We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic and lovely, but best have a car.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Bedroom 3
Icicles on roof
Door handle!
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
StefanoCG...
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rustic and lovely, but best have a car.”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely rustic chalet. We were a group of fourteen and all happy with rooms/showers and toilets. The kitchen is the focal point of socialising and is well equipped and with a good size table. The chalet does have some quirks which depending on your view are charming or irritating like the location of the spiral staircase with its rope down the middle in between the kitchen and lounge. People with physical impairments or poor eyesight will find the chalet very difficult. Upstairs a lovely corner bath with a view and the heating was generous but you can't open the windows. We had a couple of snags like trying to figure out how to operate the oven, and the heating oil running out. But these were sorted out very quickly which is a positive. The chalet is a wonderful stay and the hot tub a must after a day's skiing. As a summer location to explore Chamonix I would imagine it's close to perfect. But for skiing one should be mindful that the road leading up to it is 500-600m uphill. We had good weather during our stay and it had been cleared but it must be treacherous when snowy or icy. The chalet car park was an ice rink, so plan winter tyres. Walking up and down in sky boots with skis is no fun and hazardous, so either drive or try and hire a locker from a sky hire shop in Les Houches by the bus stop and Bellevue lift - a further 400m walk. At the bottom of the hill there is a decent supermarket just behind the Tourist information, so no problems shopping if you are self-catering. Les Houches is a great location for beginners and early intermediate skiers, and as a first day to get your ski legs back. Tree lined and attractive but lower so not so good early or late in the season.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, rustic, private mountain chalet”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a weeks skiing and snowboarding in the Chamonix valley at the end of January 2017/start of Feb with a group of 10 friends, including 3 couples and 4 singles.

Firstly, in terms of the chalet and its location, I really couldn't find any major faults, its rustic in the style of many French chalets with rough cut timber comprising the bulk of the construction, but where it matters the its also very modern, the bathrooms are all either good or very good, with the main bathroom in the upper floor having a fabulous corner bath with a big picture frame window overlooking the valley below (but not the neighbours). Likewise the kitchen/dining room is well appointed and spacious, and with the optional chalet catering we experienced a hearty breakfast every morning and a fabulous evening meal every evening.

The chalet is also located in its own grounds, with trees or woodland on all sides, a surrounding balcony, outdoor hot-tub (big enough for 4 or 5 comfortably) a locker for ski or other equipment, and an ample supply of wood for the log fires, though the central heating is so good you might not need these.

Having said all that, there are a couple of things to be aware of:
- Firstly, this chalet is located quite high up the mountain from the nearest bus stop in Les Houches (Mairie), its a good ten minute walk in ski boots and is quite steep for the most part, so if you don't have your own transport (which we didn't) then this is a distinct pain in the calves at the end of the day, which most people would happily do without.
With no local taxi firm, the only option here is to find a local ski locker or, as we did, stop off on the way back each evening for a beer before heading up the hill.

- Secondly, the layout of the chalet. This is without doubt a bit quirky. with ropes instead of hand rails on the staircases and doors that open out onto the stairs in a way which you just wouldn't see in a new build property.

Having said that, i loved my stay in this chalet, and wouldn't hesitate to go back again . . . though I might get a bit of hill walking practice in beforehand.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great chalet - perfect for large groups and amazing views of the valley”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Rocky Mountain is a unique chalet - set in pretty surroundings in Les Houches . We loved the views from the kitchen - you can sit and watch the light change over the Chamonix Valley. The bedrooms are comfortable and the chalet has a unique style interior -perfect for relaxing after a hard days skiing!
The Barrelli team are charming and looked after us really well - would stay there again.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon0619...
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our fantastic holiday to France”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It all started when my mum and brother went out for the week so my dad suggested that we should go skiing. We stayed in this great chalet and had a wonderful holiday, i also managed to beat my dad down a red. (Joe- age 9) Not sure about the last part of the sentence Joe but the rest is all true!!. This place was a bit different from other places I've stayed at, it had so much charm and character and with its quiet lofty position on the hill felt like we were on a real adventure!. We also had great views, which was lovely sitting down with a coffee after a hard days skiing. The village had everything we needed, with a new supermarket a short(ish) walk away. (great for their fresh bread and croissants). Even though we had left things rather late for a skiing holiday, we were able to get high and still get some great skiing in. Loved every minute Joe and I spent together, looks like i may need to speed up a bit for the next trip though!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This mountain chalet has it all..”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I adore Rocky Mountain. It has everything you imagine wanting from a classic mountain chalet. A warren of cosy bedrooms and bathrooms, the upper rooms have the most beautiful views.. even from in the bath!, whilst the ground floor rooms look out into the forest bordering the garden..The sitting room is a great size, really comfortable, enhanced by cosy nooks and picture windows, with of course the hot tub on the back terrace. The kitchen and dining room is rustic, spacious and inviting with open fire and again with those rural, valley and mountain views..Steve Barrelli is a fab host as are all his staff..great food, mountain guiding and help with everything!
Easy access to the brilliant Les Houches slopes, (awesome tree runs!) the village, and buses to Chamonix.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, views and comfort.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$259
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing