We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historical hotel beautiful orange trees easy parking small village very special place modern amenities vila pousada history comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019

This was the second Pousada that we stayed at during our trip. Anther one was in guimarães, which was more impressive. This one was also very good. It's a well preserver historical hotel with wonderful atmospheric. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was good and fresh with many choices. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is excellent with easy parking. The historical palace and a beautiful church are just outside of the hotel. Vila Vicosa is a very pretty small town with many beautiful orange trees lined up the main streets. We loved strolling in the town especially the historical castle area.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Minghai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Owner at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Mr Minghai C,

On behalf of the staff at Pousada de Dom Joao IV Vila Vicosa, I would like to take the opportunity to personally thank you for your feedback and review.

It is very important for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to help you create beautiful memories. It was a pleasure having you with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel.

Best regards,

Pousadas de Portugal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

We had a larger room this time but no balcony. It was well furnished and very comfortable. This is a very special place to stay - history, luxury, and and an incredible place to explore. My only negative is that the lighting in the bedroom area was very dim. Breakfast was very good. Parking is easy and the location in the small village is very convenient. We stayed at a couple of other pousadas on a prior vacation and this is the best we've visited.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Mr solomon5,

On behalf of our entire team at Pousada de Dom Joao IV Vila Vicosa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us to continue improving our service.

We were delighted to hear that we met your expectations.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Best regards,

Pousadas de Portugal






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Ideal for visiting the sweet litle village of vila viçosa :)
Perfect location for a weekend of romance and good food
It strucure build over a former monestery keeping all the old layout and features give this place a unique combination of story and confort that you'll wont find nowhere else

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

The Pousada is in an old cloister. There are still many old elements left and it’s amazing to walk around in the building. Everything is big and luxurious. We had a beautiful room with our own staircase! The Pousada is next to the palace. It’s a pitty that the palace is closed on Tuesday morning but that gave us more time to relax at the Pousada

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Hilde A, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Very nice and interesting hotel. Over 500 years old located next to the Dukes Palace. We enjoyed roaming the hotel halls and found the rooms to be very roomy, very clean with a good layout. Our party of six enjoyed their stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Mr. Tony G, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews