We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect place in Tuscany”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Sole in the afternoon, otumn harvest time!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Sole in the afternoon, otumn harvest time!
relaxation by the pool during the summer Villa Sole from it's garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Villa Sole in the afternoon, otumn harvest time!
relaxation by the pool during the summer
Villa Sole from it's garden
under the pergola sunny outumn
under the pergola in summer
gated entrance is part of the garden which is composed by 3 'floors' facing south and the valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
San Casciano in Val di Pesa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
camilla72...
Milan, Italy
1 review
“A perfect place in Tuscany”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016


Wordmouth of friends brought me to this really fashinating antique manor house for 6 nights in January. We are a couple with two kids and we found this place perfect for visiting

Tuscany (Florence in 20 min and Chianti all around ) . But once there we did not want to go out so we spent also 2 memorable evenings there with the amazing fireplace running . We want to be back next winter. Our staying there was impeccable and the house is really user friendly and very well furnished. Even if in winter the garden was perfectly in order and we could only imagine how the pool and solarium deck with that landscape around would be in summer. I highly recommend this villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Camilla, it's so nice of you! Thank you so much for your feedback!
Indeed, this place is particularly magic during the winter, but believe me, it could be also unforgettable during the Summer :)
So we will be waiting for your back in any time of a year!

Wish you all the best,
Giulia :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmareItal...
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic Villa”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This villa initially charmed us with its rustic appeal, including exposed beams, large fireplace & winding staircases. Marta greeted us warmly and did a great job orienting us to the house.

Our main complaint about the property is that it is very close to three neighboring houses. This is not shown on any of the online pictures advertising the house. We quickly discovered a large barking dog lived at the house behind us. Several mornings we were awakened quite early from the noise. When we asked Marta about it she admitted that it has been a problem in the past. If we had known about this we would not have booked the house.

My other complaints would be about the condition of the house. We had rusty water come out of the pipes at first, and the water heater was unreliable. The terrace area, so pretty in the online pictures, was dirty & full of debris. Considering that we paid a mandatory cleaning fee upon leaving, we expected no less than a clean house upon checking in and this was not the case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa has an authentic charm about it with beautiful views from the pool area.
Liked least: We did not like the closeness of the neighbors with their barking dogs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Dear Peggy,
this is Leonardo the lucky owner of the ?rustic? Villa Sole.
Together with Marta and Giulia we are always eager for guests reviews and take them always very seriously .
Knowing the importance of these reviews for anybody that do not know the place and maybe is looking around for considering to come, feedbacks reported here are crucial and need to be properly considered.
All precious former guests know it very well.
After having read this, I took few days to investigate with Marta and Giulia and understand better why you wrote this.
Moreover I am writing after having spent an other perfect weekend in the house.
I said why you wrote this instead of what as I was doubting it was you as Marta update me with your feedback during your stay and we did not know about these complaints.
Moreover having read your words left in our book , which now I have the pleasure to put in the picture gallery as a good example of good experience of the stay.
So-before I will be specific on your complaints not for debate but to avoid misleading for future guests - I want to be clear now:
it was very frustrating realize your words were dictated only by the fact Giulia properly asked for a small surcharge few days before your check in given the 2 more guest not agreed with us.
We are positive to meet guest request but very reluctant with extra beds to be put outside the 3 bedrooms .
These are private houses and even if large we do not like encampments.
So to meet however your last minute request we made the studio set up and Giulia asked small extra to settle the room, cover the direct cost for cleaning additional bathroom and towels and ecc.
I understand now this was the problem with you and just to close up on this I confirm that 100 euro was the pure cost we had to pay for the extra room you occupied.
Coming back to your points , not for you but for next guests I will describe precisely to avoid misunderstandings provided by your superficial comments:

other houses proximity.
I could answer that luckily we are not in the desert but in the center of Tuscany and that even in the full Chianti open country you will always find hamlets of at least 3 houses but I want to be precise.
The fact in the photos is not shown is because it is not really relevant , significantly for the privacy or the noise.
The 1100+ square feet garden has adjacent other properties. This have been always considered a plus having the full privacy guaranteed, to make the long story short: think if you have problems with the car or need for medical assistance.
My neighbours love to help if necessary.
It is true that the neighbour adjacent in front (50m)has one wolfhound that sleep in the garden. It has never been report a problem for his barking during the night. During your stay were confirmed reported a series of small earthquakes in san Casciano, very infrequent for that area but significant for one single night where San Casciano was reported as epicenter like written everywhere (I imagine you noticed that).
Maybe that night the dog was agitate because of this or for other reasons. What reported by Marta with the dog was related to 2 years ago with an other small dog that unfortunately passed away last year.
House condition. terrace and water.
This is definitively not correct from your side and particularly suspicious about the honesty of your words.
The house was perfectly clean inside and outside before your arrival by two people for inside and one people for outside.
The ancient terracotta terrace under the American grapewine was prepared clean before your arrival, it can be that BEING AUTUMN and you know in AUTUMN THE LEAVES FALL (!) there could be some leaves on the terrace. Or I do not then understand the word debris : which debris? maybe the white stones covering the roots on the garden? I stop here to avoid feeling myself stupid.
I can only say to future guest the terrace is and will be always as in the pictures. Of course in autumn there could be some wind or leaves or musks during the winter season.
You were the first guest in November after 1 month of break. It can be that first time you open the water there are 2 seconds of light red water like normal if the pipeline of the tube or other have not been opened for some time. It can be you need 3 maybe 4 ?) seconds of patience.For the heating I can only confirms it works perfectly, the boiler is new and last cold weekend the house was perfectly heated.
More in general about your definition of ?rustic? and our feedback about your feedback here.
If with ?rustic? you mean (like in the Italian meaning) an original typical tuscanian fifteen century hundred farmhouse you are perfectly right : Sole is definitively ?rustic?.
But if with rustic ?like I think- you mean rough the suspect is that for you it would have been better to go in a modern luxury design hotel , unfortunately the budget would have been definitively different.
Maybe I was a little long and argumentative but people around here worked so hard to build Sole excellent reputation and are very jealous about all other guest memories to be defended by superficial or ?rustic? reviewers J.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thanks a lot for your review!!! :)
Happy you have enjoyed your stay! Please, remember that you are always welcome at our place,
Wish you a colorful summer,
Giulia :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark U
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Villa Sole is a perfect place to stay for a holiday in Tuscany. The location is excellent for visiting everything that Tuscany has to offer, whilst still being remote enough to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside with stunning views. Communication prior to the holiday was excellent and Giulia was extremely helpful. Marta (the local representative) was also very helpful and kept in touch, without being intrusive.
The villa has the "wow" factor when you arrive. It is well equipped and it's obvious the owners have done everything they can to ensure your stay is perfect. The local town is lovely and you can buy all your groceries there (either in the main supermarket or local shops) and there's a good selection of restaurants/cafes. We would have no hesitation in returning to Villa Sole or recommending to friends.
Two minor points:-
- The property would not be suitable for anyone that struggles with stairs, as there are lots of steep stairs from the pool all the way up to the top floor.
- You are in the countryside, so don't expect superfast wifi. It's adequate for general stuff but don't expect to download videos, etc!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the views and authenticity of the villa.
Liked least: Unfortunately, the lovely terrace was covered with wisteria, which attracted hundreds of bees and dropped lots of pollen over the table. Not the owners fault - just the time of year we were there.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Dear Mark, thanks indeed for your kind words!!! :) We really appreciate your feedback and yes, you are absolutely right, the house has a lot of stairs and Internet connection is ok only for simple staff... Unfortunately being in countryside we couldn't arrange something better ;(
Hope it didn't influence your stay!!! :)
Would be glad to host you one more time,
Cheers,
Giulia :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank6257
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“La dolce vita in San Casciano!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a wonderful, relaxing holiday at Villa Sole.
Great views in the magnificent Tuscan countryside.
Marta and the owners were very helpful and friendly. The pool is great and we really enjoyed the dolce vita in San Casciano!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback!:)
We are always extremely happy when our guests are satisfied,
Please, come back whenever you want,
Cheers,
Giulia :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing