We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Road Less Travelled Leads to Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castellana Grotte, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sarah K
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Road Less Travelled Leads to Paradise”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This has to be one of the best holiday locations we have ever stayed in and certainly proved to be the best holiday we have ever had (and we've been to some fantastic places). Landol House is superlative in every respect. It's secluded, quirky, artistic, well-equipped, comfortable and inspiring. If you are looking for La Dolce Vita, Landol House comes as close to it as is possible to get - you just have to brave the narrow, little-used track to reach it. A warm welcome awaited on arrival, not just from the fantastic agent Antonio (who'd even left us a gift of fresh vegetables from the family farm) but also from the charming and charismatic owner Salvatore who showered us with his old-school filmstar (yes, he is really is!) bonhomie, charm and generosity. The accommodation was incredibly comfortable and all the facilities in perfect working order and top quality. We had the best night's sleep we'd had in a long time. We cooked some fantastic meals in the huge kitchen but also ate out in wonderful restaurants recommended by Salvatore. There is no internet but Antonio is happy to provide a portable modem if you really can't survive without it. The peace and beautiful surroundings inspired us - my teenage son abandoned FB and talked philosophy and English lit (including analysis of The Road Not Taken (hence the title of this review), my husband shook off his stress and found complete peace and I "worked" on my tan. The rooftop terrace makes a perfect place to watch the sunsets or enjoy the surrounding scenery. The property had a wonderful atmosphere and ambience - you have the sense this is a true and much-loved family home and it was an honour to be allowed to spend time within in. Within easy reach are shops/supermarkets, the coast (30 mins away but beaches are crowded) and some fantastic historic towns (Castellana Grotte/Ostuni). The jewel in the Puglia crown is Alberobello, just a 15 minute drive away or 40 minutes on a bicycle. Here you can see the amazing Trulli houses. Many thanks to Salvatore, his partner Alfonsina, the agents Antoinio and Nica - all attended to our every need, showered us with kindness and gifts and came to feel more than friends than business associates. We are counting down the days until we can come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and kindness of the hosts. The location. The comfortable accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Hi Sarah and Simon, thanks for your beautiful words! We are very glad to meet and host you. See you!
Salvatore, Alfonsina, Antonio, Nica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P
1 review
“MY WORST EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Due to rainy conditions and the unannounced difficult car access to the home, we were confronted to unacceptable living conditions: electric breakdowns ( more than 10 a day ) no microwave or any kitchen device except a gaz oven. Minimal confort and Wifi only available in spare areas of the house : top floor and outside wich has been proven to be very uneasy when it rains cats and dogs.

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Non.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Dear Eric,
From your review we deduce you really made a mistake, in the choice of place in which to spend your vacation.
Just to start, we would like (but in fact we will not do it) to apologize for the bad weather that there was throughout your stay in Masseria Landolina, but we just couldn't get in contact with the Heavenly Father to tell him to stop the rain and give us a truce.
Probably you don't know that in the countryside houses it is normal to have some electrical problems during storms. It's difficult for us, however, to believe that there were more than 10 breakdown a day. The first reason is that we already hosted people even in winter and no one has encountered these problems and secondly, if there were, it was enough for you to contact us and we would immediately rushed to remedy. Moreover, and we have also proof that witness, you didn't even take care to reply to our messages where we asked if everything was okay or if there was any problem. So next time, before launching an invective against people who made themselves available for you, think about it for a moment.
Concerning your problem with the kitchen, we really do not know what to say. We do not know if you thought to find the cuisine of Masterchef, but for sure you can't say there isn't everything needed to prepare meals. Indeed, all our guests appreciate the kitchen which has all the tools and the necessary amenities.
Another note regarding the Wi-Fi. In the first place we would just like to mention that (since you dind't understand it) the style of the house was designed to recreate the rural and genuine life of the past. The farmers at the time didn't spend their days hacking on the PC or the phone.
However we understand the needs of guests who, for work issues, require to send mails and more. For this reason we offer a fully functional Internet device, to which you can connect anywhere in the home, if you place it upstairs (as we were told you at the check-in). Read the feedback of people stayed before and after you.
Guests who choose Masseria Landolina, just appreciate the possibilities the property offers: complete relax away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and the total contact with nature. If you were searching this and you couldn't enjoy it because of the bad weather, we are infinitely regretful about this but we can only suggest you to come again, maybe in July or August. If you were searching other...then there's just been an error of judgment on your part, in choosing a structure like Masseria Landolina.
Many greetings
Salvatore, Antonio and Nica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niall973
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful house in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a week at the end of July at Masseria Landolina and can highly recommend it. The accommodation is lovely with comfortable bedrooms and a huge kitchen. There is also a dining area outside and several seating areas to enjoy the views of the surrounding countryside. The pool is in a great location overlooking the surrounding fields and we spent most of our days lounging beside it.
Antonio and Nica were extremely helpful on arrival and Antonio even drove us to the train station on the last day.
We spoke to Salvatore the owner by phone and he is a lovely welcoming person who made excellent recommendations for places to eat in Castellana Grotte.
I would have no hesitation in returning, the only problem is motivating yourself to leave it to explore the attractions around Puglia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and rustic charm of the house.
Liked least: Access via a very narrow laneway.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Many thanks Niall for your words. We are happy you and your friends liked the place. See you again, maybe the next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arwen U
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Walking distance to HEAVEN...”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My friends and I stayed in the big Landolhouse, the last month, for 4 nights.

The villa lies in a very good location from which it's very easy to reach the city center and many restaurants. (You must eat in Caroseno, my favourite Osteria!!!)

Clean and cosy rooms decorated in a nice rustic style.
The large kitchen and bathrooms with showers are provided with all comforts (soap, towels).

More than anything else we loved the small evocative tower from wich you'll appreciate the beautiful view. (The wonderful blanket of stars!!!)

Lovely swimming pool with statues and flowers.
Landolhouse is a perfect place if you want to relax yourself and visit the amazing Puglia!

I hope to come again as soon as possible.
I would recommend it to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the small tower
Liked least: the road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johncfaux...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself, partner and 3 teenagers who tried to start a revolution when I let slip the worst two words you can say to a teenager, words that evoke tears, screaming, cold sweats and behaviour akin to pre Neanderthal- NO WIFI !!!!! Oh and prob no signal! So instead we talked in the fantastic kitchen (which is a converted stable) around the enormous table, we played cards for chores ( top tip, teenagers are ruthless when it comes to teasing who got what) we had competitions in the pool , we chased little lizards, we walked round the enormous olive tree garden, we learned to play boule on the pitch below the pool (this levels the kids if big age difference) we sunbathed on the terrace, we had the iTunes library at full blast at 2am round the pool and we gazed at the moon through the telescope in total no artificial light darkness. All that before and after we went out for the day to the beach or the cave or Alberobello or Ostuni all within a 20 min max drive .
An idilic rustic location but has everything you need and doesn't have the things that you don't really need.
Salvatore is a fascinating character and even if you don't speak Italian you will understand his passion for all things Italian and his vast life experience , a true gentleman. Finally and on my life I swear this is the truth , while staying here I witnessed something less common than rocking horse ****, rarer than hens teeth, less seen than the abominable snowman - folks I kid you not , I witnessed a teenager reading a book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility both terra and Luna
Liked least: The tight rounds to property - drive slowly
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing