We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
677
177
67
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
177
67
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeer parkkitchen gardenvegetable gardenmonsoon showerquailbirthday lunchrestaurant with roomscomfy roomlovely lunchthe main housecountry housepuddinglog burnernespresso machinelocal producedrawing roommile menu
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

A small chain of ECO friendly luxury hotels that focus on great food, locally sourced. Well worth a visit. The Pork Chop and The Crackling were amazing, as was all the food. They grow most of the vegetables and herbs used on site, the gardens are really worth spending some time looking around.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We have been visiting The Pig Near Bath for quite a few years now, as we live nearby, we haven't had the need to stay over (though would love a night away from the kids one day) but we have visited the restaurant so much over the years, as a couple, with friends and with our family. We have visited in the summer when we have enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails in the garden and we have visited over Christmas and enjoyed dessert by the roaring fire in the library.

We have enjoyed cocktails in the lounge and bar area, and had meals in the dining room, kitchen room and the picturesque garden room. We did have a large party booked for the private dining room which hosts 20 people but the snow had other ideas. One day we hope to try out the private dining room for a special event.

The food here has never disappointed. I love the varied menu that changes week to week depending on locally grown and sourced produce. Admittedly some of the dishes can be a little beyond my comfort zone but everything we have ever eaten has never failed to impress. The presentation of the roast dinners is fantastic and our children always enjoy a roast there if we have visited on a Sunday. The children's menu comes as one or two courses and the children can pick for their main course from three lists, an item in each. This gives them control of their meal and hopefully will suit all little foodies.

The gardens are beautiful and in the summer the children can see the deer in the fields or look around the kitchen gardens and all the produce The Pig grow themselves.

The food isn't cheap, but you are paying for something more than just your meal, the wine list is extensive with the cheapest bottle starting around the £23 mark. But all are well thought out for the list and will bring out the best in your meal regardless of budget.

If you haven't visited The Pig Near Bath yet, then get booking, it can be hard to get a table on a Saturday night or for special dates, but book ahead, you really won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank drogato_di_viaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

My wife and I spent a night here recently, and we were both beyond impressed. This is hotel that just does everything right.

We were warmly greeted and show around the stunning and stylish main house and then the beautiful kitchen gardens. The staff are all friendly and very knowledgable.

We both had very good treatments from expert masseuses. I rank my massage as one of the best I have ever had.

Our room, called The Hide, was stunning. Tucked away in the corner of the kitchen garden, with view out over green fields full of fallow deer. It was truly enchanting.

Pre-dinner cocktails were delicious. Particularly the chilli and coriander margarita. And dinner itself was superb. Fresh, top quality, and not overly complex. We both ate very well, and drank well too from an impressive wine list. Again, the staff knew everything there is to know about their menu and wine list, and looked after us so well.

Great breakfast too.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TJdeCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel ticks all the boxes. It’s picturesque from the outside and the inside, the staff are brilliantly attentive and the location is perfect.

The rooms are cosy and homely, provided with a mini fridge, safe and TV. The view from every room is gorgeous and it is such a peaceful location.

The restaurant is lovely, the food was all cooked and presented to perfection. The staff, again, were friendly and accommodating.

The gardens are a lovely touch, you can walk around the fresh crops and flowers which the hotel use in their kitchen everyday.

I visited this hotel and loved it, I’m positive my family and I will stay again in the near future.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Everything about the pig is completely beautiful, relaxing, high quality, luxury I could go on.. perfect location only about 15 minutes from bath city centre. The grounds and beautiful and it’s refreshing to see where the food served in the restaurant is actually grown!
Cannot recommend the staff enough, so friendly and attentive.
Rooms are warm in the summer and there is a lack of air con and cool air circulating

Highly recommend for a weekend break to couples and family’s.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews