We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Guide663368
Brighton, United Kingdom

Nice hotel, but not 5 star

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
This is a nice hotel, with large rooms in a charming set of buildings. But don’t expect 5 star service. We had to find pool towels ourselves, and the pool bar was closed while we were there, so no drinks service. Chair pads were not put out on the outside seats by the bar, and no candles lit. No water in room on arrival. Finally, any hotel that charges for freshly cooked eggs has no business calling itself 5 star - staying in multiple luxury hotels in Tuscany this was a disappointing first.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guide663368,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay, however it saddens us to read about your experience by the pool.
It seems that on that time the pool and therefore the pool services were closed for potential rain. We are sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused.
Our breakfast is always complimentary and includes a variety of continental and american breakfast items, as well as extra freshly cooked dishes from our à la carte menu.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back and perhaps try our pool services at our best.
Best regards,

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 432
R 3 189
  • Official Website
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
7.7 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 9 789
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 789
13.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 9 232
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
  • Booking.com
16.1 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 848
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.5 km from Castel Monastero
Free parking
Pool
R 2 311
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 311
16.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 20 127
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
  • Booking.com
9.2 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
17.8 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 17 240
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 16 828
  • Hotels.com
8.3 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 493
  • Hotels.com
21.2 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
472
131
82
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
131
82
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent spa salt pool tuscan countryside wait staff hotel is beautiful pasta monastery pools luxury grounds retreat jets century palio relaxation beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I celebrated my birthday with a large group of friends (60) in June 2024 and everything came out perfect .
Alessia, the hotel event planner did a FANTASTIC job by facilitating every request and making sure that everything was perfect .
The hotel’s rooms are extremely comfortable , spacious and charming .
The food excellent
The spa massages were above expectation
Alessia organized bike riding / truffle hunting/ wine tasting/ Pilates activities which all came out super fun
The bike ride was just magnificent
And the hotel is just 20 mn from Sienna

I can only highly recommend the hotel , for couples, families and larger groups as well

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank annedS7416YH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anne,
We are extremely happy to read your review, it was a pleasure to have you and your friends as our guests and to plan your birthday celebration!
Alessia and the whole team were thrilled to read your feedback.
We are very proud to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2024 via mobile

Beautiful setting, but rooms are dark. All facilities are needing upkeep. Pátio restaurant staff are grumpy, and the menu has very little options.

The pool, gym and spa areas seem newer and are good.

My son stayed in room 11 blue, and the roof of the corridor between the bedroom and the bathroom is so low he had to duck every time he went to the bathroom.

Found bedbugs in my bed! Management was not very helpful, and were more worried on insisting the bed bugs didn’t come from the hotel than actually helping.

Staff were helpful, but I would not recommend staying there.

Room tip: Avoid room 11 blue. Check your bed for bedbugs.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank sanbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sanbennett,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our pool, gym, and spa facilities. We apologise that the rooms did not meet your expectations during your stay.
As an 11th-century building, our establishment was originally a monastery, and we have strived to maintain its authenticity. Had we been aware of your dissatisfaction, we would have promptly arranged a room move to ensure your comfort.
Regarding the bedbugs, we take such reports very seriously. After conducting a thorough inspection with our pest control team, we can confirm that no bedbugs were found in the room. A detailed report was released following the inspection.
We acted responsibly by involving a doctor and ensuring that no charges were incurred for your stay, considering your departure without full payment.
It’s important to note that bedbugs are often inadvertently brought in by guests through luggage, clothing, and personal items. We appreciate your understanding in this matter and remain committed to our Guests’ well-being.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023 via mobile

This is an amazing place. A little off the beaten path which we love. Yep had many different buildings so you could get different experiences depending where you stay. It’s a beautiful Tuscan delight! We would highly recommend if staying in Tuscany.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Thank you Corey for your kind words, you truly grasped the essence of Castel Monastero's Charm and we look forward to your next visit as we strive to make each stay an unforgettable glimpse of Tuscan bliss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2023

It is a very unique experience, and might not be for everyone, but we loved the monastery restored from the 1100's turned into a hotel. The staff was friendly, and the restaurant on site was good. We loved the pools and spa area. It was a beautiful setting and a great place to relax. It is farther from the central buzz of everything, but we managed to visit Siena, not far for a day, the Castle Brollio and other sites. The scenery was breathtaking the hotel itself was very relaxing. We would visit again.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelhelperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback greatly and look forward to having you back, for an even more relaxing stay. Maybe a pampering treatment in our SPA or an on site cooking class with our chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

This hotel is isolated - not in a town or anything you can walk to.

Room: Our room looked nothing like the ones in the photos on their web or their official trip advisor. I understand that all of the rooms are different, but the furniture in ours was quite tired and run down. The overall design was cumbersome and the bathroom was treacherous. It was down a few steps from the bed to the bathroom and the slate floor made it treacherous if it had even the smallest water. Same for the shower/bath, it was slippery and water pressure was mediocre. Most interesting was no soundproofing at all. You can hear the people in the room next to you breathing/sighing.

Staff: the pool bar staff was great. The front desk was fine sometimes and very unhelpful other times. The restaurant staff was good but certainly not enough staff for the restaurant and it led to long waits.

housekeeping was dismal. When we checked in one of the robes tied up for use had makeup from a prior guest. The toiletries in the bathroom were also 90% gone and clearly not replaced from the prior guest. And our water glasses were not replaced in the 4 days we were there. Housekeeping is dismal. It was by far the worst part of our stay.

Overall I think they run it very lean for staff and that leads to mixed service,

I would not recommend. I would definitely stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dottiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Dear guests,
Our site is a beautifully restored medieval monastery in the Tuscan Countryside; Many of our guests seek the charm and “isolation” of being immersed in a timeless natural environment, surrounded by forests and vineyards, within a short drive to many UNESCO sites and world heritage towns with the luxury of on-site fine dining and SPA. We are proud of the uniqueness of each and every room; due to their unique historical significance, our listed buildings have limited structural intervention options. Nonetheless, we take the utmost care to ensure that our room types provide the highest comfort characteristics while maintaining rigorous safety standards.
We are very disappointed with the Housekeeping shortcomings you described, that fall below our standards and expectations as well as yours. I understand that you did not bring these concerns to our attention during your stay, we regret the missed opportunity to resolve them promptly and enhance your on-site experience. We encourage our guests to communicate any issues or preferences they may have while staying with us, as we are dedicated to making every effort to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable visit.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We would appreciate a direct contact to hear your concerns and feedback in greater detail, as we strive to constantly improve our standards and enhance our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews