We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
276
22
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
22
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower game drives plunge pool the reserve our honeymoon safari experience his knowledge stunning bathroom cheetah brothers blankets and hot water bottles afternoon tea and dinner knowledgeable ranger flora and fauna natural environment born free morning and evening his passion
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

This was our first safari and we had 4 game drives during our 2 night stay. The staff were all excellent and very friendly. Food and wines were delicious. The game drives were the highlight led by Raynard (superb and a fountain of knowledge). The accommodation is very unique with the tented surrounds and a private plunge pool (cold!). The only gripe was perhaps the need for someone front of house to speak to the guests a bit more but this is just a minor observation. It is just stunning and the views are breathtaking.

Date of stay: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the beginning of December for two nights so we had four game drives. Accommodation, food and staff were all excellent but what really made our stay special was our ranger, Jacques, who was so knowledgeable about flora and the animals. He went out of his way to track and find animals for us and made it fun! His knowledge was amazing! We saw lots of animals including elephants, lions, zebra, buffalo, rhino and giraffes . What was surprising was how close we could get to the animals and the amazing scenery. We travel a lot but this was a truly fabulous experience and one of our best memories ever.

Date of stay: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2014

WOW, we weren't sure what to expect, as it was our first time, but we're blown away with this lodge and the sights it had to offer.
Firstly the lodge was stunning, and our "rent" fabulous, I was alittle do tickled to see AC in a tent!
Our drives with our guide Rhynhard, we're also amazing, we saw so may animals and his knowledge of the area and flora as well as the animals was extensive.
The animals were so close that we felt you reach out and touch them.
Be warned that the drives can get cold and you do need to take warm weather gear with you even in the summer. Jumper, fleece, hat and warm lace up shoes.
So go and enjoy and know that you won't be disappointed by this amazing place, everyone is made to feel special.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michele a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2014

We spent marvelous 2 nights here in November - thanks to everyone! You cant go wrong here!

One thing was a topic frequently discussed with fellow guests: How to Tip

A lot of people are not sure how much to tip your safari guide? and/or are not familiar with the South African Currency?

Unfortunately unlike to other lodges Shamwari does not provide a clear guide for tipping. Of course it is one of those things that changes from place to place and person to person.

After years of research and experience – Let us offer you a general rule of: Rangers in Southern Africa receive about R250 to R350 (about $21 to $25) per couple, per day. If you go figure that they spend the better of 6 to 10 hours with you every day ;)) I’d say its well deserved!

General staff should be tipped about R200/$25 per couple, per day.
Remember, tipping is subject to good service. So if you’re not happy – say so. But I am sure that all of Shamwari Staff will give you no reason to be unhappy – so don’t just talk the talk but walk the walk and tip according to being a 5* guest at a 5* accommodation.

@ Shamwari Management: We’d encourage you to communicate a bit of a tipping guideline as many other lodges have chosen to do in the meantime (i.e. Oceana Reserve). Your staff is excellent and deserves to be rewarded accordingly.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2014

This was our first trip to South Africa and first safari, we came with our daughter and her husband. They were married at this lodge three years ago.We spent three wonderful days here doing six game drives, our ranger, Jacques, was very knowledgeable and very good at tracking the animals. The best was when on a morning drive he spotted a large male lion who was in a hurry to get somewhere. Jacques said there was a pride of Lions around somewhere who have had a kill and he wants his share,we kept following. Then just as we neared a water hole there was the pride,two large females and six little ones. I have lots of great photos to remember our first Safari.
The drives are only part of a great holiday, it is completed by the staff who work so hard for your comfort and to see you have a great time. There was only one small disappointment and that was from other guests who had to smoke on the terrace while other guests were enjoying a nice meal.

But all in all we had a great time. Well done Shamwari!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews