We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 hour waiting and I got cold steak”

Cafe-Restaurant de Koning van Denemarken
Reserve with
Cafe-Restaurant de Koning van Denemarken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Rhenen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Altijd een warm welkom… Voel u welkom bij De Koning van Denemarken, in ons café restaurant wordt u ontvangen in een eigentijds en warm interieur. Al meer dan 20 jaar zijn wij een begrip in de regio, voor een borrel, diner, lunch, een diner met uw gezelschap of een vergadering. Gelegen in het centrum van het mooie plaatsje Rhenen aan de Rijn met haar mooie bezienswaardigheden en de gezellige terrassen.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

It was a nice restaurant with terrace, and I thought they have delicious food there. Then we made a reservation for 2 persons. We chose a table beside the window, and there is a table around the corner a family with 2 noisy children, very very very noisy. It was so annoying, and I thought it was a mistake to choose this table. Luckily they only asked for coffee. Then our drinks came. And the nice waitress also gave the menu. We chose very fast because we knew the menu from the internet just before we went. Then we waited waited waited waited.. And it was 1 hour waiting for our steak. It's not extraordinary menu for us, just ribeye. And, yes on 20.00 on time our steak came to our table, and they're cold. Cold steak..I was really disappointed with this. Come back to have our dinner in this place again? Absolutely not.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank olivia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Beautiful interior, however we ate outside on the backside. A little bit of street noise, but not bad. Fantastic service and the food is amazing! Nothing is bad off the menu.

Happy Eating!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NW2SWGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Apparently a century ago or so the king of Denmark ate here! It is very historical but also nice atmosphere and very quite. There is a sense of old ness but with style. We had the salmon, which was great. The service was good and quick, but they didn’t bother us!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DavidZadok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here with a party of four on a Sunday evening. We called ahead to make reservations which was nessiccary.

Even though busy it took very long before we were given an menu and had Orr drinks taken. 1.5 hour in we got some bread and our drinks. Our dishes were good though the medium ordered steak was a little on the raw side. Pasta with shrimp tasted allright but had little sauce which meant half the pasta was dry.

The couple at the table next to us came in after us had 3 courses where we had two and still finished an hour before us. Really felt overlooked we had to actively approach the staff multiple times to get more drinks or order food.

I was pregnant during our visit so I don't know if it were the shrimp but got very sick at night. Also you don't let a pregnant lady (8 months so very obviously visible) wait that long.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Willemijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Unplanned: At 1800 on a Saturday, we started looking for an ad-hoc place to have dinner for two in the Rhenen Area. The Koning van Denemarken had, maybe, a table at 20:00...But if we were quick, there was possibly still 1 table available immediately. We were there in 15min flat, smoking tyres...

The place was busy, but not full. Our "reservation" seemed lost, but there were still various tables-for-two available. Despite the tempting south facing terrace (which is a bit close to the main road) and the excellent weather, we choose to sit inside for a complete, and possibly slow, dinner.
The interior is nice, with warm and cosy (gezellig) atmosphere, lots of dark wood. Noise level is acceptable: You can have a relaxed conversation, even when the place is busy, without straining your voice or your ears.
Service was OK, reasonably quick and waiters are understanding. We opted for the 3-course menu and we found the food both Very Good and Abundant. Hence we took it very slowly, working through the sizeable portions.
After starter + main course we were quite full so after a proper pause, we asked for "fruit salad" or a similar dessert, because the menu seemed to contain mainly "sweet" items. The friendly waitress consulted the kitchen, and Yes, they could do that. We got two Excellent Fruit-salads, and again: Abundant Portions. Compliments!

All in all, we got Excellent service: That Saturday evening, the place was busy, possibly not quite full. And although some of the tables around us got "sold twice", we never felt any pressure or rush to finish our meal or liberate our table. We spent the rest of the evening, until well after midnight, sitting, drinking (mint tea, because: driving...) and discussing in a comfortable atmosphere.
Conclusion: A recommended place to Eat, and a good place to catch up with an old friend as well.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PdV_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant de Koning van Denemarken also viewed

Rhenen, Utrecht Province
Rhenen, Utrecht Province
 
Rhenen, Utrecht Province
 
Rhenen, Utrecht Province
Wageningen, Gelderland Province
 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant de Koning van Denemarken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing