We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
561
100
45
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
100
45
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building tasting menu relais chateaux michelin star character room welcome drink original building beautiful hotel pool area fruit smoothies deluxe room terrace overlooking the beach our honeymoon lovely room loved this hotel every evening the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Enjoyed a great meal here Pizzas to die for staff so friendly and helpful Even Sir Cliff Richard eats here a legend in music Will book again next time i am in Portugal Love it It overlooks the sea and is very easy to get to

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Diretor-Geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

I am delighted to hear that you had a unique experience while having a meal at our Pool Bar.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
With my best regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We weren’t huge fans of the town Portimao (Lagos has tons more character) but the beach is great and the hotel is a beautiful property with really great staff. Huge downside is that they charge for parking and the gym has just minimal equipment. Also, we called to inquire about which snacks in the room are complimentary and which are charged as it wasn’t very clearly stated. They said that anything on the counter is complimentary so we thought this included the popcorn and chips. Unfortunately, this was incorrect and we were charged for the snacks on check out. It would be good if they are clear on what is charged and what is complementary. Otherwise, the property is really unique and one of the staff members let us see one of the beautiful rooms in the historic section of the hotel. He also took us to see the view from the rooftop. We stayed in a room in the section connected to the L’Occitaine spa. If staying in this section, you definitely want to get a 2nd floor room as it gives you a better view of the water/beach than the first-floor rooms. Breakfast is really wonderful as they have a juice of the day and eggs made to order plus a huge selection of fruits, cheese, yogurt, breads, etc. I had an aromatherapy massage at the spa which was relaxing but wasn’t anything extra special. With a treatment, you get to use the rest of the spa area (sauna and jacuzzi) which is nice. If you don’t have a spa treatment you can pay a fee to use this section but I don’t think it would be worth it. The pool is nice but in April the water is still very cold as it is not heated. The location of the property is perfect as it is right near the beach, we just wished that Portimao itself had more to offer than the beach (shops are very kitchy and touristy and the selection of restaurants is lacking). We did not get a chance to eat dinner at the hotel but heard great things about it. We did order some food for lunch at the hotel to eat outside which was good but pricey. I would recommend this property for a stay.

Room Tip: If staying outside the historic building, make sure to get 2nd floor room with better views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAR1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Diretor-Geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Bela Vista Hotel & Spa.

We have well noted all the information regarding your stay.

We look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Very lovely hotel and staff. The breakfast wasn't great but it didn't matter. Be warned, the street outside is karaoke and bars. We didn't mind but it's not as secluded as it looks on the website. Still, would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner suites are lovely, not sure what the main house is like.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Diretor-Geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Bela Vista Hotel & Spa.

We have well noted all the information regarding your stay.

We look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A first class hotel. With very attentive staff for whom nothing is to much trouble. The breakfast is excellent. If you can't see what you want, the chef will get it for you. The decor is fantastic. The grounds and pool area very relaxing highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Diretor-Geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great and beautiful review about the Bela Vista.
We are delighted to read and know that you were impressed with the hotel and facilities including the services provided and also with the Bela Vista team.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

I don’t know where to begin.
We love and always stay at Relais & Chateaux, but we were very disappointed with this place.
First of all the hotel is in a very, very cheap tourist town. It is private from the crowded street, but you have a view of buildings on one side and you can hear the loud music.

We try to make spa appointment several times, but no one was there! Very unprofessional!
Not able to have a spa treatment we aimed for the pool area, try to order cocktails- it took over 30 min for one Gin&tonic and vodka on the rocks! (they were not busy)
Rooms are just ok, not worth what they are charging. Shower didn’t drain properly!

Breakfast was disappointing! Few yogurts you can get in the store across the street, very poor choice of fruits, cheap cereal....nothing looked any good. Ordered espresso, it never came (and they were not busy at all)

We are very disappointed and would not come nor recommend the hotel.

P.S. and while I was waiting this review we wanted to make some drinks in our room and needed ice. We got ice and we were handed a bill for 5€!!! Really?

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kartal4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Diretor-Geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback and for sharing with the TA community your experience with us.

The Bela Vista Hotel & Spa is an historical building 100 years old, while the surrounding area dates back to the 1980s.

The Spa by L’Occitane is open on a daily basis from 9:00am to 8:00pm. The treatments can also be requested at the hotel’s Reception or with our Concierge that will than make all the necessary arrangements.

To what concerns the service provided at the Pool area that is not our standard as we always have our team available to take orders and serve our guests the best way possible. We regret that this was not case.

The breakfast at Bela Vista is served at our VISTA Restaurante with a beautiful view over the beach. The buffet itself is set with products that can cater all type of diets, as we have a vast offer of homemade yogurts, soya products, free lactose’s diaries, fresh fruit, different juices including a juice of the day, pastries, different types of breads, Portuguese savouries & cheese, local products, etc.


With my best regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews