We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Corey S
Noblesville, Indiana

Perfect place to stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Oct 2023via mobile
This is an amazing place. A little off the beaten path which we love. Yep had many different buildings so you could get different experiences depending where you stay. It’s a beautiful Tuscan delight! We would highly recommend if staying in Tuscany.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this review
Responded 18 Oct 2023
Thank you Corey for your kind words, you truly grasped the essence of Castel Monastero's Charm and we look forward to your next visit as we strive to make each stay an unforgettable glimpse of Tuscan bliss.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 813
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.5 km from Castel Monastero
Free parking
Pool
R 2 159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hotel Website
16.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 733
R 4 476
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 476
21.2 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 19 940
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
9.2 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 9 830
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
16.1 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 9 697
  • Priceline
13.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.4 km from Castel Monastero
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
17.8 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 16 681
  • Expedia.com
    R 17 119
8.3 km from Castel Monastero
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
472
131
82
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
472
131
82
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent spa salt pool tuscan countryside wait staff hotel is beautiful pasta monastery pools luxury grounds retreat jets century palio relaxation beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2023

It is a very unique experience, and might not be for everyone, but we loved the monastery restored from the 1100's turned into a hotel. The staff was friendly, and the restaurant on site was good. We loved the pools and spa area. It was a beautiful setting and a great place to relax. It is farther from the central buzz of everything, but we managed to visit Siena, not far for a day, the Castle Brollio and other sites. The scenery was breathtaking the hotel itself was very relaxing. We would visit again.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travelhelperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Dear Guest, we appreciate your feedback greatly and look forward to having you back, for an even more relaxing stay. Maybe a pampering treatment in our SPA or an on site cooking class with our chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

This hotel is isolated - not in a town or anything you can walk to.

Room: Our room looked nothing like the ones in the photos on their web or their official trip advisor. I understand that all of the rooms are different, but the furniture in ours was quite tired and run down. The overall design was cumbersome and the bathroom was treacherous. It was down a few steps from the bed to the bathroom and the slate floor made it treacherous if it had even the smallest water. Same for the shower/bath, it was slippery and water pressure was mediocre. Most interesting was no soundproofing at all. You can hear the people in the room next to you breathing/sighing.

Staff: the pool bar staff was great. The front desk was fine sometimes and very unhelpful other times. The restaurant staff was good but certainly not enough staff for the restaurant and it led to long waits.

housekeeping was dismal. When we checked in one of the robes tied up for use had makeup from a prior guest. The toiletries in the bathroom were also 90% gone and clearly not replaced from the prior guest. And our water glasses were not replaced in the 4 days we were there. Housekeeping is dismal. It was by far the worst part of our stay.

Overall I think they run it very lean for staff and that leads to mixed service,

I would not recommend. I would definitely stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank dottiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Graziella Arba, General Manager at Castel Monastero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Dear guests,
Our site is a beautifully restored medieval monastery in the Tuscan Countryside; Many of our guests seek the charm and “isolation” of being immersed in a timeless natural environment, surrounded by forests and vineyards, within a short drive to many UNESCO sites and world heritage towns with the luxury of on-site fine dining and SPA. We are proud of the uniqueness of each and every room; due to their unique historical significance, our listed buildings have limited structural intervention options. Nonetheless, we take the utmost care to ensure that our room types provide the highest comfort characteristics while maintaining rigorous safety standards.
We are very disappointed with the Housekeeping shortcomings you described, that fall below our standards and expectations as well as yours. I understand that you did not bring these concerns to our attention during your stay, we regret the missed opportunity to resolve them promptly and enhance your on-site experience. We encourage our guests to communicate any issues or preferences they may have while staying with us, as we are dedicated to making every effort to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable visit.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We would appreciate a direct contact to hear your concerns and feedback in greater detail, as we strive to constantly improve our standards and enhance our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

On my honeymoon across most of
Italy, I had my highest expectations for our stay at Castel Monastero. I now refer to it as Castel Disappointment. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our 2 week vacation, but also the worst one of them all. I don’t even know where to being, but I’ll
Start with the good: Rooms are big, courtyard area of hotel very pretty, nice pool area, and located in beautiful Tuscany. That’s about it. Prepare to be trapped and price gouged for everything you want or need to do here. The food-sucks. This hotel had the highest priced food in all of Italy and it was the worst Tasting. I had a comparable dish in Ambra which was a 1/4 of the price and twice the size. The waitress at Cantina, recommended a pasta dish, but no amount of salt or grated cheese could remotely save this dish. My entree, consisted of 5 meatballs in a bowl
For 34 euro, no pasta,
No veggies etc. Olive Garden would’ve been a better tasting Italian dish than this ripoff from
cantina. 25 euro for an old fashioned, or Aperol spritz; I Went to a Michelin Star restaurant in Rome and didn’t pay more than 15. The complimentary breakfast was mediocre. The previous 2 hotels we stayed at in Sorrento and Rome, for
Half the price, had a much better complimentary breakfast. Now the worst part of our stay: The hotel arranged excursions for us and dinner reservations. We did this wonderful vineyard tour. The hotel arranged for a driver to get us there and back. The vineyard tour was worth every penny at 60 euro per person. The van proceeds to drop us off at the hotel and informs
Is that it would be 600,00 euro for the ride…completely ruined our day and our experience at the vineyard. We also needed transportation to our dinner reservation in Ambra which was not even a 10 minute drive away. The hotel informed us they could provide a taxi for 85 euro one way, and then 85 euro to return. So my 10 minute drive to dinner would cost me three times the price of my meal. The staff at the restaurant in Ambra was so baffled by the hotels taxi service that the waitress ended up driving us back to the hotel. In 24 hours at the resort, I spent 1000 euro on transportation to and from The hotel. This is not a 5 star resort, it’s maybe a 4 start but with little amenities, but it’s priced like it’s the worlds best 5 star resort. We ended up Checking out early, eating the cost, and returning to Florence because it was cheaper To find a new hotel and things to do in Florence then be captive to the hotel and their taxi/car service companies in order to do anything. Also, this hotel offers almost nothing to do. None of the packages or excursions or rentals are on site. You get a pool, tennis court, and comp breakfast…that is it. No water, no mini fridge, no iron. The internet pictures are deceiving, the property is much much smaller than it appears. Didn’t ruin my honeymoon, but definitely soured a couple days it that we won’t be able to get back. Avoid this place at all costs, unless they greatly lower the price or offer more amenities.

Room tip: There is no way of going outside the hotel without spending a fortune in car service or taxi.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 September 2023

I am really sorry to read such a feedback, on multiple platforms. Your judgment is always and truly appreciated as it motivates us to continue in our efforts to constantly improve our services, but mystifications cannot be allowed for they mislead the reader seeking information about the property.
The main problem was you had received an inaccurate description of the property, logistics and location by your local agent. Having a car to move around and visit the many highlights of the area is recommended but, when that is not possible, taxi services are available at a cost which is not regulated by us.
You met our Room Division Manager and he got in touch with your Agency and even agreed not to charge the night once you decided to leave in advance.
You were expecting entertainment and a shuttle to different places which are not offered by the Property. Of course we pride ourselves with the many services available, such as cooking classes with a top Chef, Live opera signing in our restaurant or garden, wine tastings, a 1300 sqm SPA with health and beauty packages available including a plethora of massage and treatment options, yoga classes, 3 outside pools and more indoor pools, a tennis court with complementary equipment. On top of our in-house options: bike tours, vineyard visits, walking tours, world famous medieval towns and UNESCO heritage sights within a few Kilometers, are all available to our guests and can be arranged with the assistance of our staff. I am sorry to hear about the Chianti Half Day tour as it was confirmed a month in advance by mail with costs and timings clearly stated. The taxi might be expensive but they come from Siena as there is not a taxi station here, arrangements are made with drivers directly and can be approved or not by our guest of course.
As for the food, the restaurant you went to is good (Corte di Bacco) but more of the Trattoria style and cannot be compared to a fine dining one like ours.
For the shortcomings of our pool staff we apologize greatly and assure you we will be taking action promptly, for we strive for the excellence which is expected in all departments in a World Leading Hotel such as ours.
The General Manager at Castel Monastero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023 via mobile

Beautiful hotel but they have overpriced their food and drink menus. €25 for a Gin and Tonic is ridiculous given what you are already spending for the hotel rooms.

Their restaurant and dining menus are very limited. €30 for a basic burger and fries!?!!
No salads at all on the lunch menu and when we did order a green salad for dinner it was literally a plate of romaine lettuce. Just lettuce!!!

Beware that the drink service at the pool bar is very slow. It’s not the staff it’s the set up. When you order wine they have to walk across the property to go to the restaurant to get the wine and then come back. It makes no sense.

The hotel bar service before dinner was dreadfully slow and poorly trained.

It’s a shame as the staff are all so friendly and nice but the management and set up needs some tweaks to make your stay better.

There is no coffee or tea in your room so getting a coffee when you wake up is a bit of an ordeal.

They need to review their service in order to call themselves a leading hotel of the world and review their prices so you don’t feel like you’re being hosed at every turn.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Happiness09269910344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 September 2023

Thank you for your kind words about the Hotel and friendliness of our staff. Espresso coffee Machines are available for all rooms of Prestige category and above. Other rooms have electric kettle and complementary tea/instant coffee available so I am very sorry that was not the case during your stay and we intend to address the issue with our staff. Our best wines are kept in our medieval Cantina for ideal temperature and storage conditions. We have some available at the pool bar of course but will take your feedback in careful consideration and hope to make your stay impeccable during your next visit.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

I loved this hotel- the grounds were beautiful and the pool has fountains with the most relaxing sound.
I loved the outdoor gym and our room with bathtub was very nice.
The staff was so lovely and helpful, and the spa was beautiful.

The only thing I’ll say is: eat somewhere else. You’ll find way better food outside of the hotel.

Otherwise I would recommend!

Room tip: Try Trattoria La Torre in Siena for an authentic delicious experience
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nzises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 27 September 2023

Dear Guest,

on behalf of all the staff here at Castel Monastero, I wish to thank you for your kind words and appreciation of our Hotel. I am sorry however, you did not appreciate our cuisine options and would love to personally receive further feedback on what did not satisfy your expectations. Our Traditional Tuscan restaurant "Cantina" is very popular with our guests and our fine cuisine of our Contrada Restaurant , through the creations of world class Chef Davide Canella, attracts foodies from around the world. We hope to welcome you again soon and that you may truly experience the best of Castel Monastero's dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews