We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hen weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 33
Hove, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fairo1956
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen weekend”
Reviewed 16 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great house for a Hen weekend. Plenty of room (27 of us!) Spotlessly clean, large rooms, lots of bedrooms with beach views. Everything we needed in the kitchen.
Would definitely recommend. First class!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your review - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your review - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your review - it was great to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CathStick...
Dwyran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect setting but sadly lacks attention to detail”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was an excellent house for a large group booking - we were a family group of 27, celebrating a 90th birthday, with 4 generations staying for a week. We had a good week and were very lucky with the weather. Plenty of space indoors and out, many bedrooms, adequately equipped kitchens, 2 large sitting rooms. The beach was two minutes stroll across the road and Brighton was a 20 minute walk or easy bus or taxi ride away. Although the road was extremely noisy and close, it was reasonably easy to ignore it when outside and the decking area was completely private from the road.

However, as the owner of a holiday cottage myself, the biggest gripe I had was that the house was not cleaned or maintained to the high standard I would expect - plenty of cobwebs and dust in corners; the hot tub very quickly became smelly despite being correctly used and addition of chemicals once in the week did nothing to alleviate this; there were two small dustbins for 27 people's rubbish and no mention in the information book about dustbin day (so we missed it and had to do a trip to the tip ourselves); one of the downstairs bedrooms not only had no en suite but no windows that opened either (and it was unclear why the window could not have been accessable), which meant it was really quite smelly and musty all week, despite wedging the door open during the day; there were only two tea towels provided; one of the 'double' bedrooms was so small, you had to crawl from the end to climb into bed, and should have been a single; the washer didn't work when we arrived and because of the weekend, was not mended for 4 days, by which time those that needed washing had had to go to the launderette; at least one of the shower soak aways was blocked meaning that showers had to be foreshortened to avoid flooding the bathroom; blinds didn't work; two of the rings on the hobs didn't work at all; non-fan ovens meant cooking took far longer and was temperamental; the lovely circular sun loungers on the deck had broken strapping and so were extremely uncomfortable; the wifi was unreliable and constantly dropping; the main televisions constantly lost signal (not enough aerials/reception for the number of televisions?) which, as it was the Olympics, was very annoying. All of these niggles could have been avoided with proper care to weekly maintenance and cleaning (indeed perhaps the owners are unaware that standards are so poor).

And finally, it's such a shame that the owners have not spent some of their profits on transforming the kitchens into one large kitchen with loads of work surface and everything in one place instead of the constant juggling between two kitchens and having to use hobs as working surface. In the redesign of the kitchen, the strange (and smelly) downstairs bathroom, off the playroom, could instead be relocated to be accessible from the hallway and the downstairs bedroom could also have its own en suite.

None of the above spoilt our holiday but did irritate. This could be an amazing property, with just a bit more attention to detail

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Standard of maintenance and cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
We are very sorry that you feel that The Beach House did not entirely meet with your expectations. We would have sent our housekeeping and maintenance team to the property, had we been informed that you were not happy with any aspect of our facilities
The only problem of which we were aware was that of the washing machine which, as you know had been accidentally overloaded . This was dealt with the next day .
We do have a 24 hour telephone line so that when problems are reported we can deal with them promptly.
However, we are very pleased that despite these minor issues , you do feel everyone enjoyed their stay in our lovely property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great House, Perfect for large gatherings & owner very accommodating.”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house was perfect for us, We rented it for the weekend of my partners 50th birthday party so it had to cater for all ages - grannies and toddlers. (And 50 year olds acting like teenagers again) We got caterers in and they had plenty of room to do an amazing paella/ tapas selection from the terrace- the dining and lounge rooms were large enough for everyone. There was also 2 kitchens with 3 fridges plenty of space for both food and drinks.
The rooms at the top of the house were a peaceful escape from the music and chatter on ground floor. The beds were really comfortable and all the rooms were clean and presented beautifully.
There was plenty of off-road parking.
A fantastic location, right on the beach & walking distance from Brighton.
Excellent communication from the owner - this property is thoroughly recommended!
Worth noting : the owner was extremely efficient & helpful when it came to returning deposit as we requested it to be returned to a different account and she went out of her way to accommodate us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that we could accommodate entire group in one house.
Liked least: That we had to go home at end of weekend.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing