We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
Priceline
CheapTickets
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
145
52
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
145
52
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes salty tomato masseria beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

Had a charming welcome for a one night stay. Outside is very nice.
Room is average and clean. Did look like a bit humid and cold as there was not heating. Must be perfect for hot summer
Bed was too hard for us.
Breakfast is limited with not much choice of salty and no yogurt. Large choice of cakes.
Nice view on the sea coast and close to the city 5mn drive in May.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DroopParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermanaR-1968, Proprietario at Masseria dei Monaci-Ristorante il Gambero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2019


Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you did not meet your expectations tally, unfortunately in May you cannot expect the heating to be turned on, perhaps it would have been enough to cover yourself a little more. As for the breakfast honestly I think it is vast and varied, unfortunately we can't satisfy all tastes. However, everything can always be improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Good location, very close to the Otranto center and quite close to some nice beaches.
Breakfast room was beautiful and also breakfast was good even though there were mainly cakes and sweets. I would like to mention that if someone expects more normal continental breakfast. It was OK for us. Staff were friendly and helpful.

I couldn't get WI-FI well in the room.
The shower box was tiny and old. The ventilation in the bathroom made quite loud noise. For the first 5 minutes there was no hot water coming, had to wait for a few minutes to get a hot shower.
Amenities were not good quality so it's better to bring your own stuff.
The spring of the bed was in bad shape. Need to change, I guess.
The air-conditioning was not working in the bedroom. Fortunately, it wasn't too hot during our stay so we could do without it-

On the whole, we felt it is over-rated and over-price for what we receive and quality/condition of the room.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germana r, Proprietario at Masseria dei Monaci-Ristorante il Gambero, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for the time dedicated to our farm with its review, thank you also for having enjoyed our breakfast of the 0 km and the tradition of Salento, because it is something we are proud of. The context instead strongly the fact that someone has overestimated, I do not allow this because I know how much attention we have towards our guests. You made a booking with booking with 1000 requests, from the room away from dogs or other animals, to the room without any noise ..... we have satisfied and then unfortunately after several hours that she was already in the room (also having them early check-in) we had a hot water failure in a part of the hotel. Having another room available we promptly solved making it change. The fact that the water did not arrive immediately makes me smile .... his second room, unlike the previous one in which she could still return to failure resolved (it was she who decided not to do it) had a shower 80x80 and was still "very clean" and in perfect condition. She decided everything ... the newly renovated large bathroom had been assigned to her in the previous room. The air conditioning was working, I do not accept that the contrary is said, and if she was cold and did not turn it on it is not my problem or can make her feel authorized to say otherwise (in the room where she decided to stay had even 2 air conditioning machines, one per floor). The abatjour had a double switch, everything is deciding whether to switch it off from the bedside table or from the wall switch. What to say .... maybe he should have chosen a different structure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I had the chance to spent a brief vacation at this lovely Masseria with my family...
The place is run by Germana which is the heart of the place, her husband Andrea who is an excellent chef and their sons Jacopo and Francesco.
The place is very elegant and all single details reflects this... Is located in the lovely area of Orte, near the bauxite cave which is very nice to visit. Wild sea not too far, but you can also relax in some beaches near the city just 10 minutes away by car.
The masseria has lovely rooms on two levels, all with a dedicated backyard where you can relax and sunbath. Very comfy. Breakfast is very good, all cakes are home made by Andrea's mum, is a typical italian breakfats with also a touch of salty items (you should try the mini frisella with EVO and tomatoes..).. The area around is nice to visit but if you just want to take a break you can just relax there and be happy. Dinner is served indoor or in the lovely exterior patio with bouganville and olive trees.. we ate there every single night.. and we were always happy.. excellent quality!!
You have wifi and next year pool and spa will open!!! yeah!!!!
Thank you all for taking good care of us!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Giulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I was here and i enjoyed every moment in this place. Great place if you want to have a relaxing moment. Great service too. I will definetly return!!! Such a lovely atmosphere.. Also loved the food, delicious!!! The room was beautiful , unique!! I recommend this place if you want to have a good time !!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fabjola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We enjoyed our evening here. The staff were friendly, the old monastery was beautiful and our room was very comfortable. This hotel is located about 3.5 km out of Otranto up on a hill. Great views, but not central. If you have a car, it doesn't matter. We were on bikes :). In the end, no big deal. Breakfast was excellent, but the dining room was very hot because of the morning sun through the plate glass windows and they can't open windows to ventilate it. Dinner was good, seafood only, and make sure that you are OK with squid :).

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank sdigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews