We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Santa Catarina(Praia da Rocha)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luar(Praia da Rocha)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$138
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Plaza Real Atlantichotels(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha(Praia da Rocha)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Flamingo Residence(Praia da Rocha)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jupiter Algarve Hotel(Praia da Rocha)
US$256
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergaria Vila Lido(Praia da Rocha)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bela Vista Hotel & Spa(Praia da Rocha)
US$815
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
282
223
77
14
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
223
77
14
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewprivate stepsrefurbished roombeautiful hoteldirect access to the beachoverlooking the beachroom was largequiet endgrassed areafour star hotelboard walkhalf boardbed and breakfast basisrelaxing holidayrestaurant staffthe hotel is cleanlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

27 years ago my wife and I looked on this Hotel with envy as our holidays were on a tighter budget.Thankfully that is no longer the case so we booked to see what we had missed all those years ago.Praia has developed in the meantime some parts improved some not but the Oriental has an understated elegance and a very friendly and helpful team throughout.Fantastic views I would imagine from every room a great location not in the midst but easily accessible to the rest of the resort including direct access to the fabulous beach.Please note a walk and paddle along the beach as far as you can go is not to be missed.A definite four star experience but as this is a relatively small hotel 5 star service from the staff.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental H, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for your 4 star review on our hotel and service my team and I were so pleased to know that you had a positive experience in our hotel and that you considered our service as a 5 star one as our main purpose is to care of our guests in a warm and professional way. Besides that as you said our hotel has an understated elegance and strong oriental personality and its fantastic views over the sea and direct access to the beach makes it so special.
We will be waiting for you in your next visit to Portimão, here at Hotel Oriental.
Regards

Liliana Conde
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Enjoyed a 1 week break at the above Hotel which has a central position in the town with
very good access to the beach (several steps down) but well worth the effort as it
is kept immaculate & has a nice boardwalk with several cafes to enjoy a drink or
meal
Good selection of shops, bars & restaurants nearby & good bus service every 15 mins
to the nearest town which is Portimao
Hotel has 2 small pools, small gym & beauty therapist & rooms have kettle, fridge, safe & free Wi-Fi
Rooms very nice, ours just had a shower , toiletries replaced each day & rooms kept
very clean
Nice breakfast with the usual hot & cold food also Cava. The Evening meal was a buffet
each day with a really good choice of food to suit everyone,
No real evening entertainment so early in the year but most evening there was a pianist & singer whilst having your meal
No lounge as such just a small area next to the dining room but later on in the year
they have an extension by the hotel which has a nice bar to sit out in.
It was quite a cold wind at this time on our holiday with a few showers so it wasn't
possible to sit out in the evening
Hotel Staff very pleasant & attentive. Overall a lovely well run hotel for Adults
This was our second visit

Room Tip: Try for a Sea View
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental H, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your 4 star review of our hotel, we were delighted to know that you had a good experience with us, that you have enjoyed our premium location right in front of the sea, our swimming pool, our comfortable rooms, our breakfast buffet and dinner buffets with a wide kind of food that suits all possible guest's needs. By the hotel we also have a beautiful lounge bar área called Mandala where you can enjoy the sunset while having a cocktail or a Portuguese wine by our Quinta São Sebastião.
We will be waiting for you and we wish to wellcome you soon here at Oriental Hotel in Portimão.
Regards

Liliana Conde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Well situated on a busy strip close to all amenities but far enough away from the main hustle and bustle. Steps go down to the beach board walk with several entry points some are very steep we’re there are plenty of places to eat and drink. The hotel was very comfortable with great views out to sea and the beach. Close by there’s plenty of bars and restaurants on the strip if you fancy a change from the hotel all in all a great place to get away and relax.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a really great view of the beach and sea
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gralyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental H, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your 5 stars review, we were so pleased to know that you had a very nice experience with us.As a matter of fact our location is premium and you actually have the ocean in front of your eyes and besides that the hotel is in the quieter part of the Praia da Rocha beach by the fortress. Our guests really appreciate our hotel because it is so quiet and zen.
We hope to see you soon again here at Oriental Hotel, we will be waiting for you.
Regards,

Liliana Conde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We arrived at 11;30pm and the receptionist insisted on personally carrying our bags to our room , showing us how to use the safe , tv, lights etc and then escorted us down to the bar area for a meal prepared for us even at such a late hour.The room was excellent with all expected facilities viz: room safe , air conditioning large outside terrace facing east ( you could sit sit facing the sea from the east side of the hotel and get a tan until 2pm) etc. Excellent view of the harbour. Lovely chambermaid who kept the room spick and span. Quality of the food was very good with an excellent choice; drinks were quite reasonable. There is a small library where you can borrow books. Most of the staff are multilingual, and experts about local sights and trips. They are extremely helpful. The hotel appears to have had a recent make over because it is immaculate. There are two small swimming pools and a garden sunbathing area. The beach is located next to the Oriental and can be accessed by steps. The hotel's 55 steps take you directly to the beach but take a right turn out of the hote, look for the nearby fort and take the gentle footpath with much fewer steps. Overall an excellent hotel with a very interesting history!!

Room Tip: East facing room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental H, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your experience here at hotel Oriental, we were so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel is located in front of the Ocean and Praia da Rocha beach and so the views are impressive: either the frontal sea view rooms, the restaurant and the área by the swimming pool allows the guests to enjoy the sun while facing the sea.
The buffet breakfast and the buffet dinner are very good with a plenty of choice for the guests.Our staff is friendly and focused in giving good service to the guests.
We will be glad to welcome you when you come again to Portimão.

Regards


Liliana Conde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We have stayed at this hotel before and everything about it is good. The rooms are excellent, always immaculately clean, kettle provided. Food is plentiful, a wide choice and delicious. Service is excellent. Everyone is friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental H, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Guest

Me and my team we thank you so much for you kind review on our hotel and service. We are very happy that you have enjoyed the rooms, the food, the service and we will be waiting for your next trip to Portimão to stay at Oriental.
Kind Regards

Liliana Conde
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews