We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
404
234
41
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historical hotel beautiful orange trees easy parking small village very special place modern amenities vila pousada history comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Very nice and interesting hotel. Over 500 years old located next to the Dukes Palace. We enjoyed roaming the hotel halls and found the rooms to be very roomy, very clean with a good layout. Our party of six enjoyed their stay at this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Mr. Tony G, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

I have had the pleasure of staying in other pousadas -- this property had the clearest presence of its former life as a religious institution. It does appear that the mendicant order of Poor Clares did not want for much here. The tile work was lovely, the remnants of the frescos along the corridors were interesting, as were the niches of the former altars and shrines. My room was very quiet and I had a wonderful night's sleep.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivinginLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear LivinginLisbon, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019 via mobile

Walking into this historic hotel instantly transports you back into a relaxing cloistered paradise. For us, the pousada is a holiday destination in itself, we could barely manage to drag ourselves away from its tiled rooms and fountained cloister. If you are a pianist, there's a Yamaha grand piano which you can get the key for, what a treat. After breakfast there's a peaceful courtyard with pomegranate trees, to enjoy a final breakfast coffee. We recommend the local bolo real cake, a mixture of almonds and pumpkin jam. The staff are exceedingly pleasant and accommodating.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear Clare R, Thank you for your visit to Pousada Convento Vila Viçosa and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I hope you had a pleasant journey back home. It is words such as yours that actually encourage us and motivate us to continue and improve our work. Your comments made us feel very proud in the work we do every day with the main goal of exceeding each guest expectations and make each stay a Memorable Moment. We do hope you can visit us again in the future so that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you once again. Should you require any assistance in the future, do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

The hotel itself is beautiful, perfectly located, and with a real sense of history. Rooms are comfortable and the food was very good. If anything needed improvement, it would be the service. It was at times very difficult to find staff, be it at the front desk or the bar. Some of the staff could also practice smiling a little more. The cleanliness could also be improved.

These are small gripes and overall I enjoyed my stay very much.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannostamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Proprietário at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear hannostamm, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Convento de Vila Viçosa Historic Hotel and for taking your valuable time to complete our survey, which we carefully read. The opinions of our guests are extremely helpful allowing us to keep on improving the service we wish to render to each and everyone who choose the Pousadas. We thank you for your time and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019

To start we got rooms on the topfloor with only a small window, so after complaining we got better rooms with a small balcony. We had one meal in the restaurant , where we were really disapointed at the food.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank wreink106120
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDAFONSOII, Gerente at Pousada Convento de Vila Vicosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2019

Dear wreink106120, we would like to thank you the available time you take to share your comments, since it helps improve our service. We appologise not to have reached your expectations. Your commente were very important, since it help us manage the problems to improve effectively our service. Our main goal is to reach allways the expectations of each client that we have the privilege to receive in "Pousada Vila Viçosa". We have take into account your experience and we will give more attention the way we manage the Hotel.
Best wishs, Sérgio Dias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews