We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$168
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/07
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$142
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/07
Expedia.comUS$168
eDreamsUS$168
travelup.comUS$172
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historical hotel beautiful orange trees easy parking small village very special place modern amenities vila pousada history comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2019

We had a larger room this time but no balcony. It was well furnished and very comfortable. This is a very special place to stay - history, luxury, and and an incredible place to explore. My only negative is that the lighting in the bedroom area was very dim. Breakfast was very good. Parking is easy and the location in the small village is very convenient. We stayed at a couple of other pousadas on a prior vacation and this is the best we've visited.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Manager at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Dear Mr solomon5,

On behalf of our entire team at Pousada de Dom Joao IV Vila Vicosa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us to continue improving our service.

We were delighted to hear that we met your expectations.

It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Best regards,

Pousadas de Portugal






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Ideal for visiting the sweet litle village of vila viçosa :)
Perfect location for a weekend of romance and good food
It strucure build over a former monestery keeping all the old layout and features give this place a unique combination of story and confort that you'll wont find nowhere else

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

The Pousada is in an old cloister. There are still many old elements left and it’s amazing to walk around in the building. Everything is big and luxurious. We had a beautiful room with our own staircase! The Pousada is next to the palace. It’s a pitty that the palace is closed on Tuesday morning but that gave us more time to relax at the Pousada

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hilde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Hilde A, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Very nice and interesting hotel. Over 500 years old located next to the Dukes Palace. We enjoyed roaming the hotel halls and found the rooms to be very roomy, very clean with a good layout. Our party of six enjoyed their stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Mr. Tony G, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

I have had the pleasure of staying in other pousadas -- this property had the clearest presence of its former life as a religious institution. It does appear that the mendicant order of Poor Clares did not want for much here. The tile work was lovely, the remnants of the frescos along the corridors were interesting, as were the niches of the former altars and shrines. My room was very quiet and I had a wonderful night's sleep.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinginLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear LivinginLisbon, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews