We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
89
67
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
67
11
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Solar dos Mascernhas seems like a large mansion in the small town of Vila Vicosa in Portugal. The house was converted into a luxurious hotel, with a new modern wing built behind it.

We had visited on 31 May which is a tourist season in Vila Vicosa due to a long weekend. The hotel was completely booked, yet at 60€ it was a good deal.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, each having it's own balcony giving a nice view of the garden.

The lounge and reception area is in the old wing and rooms are in the new wing. There are a few halls to relax and enjoy after party next to the pool. The breakfast was sumptuous and filling.

The receptionist was manned by energetic and welcoming staff.

We had to extend our stay by a day and the hotel was completely booked that day. The owner allowed us to stay in her own mansion which is just above the reception area. That was very kind of her.

The location of this hotel is very central, right next to city square. Walking distance from the castle and palace.

I had come for business but ended up having a very relaxed and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mohit2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This hotel is very cozy, with good rooms and amazing breakfast. It is in the center of Vila Viçosa, near the main monuments. The staff is very efficient and it is a pet friendly hotel. It is a three start hotel but it feels more like a four one.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pedroarjoao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

The rooms are on the level with everything required. The floor is concrete so might seem a bit too cold.

But the breakfast...Wow the breakfast is more than what many trendy expensive brunchs, breakfast or lunch places can offer. Dont believe me? Check the offers.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro_Duarte_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Rooms were very average/poor and breakfast lacked everything with loud fado music in the breakfast room. Pool was not welcoming as well as any outside areas of the hotel. A bit disappointed at the overall experience. Wouldn't go back.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sugcesso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I remember this hotel from staying here a night or 2 a long time ago with my family. Turns out this October I was in the area with my girlfriend and we decided to stay here for a night.
The hotel is well located within the village, very close to the Palácio Ducal and a short walk away from Praça da República. Many restaurants in the area. They offer private parking for 5€ a day, but parking is free on the street, so you would not need it should you find a spot.
The decoration is weird, especially in the colour scheme. Our room was all black and white, but the common areas like the reception and the hallways had red furniture, purple couches, cyan pieces. Almost like they decorated the hotel with stuff they got in an auction.
Our zebra-room was spacious and clean, but we found the blacks and whites not very comfortable. Really rough sheets on the bed made our night difficult.
I enjoyed breakfast, it had good products. Staff was helpful.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews