visiting. Although The Forge is more suited to a couple, it was still roomy enough to accommodate a 'put me up'.
The only issue we had was on arrival trying to get our baggage in via the side access way to get to the rear entrance, with two cars already parked in that drive-way. That being said the front door can be opened internally. All in all a quaint and historic lodge and great get away. Would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great retreat!
Liked least: Apart from a pub very little else in the local vicinity.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing