We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family ski chalet”
La Forge in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Forge in winter
Bedroom 3 double bedroom with adjacent shower/wc Bedroom 1 (double or twin) ensuite shower/wc
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
La Forge in winter
Bedroom 3 double bedroom with adjacent shower/wc
Bedroom 1 (double or twin) ensuite shower/wc
Breakfast room, gets the morning sun!
Bedroom 5 (twin or double) ensuite shower/wc
La Forge charming dining area
La Forge treatment room
Bedroom 6 twin ensuite shower/wc
Chalet chef
Bathroom with italian tiles bedroom 2
Resort minibus service, friendly staff!
Panoramic views in Chamonix and Les Houches all year round
La Forge summer
Stylish cuisine (WINTER ONLY)
La Forge summer time in the garden
Skiing in Les Houches!
Garden Mazot and kids playhouse!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ksenia L
2 reviews
“Lovely chalet, disappointing service”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at La Forge for a week in March and overall the stay left us disappointed with the service and food, (it was far from a 'stylish cuisine' as it mentions on the companies website). There were 6 people in total staying so I would have though it would be easy to look after such a small group of people.
I'll start with describing the positives:
- the chalet itself is in a good condition and very cosy
- nice living area and bedrooms
- nice house wine
- on the night of arrival which was a late one, we were offered a hot dinner which was very kind and much needed

Here are some of the things that have left us disappointed:

- no induction on arrival. We ( or any other guests) received no briefing by hosts about the basics e. g. meal timings, things around the chalet,how sauna and hot tub work, staff day off, how the ski transfer works... It was a bit annoying to find about the staff day off the night before which didn't give us much time to think where we wanted to eat out.
- breakfast was a huge disappointment. The selection was poor - cereals, yoghurt, pastries made from frozen (c'mon we are in France!), fresh baguette, fruits and a hot option which wasn't exactly exciting either - expect scrambled eggs on a soggy muffin.
- dinners were okay but far from what I'd call a 'stylish cuisine' and what you see on chalet website. Supposedly dinners were cooked by a chef but we only saw her a once or twice throughout our stay. One of the guests had dietary requirements and what she was offered to eat reminded me of dog food at times - see pics attached. Avoid if you have any special food requirements!
- general hosting. Only on a few occasions we had fire on, sauna on the go, hot drinks ready for when we get back from skiing. It felt like self- service.

In summary, a few people from the group stayed with Huski before and all agreed that the food/service this year has been significantly below expectations and that it felt like the owners are cutting corners. I hope the owners take feedback on board and make improvements to make it high standard again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Dear Ksenia,

Thank you for your feedback.

Firstly and foremost we must ask why none of your comments were addressed to us in person during your stay? You had ample opportunity to discuss some of these points with me in person when I drove you to and from the slopes on your third day and in person with Gaby (towards the end of your stay) when she visited the chalet and chatted to the group for more than an hour.
You mentioned a few things to our staff but then you told them expressly NOT to pass on your feedback and comments to us! Why? How confusing and frankly odd. We knew a bad review was coming because as you hugged your chalet hosts goodbye you told Tony and Sally what a nice trip you had enjoyed, you tipped them and your husband James mentioned he would email us some constructive feedback (which we always welcome) You however stated to them that you instead would leave a Trip Advisor review ‘because it would HURT us more’!
In over 30 years of running skiing holidays we have never, ever, had such sentiments levelled against us. A guest wanting to 'hurt’ us and for no apparent reason.

We are delighted to hear most elements of your holiday were satisfactory. By your own admission you enjoyed the welcome and very late hot dinner on your arrival that first evening. You also appear totally happy with Chalet La Forge which you say was cosy and in good order. Everything worked during your stay. The sauna, the hot tub, the log fire and heating system kept you bathed, warm and comfortable and the dedicated minibus was at your disposal, clean and in good order. In other words there was nothing materially wrong. You enjoyed extensive gratis minibus transport, free chalet wine and cocktails and the attention of your hosts at a ratio never lower than two guests to one staff member. Immediately we heard of ‘your plan’ and within minutes of your departure, I phoned your husband on the transfer bus. We had a very pleasant conversation during which he stated that he had enjoyed his stay. We specifically discussed the dinners which he said he had enjoyed save for the fact there was too much potato served for his taste and that he would indeed email us with constructive comments on your return home (about breakfast I believe)

So what actually was the problem?

When you say no induction I think you mean introduction. To be precise you arrived after 22.00hrs on a Monday night to a beautiful meal cooked by our chef who had of course gone home as her work was done. Tony and Sally, who are both experienced chalet staff, attended to you well beyond the normal call of duty as you rightly say. It should be noted at this point that your husband had stayed at La Forge before so it could be expected that he might have imparted some of the information previously gathered, to you, and thus Tony did not need to keep you up any later than necessary with all the lengthy minutiae which he could have assumed you did not need to hear after a long journey.
Additionally, every operational detail you mention including night off as lacking in your review is carefully written out on the laminated sheet in your bedroom as is details regarding the minibus service.

Staff day off;
We also remember Friday, staff night off, as those guests who chose not to go out raided the fridge and cooked all the eggs destined for breakfast! We wouldn't normally mind this too much but if this frustrated efforts to cook a good breakfast next day it seems rather unfair for you to then chalk it up as something to complain about.
Sally and Tony made repeated offers to help you choose a restaurant,
or indeed to collect take away Pizzas for you. There is also a dossier on the hall table entitled ‘Resort Information’ containing a comprehensive and up to date appraisal of no less than forty five restaurants in the valley to and from which we offer free transport on the night off.

'Stylish cuisine’.
We beg to differ over the selection at breakfast.
You did not like freshly baked (from frozen) pastries (croissants, pain au chocolat and pain au raisin) and you don’t like hash browns which come from the freezer that is your preference, but our list seems quite comprehensive to me and quite usual for a catered chalet. Our hot options examples that week included; Sausages, fried eggs and hash browns (Friday) Scrambled eggs and smoked Salmon on Sunday (as per your request) or bacon, eggs and tomatoes..... and pancakes on your departure day. We tend to cook an English style breakfast as our hot option most days in addition to your list of other items of yoghurt, cereal etc… Our hosts also added afternoon tea items by your special request when you asked for the ginger cake to be saved from tea so you could enjoy cake for breakfast, which you did two mornings.

Dinners you say were OK but then you run them down. All the chalet evening dinners were prepared by Gee our chef who like most chefs does a lot of prep during the day when guests are out skiing. She was present in the chalet kitchen for dinner and breakfast on all but three catered days of your stay. Again I do not consider this unusual especially when, as already mentioned, you were only six people maximum in La Forge that week and there were always two staff to attend to you.

Starters the week you stayed were;
Tomato and goats cheese tart with mixed leaves and a honey, mustard dressing/ Camembert and red pepper risotto/ Fresh Salmon ballottine with a soy dressing/ Lentil, crispy chorizo and cherry tomato salad.
Example mains; Free range (not frozen) Chicken ‘Wellington' with cauliflower puree and butternut squash and red wine jus/ Pan fried Salmon (fresh not frozen) with roasted vegetables, galette potato and a beurre blanc sauce/ Slow cooked Lamb shank, dauphinoise potatoes and garden vegetables/ Hunter stew, braised red cabbage and mash.
Deserts; Coconut panacotta served with fresh melon/ Pear tart Tatin and cream fraiche/ Chocolate fondant, coffee ice-cream/ Tarte au citron. ALL the above were home made except for the ice-cream and all consistent with the menu's on our web site.
Let’s not forget we kick off the evenings with a different cocktail and canapés (Champagne, Gin and Tonic, Tequila Sunrise, Kir etc) and finish with a special cheese presentation and herbal teas or coffee.
So it appears that despite not having a food intolerance yourself, you choose to make informed comments about the quality, taste and presentation of the food served to other guests?
That week (for no extra charge) we were catering for one guest with gluten intolerance and a second guest who expressly ordered vegan food and further requested no sugar. This helpful person, it later transpired, once she started coveting her friends evening meals was actually NOT vegan at all. She subsequently explained that she was lactose intolerant but thought we would all be too stupid to understand that!! Despite this she ate chicken one night and some of your sugary Tarte au citron plus enjoying gin and regular tonic and other sugary drinks. Any reasonable person will understand that this kind of confusing behaviour coupled with the constraints of the real need to avoid three main food groups is taxing for a chef to say the least! Our staff rose to the occasion in good spirits and produced Gluten free cakes and puddings (coffee and walnut cake, flapjacks, almond biscuits and banana oat cakes). The vegan dishes served included avocado mousse with pickled courgettes, vegetable parcels, sweet potato and roasted vegetable bake, tomato and roasted red pepper soup, date fondant and baked apple with strawberries. Need I continue? Only to say if the ‘vegan’ did not like something (home-made banana ice cream?) she only had to ask for an alternative and it would have been provided.

To advise against visits by those with special food requirements is risible. Only a few weeks before your visit we welcomed genuinely lactose intolerant, very young twins who were considerably easier to cater for than a quasi vegan, not so sugar intolerant adult. Every week we have one or two guests with food preferences or intolerances and make no extra charge. Your attitude is disappointing when I see the upset you have caused my caring troop who work super hard to make people with genuine problems feel welcome and normal despite the responsibility of dealing with what are often potentially life threatening food issues.

Your comments about the service regarding tea, the fire and the sauna.

It is quite normal that the first one home in the chalet puts the kettle on and flicks the switch on the coffee machine (it's always full and ready to go). Tea selection, freshly baked cake, fresh bread and jams etc…is already laid along with cups and saucers, plates and everything you could possibly need including, in our case, a thermos of hot water which again you obviously missed! Tony as your driver cannot always be the first through the door because he is putting all your ski’s away in the ski shed to save you the bother. This is our policy, a service and a courtesy I also performed for you on my driving day to remove one more little effort from your stay and hopefully elicit a minor feeling that we care and we are thoughtful and polite.
The hot tub which is chemically tested daily is always on, ready for your enjoyment. All you had to do was lift the cover a hop in. The sauna is usually switched on when the group returns to the chalet, it is not routinely switched on before as it is wasteful to leave it running for hours on the off chance of it being used. Had you mentioned such an issue we could easily have arranged for it to be ready. Consistent with your silence over other matters you chose to say nothing.
The fire. It is virtually never necessary to light the fire as it is damped down and smoulders for many hours, only requiring a log or two from the pile in the log store inches away. Why did you not mention this was irritating you so much?

We are not cutting corners! I’m afraid that is a cliche throw-away line which you have no evidence to justify. We price in pounds and have taken an enormous hit on the recent exchange rate fluctuations with no surcharges and minimal price changes over the last few winters. We actually feel that we went the extra mile during your week with the provision of extra minibus trips (no charge) especially for you both so you did not have to wait for other guests who were late risers. The group of four even requested two separate pickups from the same ski lift 30 minutes apart. Gaby offered to step in as an extra driver to make this possible despite the roundtrip of some 20Km. We always aim to offer a 5* service (hence our 5* rating for La Forge)

Your ‘review' is of no service to anyone as it is riddled with petty inconsistency such as hugging and tipping staff, telling them you are happy with their efforts, requesting that they keep secret your dissatisfaction regarding where the chef was yet then, specifically criticising them for their lack of performance. Is the real reason you are so miffed because you felt you were treated differently because the chalet chef did not serve dinner every single night? This would appear to be the case from my point of view. Well I can only tell you that I know of many companies which prepare food centrally for all their chalets so you may want to check that next time you book a chalet holiday.

We enjoy what we do. We and our small team work hard to make a living and people happy so after 33 years it is clear that we would not enjoy such a high percentage of return guests or indeed be in business at all if we did not keep the majority of our guests happy. We make mistakes sometimes and of course one cannot keep everyone happy all the time because people and their expectations are very different. You are not happy and I am sorry for that but what you have written here is not constructive and is unreasonable. We could only do this job if we believed that what we offer is well intended, genuine, authentic and great value for money!

Staff are encouraged to take regular snaps of what we produce so we will attach photo's showing examples of our food produced that week. It may be plated up differently between the chalets but the food was the same!.

Again why did you not say something when you were with us? Everything could have been so easily resolved!

Tim and Gaby Newman
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
june b
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect family ski chalet”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We have had a fabulous week skiing in the Chamonix valley. Gaby, Tim, Tony, Sally, Hannah & Gee were so helpful and accommodating taking care of any incidental requirements.
La Chalet Forge is very homely with a spectacular log fire, ample lounge area, views from bedrooms, hot tub, sauna and all we needed to keep us happy. We self catered for 6 nights but were able to indulge on the final night in a delicious meal cooked by Gee and expertly served by Sally & Hannah. Prarion Ski lift is a short drive from chalet and Tony was on hand with the minibus when our own cars were full and we wanted to go further afield. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Hello June,
It was lovely to meet you at the chalet and we are so thrilled you enjoyed the property and it met your needs in terms of space and amenities for you and your extended family. We look forward to welcoming you at La Forge another time! Gaby and Tim and the HUSKI Team !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1POtoHE12...
Mistley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great fun, great food, great chalet staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had not used Huski Ski before and we had a great week. Snow fab at beginning and less so at end but Olly our 'chalet host' informed us every morning of best places to go, loaded up our skis and took us there, informed us of lunch spots and was there at the end of the day to bring us home to homely chalet, thank you Tiggy and delicious tea and dinners, than you Gi - really really good chef. Made use of Jacuzzi and sauna, log fires every night.
Highly recommend the Huski Ski set up at La Forge. Would go back, even though 10 mins out of Chamonix mini bus always there to take you in whenever you wanted. Made no difference at all.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff and food!
Liked least: Small shower/bath rooms but were able to use other bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Hello Jenny and family,
So pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us, it makes it SOO worthwhile to know that you enjoyed yourselves and we will forward your lovely comments on to the team! I'm really pleased you found our location was just as good as any other location, we love being close to the Les Houches pistes and today we drove the 15 minutes to St.Gervais and skied there, great it's now on the MBU pass. If you have any spare time it's fantastic snow at the moment, maybe we can tempt you back ;) Our very best wishes and thanks for taking the time to give us a review! Gaby and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“New Year break in fantastic Chalet!”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at La Forge for the week over New Year. Sadly there was not a lot of snow around although we managed a few days high up on Les Grands Montets and took a trip over to Les Contamines. Our chalet hosts, Oli and Tiggi, looked after us wonderfully and set the relaxed tone for the Chalet. The food was a highlight, beautifully prepared by Chef Gee, with plenty of beer and decent wine.
The chalet is situated above Les Houches village and the team were very happy to drive to drive us back and forth as we wished. With the lack of snow they were also happy to take us over to Les Contamines (about 50kms) where we had a great day.
Despite the poor snow (experienced all over the Alps) we had a great time thanks to our hosts and we'd thoroughly recommend a trip to La Vieille Forge. Thanks guys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chalet and hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Ah thanks Nigel!,
I will let the chalet team know...we are SO pleased you enjoyed your holiday despite the conditions! We have fabulous snow at the moment and I hope you will get the chance to ski again before the winter is up. Kind regards to you and your family from us all at Huski!
Oli, Tiggi. Gee, James, Hannah Team 2016 and
Tim and Gaby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan E
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Holiday to Remember!”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We went as a group of 10 from 15 to 22 March 2015. Outstanding all around.

Chalet
Picture postcard - roaring fire, hot-tub, sauna perfect after a day of skiing. Comfy beds and hot showers. A few mins to Les Houches driving. 30 mins or so to Grande Montes. Easy in the mini-bus which was always on hand. Massive comfy lounge to socialise and watch DVD's

Staffing
Ollie, Tiggy and G we salute you! (Ollie Bom-Ba-Ye!) Friendly, fun, professional. Missing these guys already. Every day was planned to perfection. Breakfast, cleaning, cakes at tea, dinner, getting to the ski lifts.... Hannah and George came in for the rest days and kept things ticking along nicely.

The owners Tim and Gaby have done an exceptional job with Huski Ski. Accommodated all our needs. Helped out whn one of our crew injured themselves taking him to the first class local hospital.

Food and wine
Ahhh pure indulgence. The chef G pulled out all the stops. Ollie and Tiggy kept the wine flowing while we did a phenomenal job sitting down and eating. Tiggy's cakes are criminally good. Doubtless she could win Great British Bake Off!

Can't recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff - all exceptionally nice and did a great job mothering us!
Liked least: Wi-fi a bit patchy at times, but maybe lagely because so many were logged on at once
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing