We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for summer, excellent for autumn”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Camaleao

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Porches, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Kieran P
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for summer, excellent for autumn”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay, and Steve and Janie could not have been more helpful. We arrived at separate times in three cars, two of which got lost in different locations. Steve rescued both in his own car and was cheerful about it. He was also full of good advice on various issues and had stocked the villa with various items we requested for the first meal.

We liked the location a lot. On a very spacious lot in the hills above Armacao de Pera, yet only about 5 minutes away from the nearest beach, it was quiet and tranquil, which must be a great blessing in the frantic summer months. Ideal for outdoor living, with plenty of patio furniture and quiet corners to sit and read. Indoors the kitchen is well equipped, and there are plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, all in good shape and modern.

The living room is less impressive than the rest of the house, and the pool was too cold for our grandchildren to make much use of. But it was late October, near the end of the season, and the pool must be bliss in summer. In fact the whole place must be bliss in summer.

I chose the heading deliberately. I can't think of a nicer place to stay in summer, when I would be very little inclined to leave the property and join the crowds. We were lucky with the weather, in the mid to high 20's. But I suppose our large party of 11 might have chafed a bit if it had rained throughout.

Bottom line: a very enjoyable stay. In fact my wife and I stayed on in Armacao for several days to enjoy the fabulous beach walks and the lagoons behind the nearby dunes which are teeming with birdlife.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for your stay with us and your kind words

Steve & Janie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Holiday in Villa-Camaleao, Armacao de Pera, Portugal”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I decided to celebrate a significant birthday in Portugal and I brought 3 generations of my family to Steve & Janie's wonderful villa for 1 week in June 2017. There were 14 of us and we were perfectly accommodated in the villa. I had not been in Armacao de Pera before and I found the whole area to be the " Real Portugal ". The super beaches with miles of soft golden sand which were enjoyed by all the family. On Steve's recommendation we visited some restaurants where the food was perfect. We did spend quite an amount of time in the villa because it was so comfortable with it's pool and and extensive sun decks.
Steve and Janie were wonderfully helpful hosts and even surprised me with a birthday cake .i would have no hestation in recommending the villa but would suggest that guests hire a car because there is so nuch to see and do.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind words, we love to here that you enjoyed yourself
and you found the villa comfortable.
All the best and hope to see you again
Steve & Janie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissDPxx
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing villa!! ”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I didn't book this place , the family I holidayed with did, so can't comment on the booking process etc, only my stay. I do Totally recommend this place! We literally landed back in the uk last night, but can't rate this place enough! Easy to find! Spotless! Gorgeous garden and pools, friendly owners who were just brilliant!! The villa is well equipped beautiful bedrooms and bathrooms and it really was just gorgeous! Perfect from garden for morning work out!!

Only downsides - bring your own loo rolls, car park fob needs fixing, no air con in rooms, only the master suite and the bedroom you reach external. We had the garden bedroom room and had air con but the rest of the family had only fans! They had a lot of restless nights however Steve did bring then more fans!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Not sure what to say about the toilet rolls as the villa is self catering and we Always leave 2 rolls in each bathroom for your arrival .
As you know we had temperatures of 38 degrees and when you leave the patio door open the villa will heat up, it sounds as you had a long trip home.
Kind regards
Steve & Janie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire D
1 review
“An amazing holiday we'll never forget.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I can not recommend this Villa enough. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after immensely by Steve and Janie .We had an absolutely amazing holiday. We went as a group of 8 adults and 4 children, we spent most of our time within the villa as it was so nice, literally could not fault any of it. We felt very safe (patio doors very secure and shutters to use too) and it was very private. We made good use of the BBQ, that we used alot! There was plenty of sun lounges and seating, in and out of the sun, the children loved the pool table, table tennis as well as the two pools (of course). Pav and Olga (prestige days) were at hand to assist with any taxi runs we needed and again they where extremely friendly and could not do enough for us.
We spent a day at the beach and another at Zoo Marine, both i would highly recommend , well worth a visit.
Lots of very special memories have been made on our holiday, I think it's safe to say that we are all looking forward in staying here again in the future..

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, the Villa is abasloutly stunning.
Liked least: Nothing... everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again
Kind regards
Steve & Janie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KezH2017
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Camaleao - Excellent!”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a weeks stay at Villa Camaleao and I can highly recommend it. The Villas is fantastic and is set in a quiet location, but if you want the restaurants and bars for the evening, then they are only a 10 minute taxi ride away in the town of Armacaeo de Pera. We couldn't fault the villa, it was beautifully decorated and it was spotlessly clean. The pool area is fantastic with plenty of seating areas, and there were more than enough sun loungers to go round. The owners, Steve and Janie, are lovely and so helpful too. They couldn't do enough for us. They recommended restaurants, organised a local taxi company to ferry us around, and helped us with anything we needed on a daily basis. You won't be disappointed if you stay here, its fab!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.